BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Protect and Defend (Mitch Rapp Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 396 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(257)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This book is well written and not easy to put down. The story line was into today's world with the threat of nuclear facilities in Iran.
I enjoy reading all of Vince Flynn's books. They are interesting with good plots and charactors. Mitch Rapp is a bull in a china sho...
This book is well written and not easy to put down. The story line was into today's world with the threat of nuclear facilities in Iran.
I enjoy reading all of Vince Flynn's books. They are interesting with good plots and charactors. Mitch Rapp is a bull in a china shop, but great to indentify with in doing his job.

posted by Avidreader55 on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Skip this one.

I've read all of the previous Mitch Rapp books in order, which is the best way tp do it, but I wishI would have skipped this one. I actually bought the paperback version for $5, thank goodness!
The story begins with him working on an assignment with a female character ...
I've read all of the previous Mitch Rapp books in order, which is the best way tp do it, but I wishI would have skipped this one. I actually bought the paperback version for $5, thank goodness!
The story begins with him working on an assignment with a female character from a previous book. Of course he is sleeping with her. Then she just disappears not to be included in the rest of the story.
The story drones on for much of the rest of the book. The last few chapters rushes to an extremely disappointing ending. The idea that the US would allow the head of the CIA to go into a hostile foreign country without the escort of the US military is ridiculous to begin with. She gets kidnapped and tortured and eventually rescued. The main bad guy escapes. He is caught in another country, jailed and tied up. Rapp flies to this country, pays some money to the jailors, kills the bad guy by breaking his neckwhile the bad guy is tied up!!!! Exciting no???
I,m wary sbout buying the next book in this series now. Some reviewers gave this book 4**** . Maybe they were just happy to get it over with.

posted by 12305988 on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Skip this one.

    I've read all of the previous Mitch Rapp books in order, which is the best way tp do it, but I wishI would have skipped this one. I actually bought the paperback version for $5, thank goodness!
    The story begins with him working on an assignment with a female character from a previous book. Of course he is sleeping with her. Then she just disappears not to be included in the rest of the story.
    The story drones on for much of the rest of the book. The last few chapters rushes to an extremely disappointing ending. The idea that the US would allow the head of the CIA to go into a hostile foreign country without the escort of the US military is ridiculous to begin with. She gets kidnapped and tortured and eventually rescued. The main bad guy escapes. He is caught in another country, jailed and tied up. Rapp flies to this country, pays some money to the jailors, kills the bad guy by breaking his neckwhile the bad guy is tied up!!!! Exciting no???
    I,m wary sbout buying the next book in this series now. Some reviewers gave this book 4**** . Maybe they were just happy to get it over with.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This book is well written and not easy to put down. The story line was into today's world with the threat of nuclear facilities in Iran.
    I enjoy reading all of Vince Flynn's books. They are interesting with good plots and charactors. Mitch Rapp is a bull in a china shop, but great to indentify with in doing his job.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    mitch rapp to the rescue again

    Mitch Rapp, is the next great character.
    Like Ludlem's Jason Bourne a great characer
    can do guy. Endless supply of stories
    available for this character.
    Wish our government would pay more attention
    to this set of problem solving skills.
    The US would be a better, safer place.
    Excellent, fast paced reading.
    Read 'em all.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Mitch Rapp on the Warpath Again

    I found the first half of 'Protect and Defend' slow going--with the exception of the beginning sequence which starts out with a bang in the Isfahan nuclear facility in Iran's second-largest city. Then the story lags and doesn't pick up till CIA director Irene Kennedy is kidnaped as she's on a mission in Iran. With that the action thunders along hell-for-leather with Mitch Rapp pulling out all the stops to free her from her sadistic captors. Rapp kills and tortures anyone who gets in his way when he attempts to save her from being tortured herself. Vince Flynn has done his research to a fare-thee-well and his sources seem reliable. If anything, the book may be a tad too bogged down with research for its own good and might have been a more fast-paced thriller had it been pared down and streamlined. --Bryan Cassiday

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Not the usual fare

    I usually love Vince Flynn's stories involving Mitch Rapp, but this story, while plausible, seemed too pat towards the ending, which rushed to a conclusion. I would have preferred a couple more chapters outlining how Rapp tracked the terrorist and ultimately did him in, but the ending was much too simple and not characteristic of Flynn's other novels. A good read, but somewhat disappointing conclusion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    All thirteen Mitch Rapp books!

    Have read all 13 Mitch Rapp books, wish there were 30 books. Did find a fourteen book "TERM LIMITS" also a great read, does need I clude Mitch Rspp but include many of people from three first thirteen books. May reread all fourteen books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Great

    Great character development and entertaining to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    B&N needs to check their books

    I've read this book several times before I got it as an eBook and it is fantastic! But the problem is that the eBook format itself is crappy. Early on, you have to go back a page, forward two pages, and backwards three pages to read the pages in the right order because they are mixed up. And Chapter 30 is actually 5 pages long but in the eBook, it is cut off mid-sentence and only a page long, so I had to go find my hardcover edition of Protect and Defend to read it. I'm only halfway through it as the eBook so there are bound to be more mistakes. Recap: great book but the eBook itself is like used toilet paper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic book!

    All of Vince Flynn's books are great. I recommend the entire Mitch Rapp series. Be sure to start at the beginning, you won't want to put them down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Minor problem reports

    Here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    GET THE HELL OUT OF MY CLAN

    GET THE HELL OUT OF MY CLAN

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend to everyone! Mitch Rapp at in again.

    Mitch Rapp's first true test under a new president and in true Mitch Rapp fashion he divides and conquers. The head of the CIA (who Mitch cares for very much) is kidnapped and he has very little time to find her and rescue her. As with all international instances the diplomats want a peaceful solution and those as we all know take quite a bit of time. Diplomats are the bane of Mitch's existence and he knows that he has to do whatever it takes before real harm comes to his friend. It's up to the new president to decide if he should turn Mitch lose like his predecessor has told him he should learn to do or should he go the diplomatic route and make the politicians happy. If you know Mitch you know which why this goes. The eight book out about Mitch and you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Another great Mitch Rapp book

    Another great Mitch Rapp book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Better than Bond?

    Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp series is a terrific read. Always looking for a new author to read and I am half way through the series. Not sure which series it is (around #11 or #12) but Flynn takes us back to the very beginning and introduces Rapp and all the training he receives and how he got started. I was fortunate in that I read this one early, and it makes the remaining books clearer with the intent and purpose of our new hero. Having read all the Lee Child (Jack Reacher) books, this is a fantastic follow-on series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Lilyfang

    Please go to paper 1 result and say 1) lilyfang is locked out. 2)please go to weekly warrior 1 result to post stories. 3)read the paper at result 3. THX!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    great read

    i would definately read more books by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    NASTYKIT

    Comes in drstrnbfh den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Must read roller coaster ride of suspense and thrills

    A great read with great suspense. A very good page turner. Out of all the recent books I've read, Vince Flynn is high on my list, way far up than Dan Brown and David Baldacci, even though they are still great authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21