Customer Reviews for

Prospect Park West

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A great book from one of my favorite writers!

The best book yet from one of my favorite writers. In 'Prospect Park West' Sohn skewers her own neighborhood - I have read she lives in Park Slope - with hilarious and poignant results. This book examines contemporary motherhood through the lens of four very different ...
The best book yet from one of my favorite writers. In 'Prospect Park West' Sohn skewers her own neighborhood - I have read she lives in Park Slope - with hilarious and poignant results. This book examines contemporary motherhood through the lens of four very different characters: a neurotic mom, a movie star, an adulterous wife, and a closeted lesbian. My favorite parts were when she poked fun at the helicopter style of so many of today's young moms but I also loved the New York celebrity references, which are more fun to read about than even Bruce Wagner's. For people who loved the sex in Sohn's other books like Run Catch Kiss, there is no shortage of that here, belying the stereotype of undersexed Park Slope parents. For people who live in Park Slope, or similar neighborhoods filled with affluent Gen X parents and their baby gear, this book will ring true. And for people who don't, there is a lot of interesting commentary on such modern issues as sex after parenthood, celebrity culture, antidepressants, and modern marriage. A page turner! I highly recommend it.

posted by BrooklynMmm on June 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Poorly imagined and poorly executed.

Prospect Park West's characterization of motherhood in Brooklyn feels lifted from blogs and badly written magazine articles. Though a few of the issues that Ms. Sohn brings up are worth exploring her characters are too contrived and one dimensional to engage. The book's...
Prospect Park West's characterization of motherhood in Brooklyn feels lifted from blogs and badly written magazine articles. Though a few of the issues that Ms. Sohn brings up are worth exploring her characters are too contrived and one dimensional to engage. The book's constant dropping of street and institution names and events to tie it to Park Slope try too hard. I can't tell if they are there for those of us who live here to get delight from seeing our street names in print (as if we don't get enough of that already) or for those who don't live here to get a sense of the neighborhood. Either way they fall flat. A book that characterizes itself as Brooklyn's own Sex in the City felt more like a bad blind date. I had to force myself to the end.

posted by mh004g on June 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Mildly entertaining

    I heard that this book was hilarious so I bought it. It is mildly entertaining, but borrow it from someone or from the library. Don't waste your money. The writing is terrible and it reads like a miniseries. The author clearly has an agenda and opinions. What I thought was funny about it was clearly the author's opinion that women who work show up on the playground at 5:30 or 6PM and enjoy their children more than SAHM's or SHAMs as she calls them. I'm not home until 8:30 or 9pm and usually my kids are asleep already.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    Prospect Park Blech

    I am an affluent, over-educated liberal who lived on Prospect Park West and still lives in the Slope and I can't be the only person to think that Park Slope just doesn't have the cachet to pull this off or to inspire anyone to read this book for its location. It might as well be Sex in the City set in Hoboken or Astoria, which is to say Sex, Not in the City.

    I read the book to see if Ms. Sohn could pull off something that accurately captured the nuances of Park Slope. Instead, we got the barest, most tired stereotypes Park Slope with the typical sleaze and trash and celeb misbehavior thrown in. Okay, the food Coop. Okay, PS 321, okay, 7th Avenue, okay, Garfield Temple. These are just carboard cutouts to facilitate a facile and recycled plot about regular sex, lesbian sex, adultery and the childrearing habits of the overpriveleged.

    Readers would be *much* better off re-reading Tom Perotta's Little Children and chasing it with some SITC reruns. That this book was written and saw its way to print probably says more about the decline and fall of Park Slope than anything else. Chick-lit readers will seek their level, and this book may be at their level (dare I say it a low one?) but the rest of you might want to give the book a pass.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book from one of my favorite writers!

    The best book yet from one of my favorite writers. In 'Prospect Park West' Sohn skewers her own neighborhood - I have read she lives in Park Slope - with hilarious and poignant results. This book examines contemporary motherhood through the lens of four very different characters: a neurotic mom, a movie star, an adulterous wife, and a closeted lesbian. My favorite parts were when she poked fun at the helicopter style of so many of today's young moms but I also loved the New York celebrity references, which are more fun to read about than even Bruce Wagner's. For people who loved the sex in Sohn's other books like Run Catch Kiss, there is no shortage of that here, belying the stereotype of undersexed Park Slope parents. For people who live in Park Slope, or similar neighborhoods filled with affluent Gen X parents and their baby gear, this book will ring true. And for people who don't, there is a lot of interesting commentary on such modern issues as sex after parenthood, celebrity culture, antidepressants, and modern marriage. A page turner! I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    Poorly imagined and poorly executed.

    Prospect Park West's characterization of motherhood in Brooklyn feels lifted from blogs and badly written magazine articles. Though a few of the issues that Ms. Sohn brings up are worth exploring her characters are too contrived and one dimensional to engage. The book's constant dropping of street and institution names and events to tie it to Park Slope try too hard. I can't tell if they are there for those of us who live here to get delight from seeing our street names in print (as if we don't get enough of that already) or for those who don't live here to get a sense of the neighborhood. Either way they fall flat. A book that characterizes itself as Brooklyn's own Sex in the City felt more like a bad blind date. I had to force myself to the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    do not recommend!!!

