Customer Reviews for

Protect and Defend (Kerry Kilcannon Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommend this book.

Richard North Patterson still remains one of my favorite authors even though I feel this book was a little too predictable with all those 'greedy' Republicans being supported by the 'noncompassionate, narrow minded' pro-lifers. The book was a little too one-sided for m...
Richard North Patterson still remains one of my favorite authors even though I feel this book was a little too predictable with all those 'greedy' Republicans being supported by the 'noncompassionate, narrow minded' pro-lifers. The book was a little too one-sided for me. But even so, I still couldn't put the book down.

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I guess we know where Mr. Patterson's stands on abortion rights.

While this book was very well written, it troubled me that the author portrayed ALL Democrats as pro-choice and ALL Republicans as pro-life. He made Republicans seem callous and rigid, while making Democrats seem caring and flexible. It was NOT a fair portrayal of eit...
While this book was very well written, it troubled me that the author portrayed ALL Democrats as pro-choice and ALL Republicans as pro-life. He made Republicans seem callous and rigid, while making Democrats seem caring and flexible. It was NOT a fair portrayal of either. I found it very disturbing....and I'M a Democrat. I'm also Pro-life.

posted by Anonymous on November 21, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Pro-Choice Conservative View

    This is my first Patterson book, so I have no history of his work to bias my opinion. I am a Republican, but I am also pro-Choice, so I believe I can provide a unique insight. The book has a strong liberal bias. Even the liberal policies of the book with which I agree made me wince in their disparate treatment toward traditional conservative values. The ¿good guys¿ were liberals and Democrats, while conservatives and Republicans were portrayed as evil, save one ¿Maverick¿ Republican who tilted strongly liberal. I have a certain animosity for the theocratic wing of the conservative movement, and I still found the book uncomfortable. The twists and turns that change the political field are fascinating, and I found myself less at odds with the author in the abortion segment - probably because am pro-choice. The author sets a stage where political forces deftly juxtapose to create unusual obstacles for a new President. The political intrigue is suitable for a real political junkie. The environment was no less convoluted than the California Recall! There were at least two occasions when conservatives (one a legislator, the other a Supreme Court justice) referred to our form of government as a 'democracy.' NO respectable conservative would refer to the United States as anything but a 'representative republic.' It was obvious this book was not subject to conservative review. It was also interesting that Republicans were engaging in political obstruction to placate special interests. Clearly, Democrats typically fill that political mold. With the exception of the errors in accuracy, and the serious liberal bend, I finished the book without noticing any glaring holes. This was an interesting and complex scenario, and things went into place and resolved logically. I listened to the book on CD, and the reader was fabulous!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Wonderful read!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. The characters are well developed and interesting. Patterson presents both sides of an extremely volatile issue with clarity and compassion. I also enjoyed the intertwining plot lines and legal arguments. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    Protect and Defend

    This is high class stuff. Compelling, informative,accurate and brillantly written. I can certainly recommend this first class read to anyone. Thanks RNP for producing such a fine piece of work which I could not put down. I don't normally re-read books, but I will certainly make an exception for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    My new favorite book

    This book is wonderful. I love the way it brings you in and challenges your own views. This book takes religion and politics and inter-twines them together. The characters come to life. I enjoyed every word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    Well written but VERY biased.

    I have read most of Richard North Patterson's books and enjoyed them greatly. This one is equally as well written but I can't get past the obvious pro-choice slant, to the point where I can't finish the book. That he voices his opinions is fine, but I feel as though I have been beaten over the head by his villification of the pro-life movement. I feel also that I have been misled, as the previous Kerry Kilcannon book did not have such an obvious slant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2002

    Thought-provoking

    I bought this book at the station to read on a 3 hour train ride: I thought it'd be an easy read that I could then leave on the train when I arrived. Instead, I was so completely caught up in the story and the presentation of the different facets of the abortion debate, that I raced to the end and have since re-read it more slowly at home. I thought it was very even-handed, showing that a solution for one person is NOT a solution for another person and presenting different lines of thinking and constantly raising new questions. The political and government parts of the story were disgusting of course but did give some grounds for hope - perhaps one can be a politician and still have some humanity left. I really enjoyed the book and have lent it to several people in hopes of stimulating discussions in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    By far the best of 2001!

