Customer Reviews for

The Prophet of Yonwood (Books of Ember Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(151)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

I love this amazaing book!!!!

I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THI...
I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THIS BOOK !!!!!!!! I RECOMMEND THIS BOOOOOOOK!! I LOVE THIS BOOOOOK!!!!!!!

posted by cheerleadergirl123 on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The world may be ending, so where is the action?

In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just ...
In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just hoping that the end doesn¿t come. Nickie is a Philadelphian who goes with her aunt to fix up her great grandfather¿s old house for sale in the small town of Yonwood. Yonwood has a resident who had a vision where the would was going to burn, and then she went unconscious. People learned of the vision through her mumblings, and many thought that the vision was from God protraying the end of the world. The people of Yonwood decided to cleanse their town to ¿make a shield of goodness¿ by not sinning and punishing those that did sin. In the new town, Nickie must decide who she is going to befriend and who is doing the right thing from the cast interesting characters. There are Amanda who served Nickie¿s late great grandfather before he died Brenda Beeson, who is trying to stop sinning in Yonwood Grover, the herpetologist-in-training and Hoyt McCoy who ¿has a sense of wrongness about him¿. This prequel to the City of Ember is out, and I couldn¿t wait to get my hands on it. However, what I found was a boring book that didn¿t do a very good job of linking this book to the rest of the series. This award-winning concept of the world possibly ending is hampered because of the fact that the book didn¿t have an ounce of excitement in the first half of the book. Even though this book can be read by either gender, I am sure that girls would like this more than boys because, at times, it was a little heartwarming. However, I would really try to stay away from this book even if you liked the other books in the series.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    I just cant read this book

    It looks cool and all but i find that this should be the verry first or the last one by putting this in thee middle realy ruins the series at first i asked myself where lina and doon where so i looked in every page and i said to my self that it didnt have anything about ember exept for a few refrences

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Prophet of YonWood

    I acually disagree with someone that wrote a comment or a review because she said that it didn't make sense but it all did to me when I've figured out that that was the past and the others were in the future and everything connected.I think that the end always makes me smile and I love it. The first time that I've heard of the ember series is when my teacher first read it to us in read aloud. At the beggining of the book I thought it was going to be a book on a key to a door which would get boring, but instead, it was way more fasinating. I checked the other books out from the same seiries and I did the same with this. I really want everyone to read this seieris because I can't even resist it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    I really liked it.

    I got interested in the series after seeing the City of Ember movie. I'm glad I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Prophet of Yonwood

    First of all, I still don't understand why this is called "the third book of Ember" when it is clearly not the third. I was so confused about what was happening, where Lina and Doon were, until I read the back cover and found out it was a prequel. That is not the sort of information I should be getting off the back cover, that is something that should be made evident upon starting the book. For a children's book, there is an overload of social commentary, and I'm pretty sure the entire ideas would just fly over their heads, and I thought People of Sparks was bad in that regard! Hah! Regardless of whether or not I agree with her views, this is entirely too preachy. It proved very difficult to get into the plot, the characters were not well-developed, it was very slow paced, with not much action at all. I think I may possibly have only liked one page of this entire novel--the last one. How ridiculous. Don't waste your time getting this if you're a fan of Ember, you will more than likely be disappointed. At least we should have been getting Nickie's dad's part of the story.

    Rating: 0.5/5

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    Good REad

    Would read it again

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    My daughter loved this book

    My daughter has loved all of the books in this series. The first two books in the sequel are about people coping in a post-apocalyptic world. This third book in the series is a prequel. They are well-written and thoughtful books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love the Ember series!!!

    This book is actually written to be a prequel to The City of Ember. It was a very enjoyable read. The only disappointment was the original charactors are not mentioned and I guess I grew fond of Lina and Doon. I look forward to reading the fourth book and feeling the hope and adventure Lina and Doon give to us. Not my favorite book of the series, BUT definately a great story!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    Better than what people give credit for

    I personally found this story very good it had a nice little plot to it and it was more touching than the other two books-it actually made me cry a little! I was a little disapointed about the apperance of the supposed ghost not amonting to anything toward the end, but oh well. It was a cute story! *ANd to the person who said that the characters of sparks and ember were a lot like Grover and Nickie: It's Lina not LANA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2015

    Free ipod

    Repost this three times on another book and look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Disappointed

    I liked the first two and fourth alot but this is by far the worst book. It really has nothing to do with the rest of the story except for the very end which ties a bit in with the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    REPOST THIS!!!!!!!

    Kiss ur hand 3 times and repost this three times then look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Kiss your hand three times post this in three books and look jnder your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    What age group would this be in

    What is the age group for this book im dieing here man just tell me!! Please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    It was okay... I expected something else

    I thiught that this book would continue with the main stiry but I was suprised when it started with something different. I thought that evebtually it wiuld conrinue with Lina and Doon's story but it never did. Otherwise, I liked the story, but the author, in my own opinion, could have done much more with this story. I also think that this book could've been more discriptive, though, I probably think this because thus book isn't intended for my age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Repost this

    Kiss your hand 3times podt this3 times then look under your pillow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Love this book!!!

    The prophet of yonder is a great book and totally helped me unnderstand the series more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    REPOST THIS

    Kiss your hand three times repost this in three different places. Look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Tap me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thi book was z-bom!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Payton review

    I absoloutly love this book! Greatest book in the series! Full of suspense what will happen next, and te main character is a dare devil, but is trying to find God at the same time. Trying to find love, but destroy evil. Great!~Payton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Whoa.

    Cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18