BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Prostitutes' Ball

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The dynamic partnering of the seemingly snob and the slob make for a refreshing Scully entry

    LAPD Homicide Special Chief Tony Filosiana sends Detective Shane Scully to investigate an alleged shooting at a dilapidated Hollywood mansion with Detective Sumner Hitchens as his partner since his regular mate Sally Quinn is on leave for the holidays. Like most of the hardcore members of the unit, Scully detests the African-American detective, who dresses like he is the centerfold of GQ as he made a fortune selling the story of a homicide case to the movies. Scully reappraises his partner following a harrowing incident.

    At the mansion, the two cops find three dead people (a producer and two females who Scully assumes are hookers) shot by the same gun. The homicides ended an apparent party in which the attendees fled for the hills. They apparently solve the case, but have one problem as an extra shell casing not from the murder weapon is found. Soon the pair works a cold case murder at the same locale that occurred over two and a half decades ago.

    The dynamic partnering of the seemingly snob and the slob make for a refreshing Scully entry as each learns not to judge a book by its cover; both prove courageous, intelligent and full of heart. Although the teaming of apparent opposites is not new (see Hollywood Homicide with Harrison Ford and Josh Hartnett), fans of the saga (see The Pallbearers) will enjoy this fine entry as Stephen J. Cannell provides his fans with an engaging police procedural.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Prostitute' Ball

    It was sad to hear of Stephen Cannell's passing a couple of days before the book came out. This book was entertaining as the rest of the Shane Scully novels. The book was a quick, enjoyable read. He will be missed : (

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    Very interesting read with numerous twists and turns keeping interest and making it difficult to put down. Cannell was writer fot TV series and this could have made an episode!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Surprise

    This was the first book I've read by this author. It was on clearance and the title captured my attention, so I gave it a try. It was very good - well written and a good plot; kept my interest right to the last page. I'll be looking for other books in this series and by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Recommended good read

    Great reading for those that like suspense and Cannells' style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    I loved this book! It had its seriousness (murder always is) an

    I loved this book! It had its seriousness (murder always is) and its funny - Loved the characters Scully and Hitchens - what a pair! Will have to see is there are more Shane Scully books by Cannell.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2012

    Excellent Light Reading

    First time I had read a book by Canneli but throughtly enjoyed it and will read more. Plot moved quickly and keep you on your toes to see what would happen next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Thought is started out a bit slow but speeded up to a really good old Hollywood mystery. I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    highly recommended

    well written by a great producer& writer. I only wish that he was still here writing more books. Since I can't have my wish; then I will search out what books he left behind. He will always remain one of my top writers and I hope to see some of his T.V.shows come back in re-runs so that today's generation will see what we lost.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Scully

    Excellent book by Cannell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    EASY READ

    This is an easy read, very entertaining. Great for a plane ride or at the besch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Book Candy

    Cannell doesn't claim to be a profound writer....he writes stuff, book candy to forget your life for awhile and become involved with his characters. I enjoyed this book, could have been a bit faster paced, but overall it was fun to read with a big glass of diet soda and a big comfy chair. Yahoo!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Recommend

    This is a good story with several twists and turns. You start with one crime and by the end there are three. The story held my attention. I did feel the ending was weak. After the build up of all the wrong doings going on, I expected an explosive ending which was not there. But, the journey to the ending was very enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    good read

    fast paced - very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Excellent!

    I really enjoy Stephen Cannell's Shane Scully novels. They are all a great read that keeps your interest. You will read into the wee hours...
    This is an exciting book that will hold your attention right to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    good read

    a bit different but very enjoyble

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    starts slow, but finishes fast

    Enjoyed this book, would recommand it to other mystery fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended Mystery

    Really enjoyed this mystery. I am a crime book junkie and this fits right in. Had never read this author before and am looking forward to more of his books. A first rate book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Titties.....?

    Vvbb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    First Time Reader.. Will Read Again.

    This was my first read of Mr. Cannell, but it will not be my last.

    The Ball was extremely well written, and kept me entertained all the way though the book. The twists and turns kept me turning the pages until the very end.

    The characters are believable as well as enjoyable.

    I think most people who enjoy this genre will enjoy the Ball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5