Customer Reviews for

The Prophet of Yonwood (Books of Ember Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

I love this amazaing book!!!!

I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THI...
I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THIS BOOK !!!!!!!! I RECOMMEND THIS BOOOOOOOK!! I LOVE THIS BOOOOOK!!!!!!!

posted by cheerleadergirl123 on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The world may be ending, so where is the action?

In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just ...
In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just hoping that the end doesn¿t come. Nickie is a Philadelphian who goes with her aunt to fix up her great grandfather¿s old house for sale in the small town of Yonwood. Yonwood has a resident who had a vision where the would was going to burn, and then she went unconscious. People learned of the vision through her mumblings, and many thought that the vision was from God protraying the end of the world. The people of Yonwood decided to cleanse their town to ¿make a shield of goodness¿ by not sinning and punishing those that did sin. In the new town, Nickie must decide who she is going to befriend and who is doing the right thing from the cast interesting characters. There are Amanda who served Nickie¿s late great grandfather before he died Brenda Beeson, who is trying to stop sinning in Yonwood Grover, the herpetologist-in-training and Hoyt McCoy who ¿has a sense of wrongness about him¿. This prequel to the City of Ember is out, and I couldn¿t wait to get my hands on it. However, what I found was a boring book that didn¿t do a very good job of linking this book to the rest of the series. This award-winning concept of the world possibly ending is hampered because of the fact that the book didn¿t have an ounce of excitement in the first half of the book. Even though this book can be read by either gender, I am sure that girls would like this more than boys because, at times, it was a little heartwarming. However, I would really try to stay away from this book even if you liked the other books in the series.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    A multicolored Elephant

    I didn't like how slow moving the book was. I also didn't like Mrs. Beeson. My favorite part was the afterwards part where you found out what happened to everybody. The wrost part.of the book was when they took the dogs away. Overall this book was a good book and I liked it. I liked that the Prophet was mysterious. I also liked that Nickie got Otis back. If I could change one thing about the book I would have Nickie and Grover fall in love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    It was okay... I expected something else

    I thiught that this book would continue with the main stiry but I was suprised when it started with something different. I thought that evebtually it wiuld conrinue with Lina and Doon's story but it never did. Otherwise, I liked the story, but the author, in my own opinion, could have done much more with this story. I also think that this book could've been more discriptive, though, I probably think this because thus book isn't intended for my age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    REPOST THIS

    Kiss your hand three times repost this in three different places. Look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Looks good!!!

    Ive read the preveiw and im looking forward to reading but where is lina and doon. i thought maybe in this one they would
    Grow into teens (and fall in love):)




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Wanna here something odd?

    Every time i click the forward button,it zooms to the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Bad

    I wonder why she went back in time instead of telling us about sparks?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Read the other books

    I readthe other books and they where good. I really like the city of ember movie. I would read the book thought to get all the info, but otherwise it is a good series that i recomend if you like books about what the future will be like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    It seems worth it..?

    Okay, so i have been wanting to read this book ever since i finished the second one. But i've been reading these reviews and they're making me doubt my wanting to purchase this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Aaaaa no

    Do not read skip all chapters until end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's not the best of the series, be advised this is the prequel

    You'd have to keep in mind, this is a prequel. So none of the characters in previous books will be featured in the book. It took me a bit to get used to this, but the main storyline was interesting. I liked Nickie, but there were times when I didn't. Although it wasn't entirely her fault (due to the brainwashing), you'd think at her age (11) she might be able to tell what's right or wrong. So I thought she acted way younger than she is, and was just a little too naive.

    There were also times where I couldn't help but feel angry. I couldn't stand Brenda. I wanted to choke her out of the book. It's these kinds of people that blow everything out of proportion and made the situation more dangerous and harmful than it really is. When the incident with the dogs happened this was where I just about had it with her and wanted a bomb to drop on her house.

    Despite my intense dislike for this character, I liked how the book shows the reader how this sort of situation can show the worst (and the best) characteristics in individuals. I bothers me a little, that this really has nothing to do with Ember (until you find out much later, near the end of the book) and it may annoy readers as it's oddly placed in the middle of the series, and some might argue that it's not a prequel at all.

    The plot was good, although it was slow moving. You're more than halfway through the book and the plot is still crawling. My suggestion, is to skip this book and read the fourth one, then read this one. You won't be missing much anyway. It's not the best I've read from the author but it's readable if one wants to complete the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    not too shabby

    my least favorite book in the city of ember series, but still pretty good. it doesn't go with the rest of the series but i really liked the characters. one part was pretty dry, but thats it. i still recommend it for someone looking for a short read or someone who loves the city of ember books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    a disappointment

    I liked the first book in this series, The City of Ember, about the people who lived in the underground city named Ember. Even though it was a little darker, I still thought that the second book, The People of Sparks, which carried on the story of the folks who came out of Ember, was fairly good. The third book is actually a "prequel." To be truthful, I was not very highly impressed by The Prophet of Yonwood. The story is told well and the plot is interesting to read, even though there were a few times when it was a little hard to follow, but all the talk of "doing God's work" and "going against what God says" did not set well with me given the context in which it was presented. Now, I like books that encourage people to obey God, but whether the author intended it or not, the plot of this book almost makes it look as if anyone who has strong faith in God and sincerely wants to obey God's will is a nutcase (or else deceived). Oh yes, I know that there are those nutcases running around out there who claim visions from God as the basis for their foolish behavior. I preach against that too. But I would fear that making it into a children's fiction story plays right into the hands of today's radical atheists who are preaching that anyone who truly believes in God is a nutcase. Also, in "What Happened Afterward," DuPrau wrote, "All over the world, people who believed in one truth fought against people who believed in a different truth, all of them believing theirs was the only real truth, and all of them willing to do anything-absolutely anything-to defend it." Well, yes, that is sometimes may be the case, but this sounds like plain, old relativism-no such thing as absolute truth, whereas Christians do believe that there is absolute truth, although we are not necessarily "willing to do anything-absolutely anything-to defend it." Does DuPrau believe that there is never anything that is actually worth fighting for? Finally, I thought that there would be more explanation as to how the city of Ember came about. The plot of the third book is only tenuously related to that, and even then it is discussed only in the epilogue. For these reasons, the book was a personal disappointment to me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is O.K.

    I was very disappointed in this book. People of Sparks and City of Ember were SOOOOOOOOO good, but this one was very flat. I would recommend all the other books in this series in a heartbeat, but this. I would recommend to leave it on the shelf. You don't even need to read this one! All you find out in City of Ember is why they built Ember [You alredy knew that reason in the second one] and that they found Nicki's diary! City of Ember and People of Sparks though should be on you list to read before you die.


    P.S. Prophet of Yonwood is a prequel to City of ember and People of Sparks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    I LOVED the city of ember, but not the prophet of yonwood

    I thought the Prophet of Yonwood was okay standing outside the series. I felt like the book didn¿t connect with the other two. It was somewhat predictable and the end was way too fast and didn¿t seem to fit. Also there were so many characters introduced, but their stories had no end 'there wasn't a lot of follow up'. I felt like a lot more could have been done with this book. Some parts were creative but others fell flat. I also felt like DuPrau wrote it as an after thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    Borrring...

    It wasn't the best book I've ever read. I loved the first two much, much more. Yonwood was boring with little action, Nicky isn't really too head-strong. But I DID like that you added things into it about history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    This Book Was O-kay

    The Prophet Of Yonwood Was fine but it was kinda slow and not realy a I've gotta stay up all night and read this kind of book But thats just my Opinion I also would recomend reading this before the others in the series because that is how this book is based before ember and sparks... Untill Next Time Cya :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4