BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Prophet of Yonwood (Books of Ember Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

I love this amazaing book!!!!

I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THI...
I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THIS BOOK !!!!!!!! I RECOMMEND THIS BOOOOOOOK!! I LOVE THIS BOOOOOK!!!!!!!

posted by cheerleadergirl123 on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The world may be ending, so where is the action?

In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just ...
In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just hoping that the end doesn¿t come. Nickie is a Philadelphian who goes with her aunt to fix up her great grandfather¿s old house for sale in the small town of Yonwood. Yonwood has a resident who had a vision where the would was going to burn, and then she went unconscious. People learned of the vision through her mumblings, and many thought that the vision was from God protraying the end of the world. The people of Yonwood decided to cleanse their town to ¿make a shield of goodness¿ by not sinning and punishing those that did sin. In the new town, Nickie must decide who she is going to befriend and who is doing the right thing from the cast interesting characters. There are Amanda who served Nickie¿s late great grandfather before he died Brenda Beeson, who is trying to stop sinning in Yonwood Grover, the herpetologist-in-training and Hoyt McCoy who ¿has a sense of wrongness about him¿. This prequel to the City of Ember is out, and I couldn¿t wait to get my hands on it. However, what I found was a boring book that didn¿t do a very good job of linking this book to the rest of the series. This award-winning concept of the world possibly ending is hampered because of the fact that the book didn¿t have an ounce of excitement in the first half of the book. Even though this book can be read by either gender, I am sure that girls would like this more than boys because, at times, it was a little heartwarming. However, I would really try to stay away from this book even if you liked the other books in the series.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    The world may be ending, so where is the action?

    In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just hoping that the end doesn¿t come. Nickie is a Philadelphian who goes with her aunt to fix up her great grandfather¿s old house for sale in the small town of Yonwood. Yonwood has a resident who had a vision where the would was going to burn, and then she went unconscious. People learned of the vision through her mumblings, and many thought that the vision was from God protraying the end of the world. The people of Yonwood decided to cleanse their town to ¿make a shield of goodness¿ by not sinning and punishing those that did sin. In the new town, Nickie must decide who she is going to befriend and who is doing the right thing from the cast interesting characters. There are Amanda who served Nickie¿s late great grandfather before he died Brenda Beeson, who is trying to stop sinning in Yonwood Grover, the herpetologist-in-training and Hoyt McCoy who ¿has a sense of wrongness about him¿. This prequel to the City of Ember is out, and I couldn¿t wait to get my hands on it. However, what I found was a boring book that didn¿t do a very good job of linking this book to the rest of the series. This award-winning concept of the world possibly ending is hampered because of the fact that the book didn¿t have an ounce of excitement in the first half of the book. Even though this book can be read by either gender, I am sure that girls would like this more than boys because, at times, it was a little heartwarming. However, I would really try to stay away from this book even if you liked the other books in the series.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Disappointed

    I liked the first two and fourth alot but this is by far the worst book. It really has nothing to do with the rest of the story except for the very end which ties a bit in with the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Review #005

    If you want an overall review theyre all good but Yonwood. Ember and Darkhold are the best ones. And ember is a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    A prequel? Really?!

    Stand alone, this book is a decent read. However, there is absolutely no connection to the other two books in the series until the very last chapter. Even then, said connection was just stuck in as an afterthought. Disappointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No Lina. No Doon.

    The story just is about how and why the city of ember was made but you already know that in the second book, people of sparks. If you really want to read this book don't buy it, get it from the library. It's not worth the money. It also doesn't have Doon or Lina. I sure hated that but for some reason I just could not put the book down! I was glade though that the daimond of darkhold was a lot better. It made up for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Anomous

    To be completly honest, this was my least favoirte book in the series. In many parts the story made no sence what so ever. I can understand a prequal but it just didn't seem right, the characters are forgetable, the story line wak and the writing awful. If you absuletly have to read this, don't spend any money and get it from a libray

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Ummm.......

    Well, I liked the end, but the plot was so slow and it was very hard to get throug and makes almost no sense until the end. That said, the ending brpuht the whole book together. I suggest reading it a second time once you know what happens it makes much more sense that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not A Fave

    This book had a rather creepy nuclear-vision beginning that set the tone for a thriller. But I didn't find the story thrilling. It was kind of a coming-of-age tale, with a requisite new-town-with-creepy-house premise. And then the story turned a bit pedestrian for my taste. I kept thinking there was going to be some kind of magical something, but that didn't happen. I couldn't quite get into the character of the kids. Nikkie's stated goals for the summer did not seize my imagination as much as I'd wanted. There was also a dogs-in-peril thing that seemed somewhat uninspired. I just didn't get into this book (I'm an adult) and my 11-year old son didn't either. I know it was a prequel to City of Ember, but I just wanted more sci fi or something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    Why is this book party of the Ember series?

    So, I read City of Ember and loved it. Read People of Sparks and loved it too. Then I read The Prophet of Yonwood and wondered why it's billed as the 3rd book of Ember. I knew going in it was a prequel, and there are a few vague references to Ember, but not enough that this feels like a connected story. The last two pages were pretty much the entire segue, and I really didn't care for that. As a stand alone book it's MEH. If I had known it wasn't really going to be very Ember-related, I probably would have put it down after a couple chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Fritzi's Review of Yonwood

    The Prophet of Yonwood uses the weaker parts from the first two books in Jeanne Duprau¿s series, The City of Ember and The People of Sparks. The characters were hard to relate to, as they were in the first two books. This is because they are almost the same characters from the first two. The book starts off with the main character, Nickie, being too curious just like Lana. ¿Nickie¿s curiosity took over. This happened to her a lot. Her Hunger for finding things out was so strong that it overcame caution and even common sense¿. This isn¿t something that many people could truthfully say they were like. In this segment of the book Nickie hears a sound in the closet and goes to see what¿s inside, even though there¿s a war going on and she thinks what lies within could be a terrorist. Lana, too, was also always curious about everything. They both are interested in butting their heads into dangerous situations. The other main character, Grover, was just like Doon in that they both collected creatures. Grover has pet snakes and Doon had bugs. It seemed like Duprau was trying to make a prequel, but lacked the creativity to change anything about the characters but their names. It would have been better if Duprau had sculpted new characters instead of cleaning the grime off the old ones. This prequel also is more frightening than Ember or Sparks. There were a few entries from her grandfather¿s diary that talked about a ghost. These parts seemed important, but didn¿t amount to anything in the end and weren¿t very well explained. Readers who liked Jeanne Duprau¿s The City of Ember and The People of Sparks are likely to be let down by her latest of the series, The Prophet of Yonwood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2