    I was expecting a 'Sex and The City' type novel. However, this novel is all fluff and very little substance. I had seen many rave reviews prior to purchasing the novel, and I must admit my expectations were high. But, after a few chapters, I quickly lost interest in the vapid, poorly written characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Author is Racist

    This author is racist. I refuse to even finish reading this book because it's so unacceptable. Every "bad" character in this book is black. When Lizzie was afraid to walk home at night, it's because there was a black man standing on her street. When a child killed a pigeon in the park, it was a black kid. When people were pick pocketed at the Coop.....the accused was black. NOT ALL BLACK PEOPLE ARE BAD. Why does the author play into into this stereotype!? I thought this book was going to be a fun, light summer read, and instead it was offensive and it upset me that people still write and think like this, and I'm not even black. I will never read anything by her again. And you shouldn't either.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    You guys need to relax

    I bought this book despite the reviews because i lived in park slope and wanted to capture a bit of my brooklyn days. It was well written, funny and just rediculous enough. Well worth the money and the time spent reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Contemporary Life

    In Prospect Park West, Amy Sohn takes us inside the lives of four women who live in this Brooklyn neighborhood. Melora Leigh is a famous actress, who after two Oscars, worries that her career is in trouble. She is slowly falling apart mentally, physically and emotionally. Her son spends his time with the live-in nanny while Melora and her husband work on their careers.

    Rebecca is a part-time journalist who works out of her home while tending to her year and a half old daughter. After the birth, her husband turned off sexually to her, and Rebecca hasn't had sex in over a year. She is desparate to change this, and is starting to look around outside her marriage to get her needs met.

    Lizzie is a stay-at-home mom who feels trapped. Her husband is a musician trying to promote his career, which means he is on the road most of the time. Even when he is home, it's in "conquering hero" mode as he says he needs to decompress from the strains of his career, not take over child care. Adding to the isolation Lizzie feels, her husband is another race and their child is bi-racial.

    Karen is another stay-at-home mother. She is aggressively trying to improve the lot of their family, pushing to move to another, more prestigious address, pushing to get to know some of her famous neighbors, pushing to have another child to create a storybook family.

    Sohn shows us the strengths and weaknesses each women faces as she tries to carve out a satisfactory life for herself and her children. The strain between working and stay-at-home moms is explored, as is the changing dynamics of relationships once children are introduced into a marriage. The four women come together and push apart throughout the book. Sohn has worked on Sex And The City and that highly sexually charged viewpoint is found throughout the book, but does not define it. This book is recommended for readers that enjoy exploring others' lives and how they face issues.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Rachel is stuck in a loveless marriage and has dreams of meeting a man who will sweep her off her feet and carry her around for the rest of her life. Rachel and her husband's non-existence sex life has been dried up since before their daughter was born. She ends up meeting a man who she has a steamy affair with, Stuart who is also married. When she winds up pregnant there is no way to deny the consequences of their actions. Lizzie used to be a lesbian but she is now married to a man with whom she has a son. During a conversation, Rachel kisses Lizzie. How many more twists and turns can one group of people take?

    If you are looking to read an in-depth, meaningful read, this is not the book for you. If you're in the mood for a fun yet trashy read that reminds me of a soap opera, this is up your alley. It's entertaining and I found it to be a nice escape from reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    the well written story line focuses deeply on each mommy's psyche in a lampooning amusing way;

    The gentrified yuppie population has invaded Park Slope in Brooklyn. There they file away in Co-ops that cost a fortune. Most are filled rage and boredom; at least the mommy yuppies are; who knows what the daddy yuppies are doing across the bay in Manhattan.

    On the playgrounds and cafes, the mothers meet to commiserate their impotency. Abandoned Rebecca's attempts to seduce her spouse fail because he prefers fatherhood over spousal-hood. Lonely Lizzie leans increasingly to returning to lesbianism as her roadie spouse is never home. Ennui Karen finds living in the borough too limited to a social climber ready to take Wall St. Actress Melora misses Manhattan where her myriad of mental phobias are eccentric while here in the burb they are psychotic.

    This is an interesting satirical mommy lit starring four women with differing issues. Each comes across as their own person and the oft-referenced neighborhood provides strong background to their plight. Although the well written story line focuses deeply on each mommy's psyche in a lampooning amusing way; their individual sexual and kiddy plights seem shallow when each makes it feel as if the end of days has begun. Still sub-genre fans will want to visit Prospect Park West to see how the yuppie moms cope.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Some interesting characters, and some I just wanted to punch

    Prospect Park West follows the lives of four mothers as they struggle to cope with issues ranging from sexual identity confusion to infertility.
    Overall, it was a fast read, bordering on trashy in places, with a couple of interesting characters and some extremely annoying ones.
    Set in Brooklyn's Park Slope neighborhood, we meet:
    Lizzie - former lesbian stay-at-home mom, married to a musician who is constantly travelling. She develops an attraction to another mom in an attempt to assuage her loneliness.
    Rebecca - my favorite of the mommies, Rebecca is loud and occasionally rude but of all the moms presented in this book, the one I'd most want to hang out with simply because she's fun and she knows how to laugh at the pitfalls of mommydom. Big problem is that her husband doesn't want to have sex with her since the birth of their child. Interesting turn on the sex-after-baby issue.
    Karen - a manipulative social climber. The kind of mom who makes her kid wear kneepads at the playground. Couldn't stand her, and was glad to see her come to a somewhat bad end.
    And then there's Melora - an Oscar-winning actress who adopts an orphan a la Angelina Jolie, but then foists him off on the nanny and decides to take up pick-pocketing as a hobby.
    The racial paranoia subplot felt forced, and I just laughed outright at how delusional most New Yorkers seemed to be about then-nominee Barack Obama's presidency and what they thought he could accomplish.
    The ending doesn't tie everything up neatly - it leaves you wondering about some of these mommies - but not really interested enough to wonder for very long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    I loved this Book !

    This is one of my new favorite books, I couldnot put it down! If you like Candace Bushnell's One Fifth Avenue, you will love this book. I cant wait for more books by this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    Boring and Pointless

    I usually love chick lit to relax with but I truthfully found this to be boring and painful. I finally threw the book in the garbage as it was just not worth the effort to try to get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2