    I've read lots of books this year, but nothing compares to Protect and Defend. Although abortion is at the core of the story, no matter where you stand on the issue, you'll give thought to your beliefs. If the Senate really operates the way it's described in this book, I'm not sure the United States way of government is the way to go. A great lessen in government and Supreme Court practice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2001

    Recommend this book.

    Richard North Patterson still remains one of my favorite authors even though I feel this book was a little too predictable with all those 'greedy' Republicans being supported by the 'noncompassionate, narrow minded' pro-lifers. The book was a little too one-sided for me. But even so, I still couldn't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2001

    I guess we know where Mr. Patterson's stands on abortion rights.

    While this book was very well written, it troubled me that the author portrayed ALL Democrats as pro-choice and ALL Republicans as pro-life. He made Republicans seem callous and rigid, while making Democrats seem caring and flexible. It was NOT a fair portrayal of either. I found it very disturbing....and I'M a Democrat. I'm also Pro-life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    A Disappointing Read

    Not so much a political thriller as a 'rah, rah' for Abortion Rights. Comes off as trite and very manipulative. I prefer Margaret Truman...a true political thriller author, with no axe to grind. I expected more from Patterson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2001

    Breathes Life Into Complex Legal Hypotheticals

    A new president of the United States takes office after a close election victory. Early in his term, he faces the opportunity to make a key appointment. Circumstances arise in a perverse way to make what would normally be a routine decision into a very tricky and challenging one for all involved. Every law student is familiar with the Socratic technique of the professor starting with one set of facts, and then beginning to alter them to see how it affects the result. By testing a full range of situations, the true legal principles begin to emerge. Protect and Defend does the best job I have ever seen of taking this method and using it to develop complex questions in a novel. Anyone who likes reading about the law will enjoy this aspect of the book. Unlike most books about legal issues, this one also fully develops many characters. As I read the book, I was also reminded of the excitement I felt as I read Advise and Consent. The reason for this is that you (if you are like me) will probably identify with several of the characters and care about what happens to them and to the country, as you care about others and the country in real life. The primary focus of this book is on abortion as a legal and political issue. Most people do not like to read about this subject, but this book is vastly more interesting than most by shedding new light on the many complex perspectives that come into play. On the other hand, the most gross details of abortion are fully exposed here, and will upset many readers. Constructively, the book fairly and positively portrays many ranges of pro-choice opinion. Unfortunately, those who come to a pro-life point of view from religious or moral scruples make out very poorly here. Typically, they are portrayed in an unfavorable light. This is a serious weakness of the book. Had it been more balanced in its portrayal of the two viewpoints, Protect and Defend could have been a landmark novel about how America is dealing with abortion today. If you are pro-life, you may find this book offensive. For you, this could be a one-star book. Mr. Patterson points out that he sought help from pro-life advocates, and received very little. He notes that this probably affected the quality of his story. If he had not provided that explanation, I would have graded the book down at least one more star. The legal hypotheticals usually come up in the context of courtroom examinations, and are very interesting. They certainly added to my thinking and understanding. I suspect that they will to yours too. The book also presents a cautious case for a possible way out of the political cannibalism that affects both major parties, so that few candidates for important offices are 'pure' enough to hold them. I encourage you to be sure that you understand all of the perspectives involved in abortion. I suspect that most of us (and certainly me) have views that are uninformed in many ways. I hope that pro-life advocates will take the time to further inform Mr. Patterson and that he will write another fine book on this subject in the future. That would be a benefit to us all. Look at all dimensions of important issues before drawing your conclusions. Then check your thinking before acting. Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Anonymous

    This was the most gripping, compelling, riveting, sensational book I have ever read. It became impossible to put down. I would recommend having a dictionary nearby. There were so many words I had never heard of, much less know the meaning of. The only character that I disliked was caroline Masters. What an egotistical, over ambitious, greedy person. To give up her child over her ambitions and then to lie about it later on. I was hoping she would not get the nomination. Mr. Patterson did a wonderful job writing this book. It makes me think that maybe at one time he had been a medical doctor, or a lawyer, or a politician. It also makes me wonder, if the events in this book are realistic. Is this real life in the world of politics. Betrayal, lies, greed, distrust, enemies, misuse of power. That with one phone call, even the most powerful can be brought down. Read this book, you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2001

    For the First Time, Patterson Disappoints

    From the time I read his first book, I have been a huge Richard North Patterson fan. I found that he always delivered excellent writing, well-crafted stories, and suspenseful plots - that is,until now. In Protect and Defend, the writing is still first-class, but the suspense is non-existent. I didn't even finish the book, which is most unusual for me. The problem is that the book is simply a treatise on the abortion issue. There is nothing about this story that would accurately classify it as a mystery, thriller, or suspense novel. Even the descriptions of the political process, which I usually find fascinating, are rendered boring by the excrutiatingly detailed coverage of the abortion debate. If abortion fascinates you to the extent that you want to read about it for 582 pages, then you will probably love Protect and Defend - but if not, then your reaction may mirror mine. By all means, if you enjoy suspense and politics, buy any of Patterson's previous books - but skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    Battle of the Conscience

    I can¿t remember the last time a book has stirred my emotions as the one has. Mr. Patterson¿s latest work is a heart wrenching, gut wrenching story that grabs you and doesn¿t let go. It makes you think about life, politics, difficult issues that foster difficult decisions and leaves you wondering about the human beings who shape our future. This book, the product of Mr. Patterson¿s extensive research, is an eye opener, and for me personally, a signpost for deep reflection. A novel that will not be forgotten soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    Recommended for all those considering a pro-life stance!

    In trying to deliver both sides of the abortion issue, the author's requests for interviews from the Christian Coalition were denied. However, I believe he successfully delivers both sides of the coin - prochoice and prolife, in this extremely time-appropriate novel. Those people who are prolife would do well to consider reading this book, if only to explore the potential ramifications of their position, albeit in a novel form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    Not a good read, a great read!

    As familiar as I am with Richard North Patterson, this book was a revelation. A coherent plot with sidebars galore, tightly woven into a tapestry of remarkable and educational grist for the mill, if you enjoy this genre, and fail to read this book, you are doing yourself(ves) a great injustice. President Kerry Kilcannon nominates a judge with a secret to become Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court. Caroline Masters, the jurist he selects has a secret that if made public, could jeopardize her chances for nomination to the country's highest court. Yet, others have secrets too, and the suspense builds as it appears that everyone, including the President has vestiges of skeletons in their closets. The unravelling and then retying of the yarns making up each of the subplots of this book is nothing less than spectacular. The only downside to this thoroughly enjoyable book is that if you are not careful, you'll read it too fast: from first page to last, it is one of the best books of its type I have read in a long long time. Characterizations are up there with those of Scott Turow. I just can't provide enough encomiums about this novel. Regardless of what side of the abortion issue you are on...oh, did I mention that this is one of the major subplots?, if you have a moderately open mind you'll find this book rewarding and pause for some deep thought. A first rate novel by a first rate novelist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting political thriller

    A fifteen-year-old girl is pregnant carrying a brain-damaged fetus. She wants to abort her child, but the recently enacted federal law requires parental permission for a minor to obtain a late stage abortion. Her devout pro-life parents will never agree to the abortion. If the child comes to term, a c-section is required that might leave the teen sterile. Lawyer Sara Dash accepts Mary Ann's case in an attempt to prove the law is unconstitutional and the court should repeal the congressional law. <P>Kerry Kilcannon has just been sworn into office as president. One of his first decisions is to nominate the Honorable Caroline Clark Masters as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. Sarah was once Caroline's law clerk and each hold the other in high regard. If Sarah takes the case on appeal, Caroline will sit on the bench, jeopardizing her chance to become Chief Justice because she will vote for the abortion. Conservatives will then have the ammunition to defeat her nomination. The newly elected President faces his first test in office because he is determined that Caroline will be the next Chief Justice. <P> In a land where law and politics go hand in hand, there is a heroic president, a fine Chief Justice nominee, and an idealistic lawyer battling to see justice occurs. The cast on both sides of the complex abortion issue seems very believable because their motives appear genuine and honorable. This is what makes Richard North Patterson's novel an exciting, impossible to put down political thriller. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2