Customer Reviews for

Protect and Defend (Mitch Rapp Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 393 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This book is well written and not easy to put down. The story line was into today's world with the threat of nuclear facilities in Iran.
I enjoy reading all of Vince Flynn's books. They are interesting with good plots and charactors. Mitch Rapp is a bull in a china sho...
This book is well written and not easy to put down. The story line was into today's world with the threat of nuclear facilities in Iran.
I enjoy reading all of Vince Flynn's books. They are interesting with good plots and charactors. Mitch Rapp is a bull in a china shop, but great to indentify with in doing his job.

posted by Avidreader55 on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Skip this one.

I've read all of the previous Mitch Rapp books in order, which is the best way tp do it, but I wishI would have skipped this one. I actually bought the paperback version for $5, thank goodness!
The story begins with him working on an assignment with a female character ...
I've read all of the previous Mitch Rapp books in order, which is the best way tp do it, but I wishI would have skipped this one. I actually bought the paperback version for $5, thank goodness!
The story begins with him working on an assignment with a female character from a previous book. Of course he is sleeping with her. Then she just disappears not to be included in the rest of the story.
The story drones on for much of the rest of the book. The last few chapters rushes to an extremely disappointing ending. The idea that the US would allow the head of the CIA to go into a hostile foreign country without the escort of the US military is ridiculous to begin with. She gets kidnapped and tortured and eventually rescued. The main bad guy escapes. He is caught in another country, jailed and tied up. Rapp flies to this country, pays some money to the jailors, kills the bad guy by breaking his neckwhile the bad guy is tied up!!!! Exciting no???
I,m wary sbout buying the next book in this series now. Some reviewers gave this book 4**** . Maybe they were just happy to get it over with.

posted by 12305988 on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    mitch rapp to the rescue again

    Mitch Rapp, is the next great character.
    Like Ludlem's Jason Bourne a great characer
    can do guy. Endless supply of stories
    available for this character.
    Wish our government would pay more attention
    to this set of problem solving skills.
    The US would be a better, safer place.
    Excellent, fast paced reading.
    Read 'em all.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Mitch Rapp on the Warpath Again

    I found the first half of 'Protect and Defend' slow going--with the exception of the beginning sequence which starts out with a bang in the Isfahan nuclear facility in Iran's second-largest city. Then the story lags and doesn't pick up till CIA director Irene Kennedy is kidnaped as she's on a mission in Iran. With that the action thunders along hell-for-leather with Mitch Rapp pulling out all the stops to free her from her sadistic captors. Rapp kills and tortures anyone who gets in his way when he attempts to save her from being tortured herself. Vince Flynn has done his research to a fare-thee-well and his sources seem reliable. If anything, the book may be a tad too bogged down with research for its own good and might have been a more fast-paced thriller had it been pared down and streamlined. --Bryan Cassiday

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Another great Mitch Rapp book

    Another great Mitch Rapp book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good read!

    ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Good story

    Had a strange incomplete (I felt) rescue chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent fast paced action novel!

    I highly suggest this book for it's fast pace action thriller that I can easily see happening today. That's what makes this novel so intresting and once it's picked up it is hard to put down. I'm looking forward to the next book by Vince Flynn that I will be reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Did not realize potential

    Flynn has a great story to tell. Iran's nuclear ambitions and its ultimate effect on the world¿a military confrontation with the U.S. <BR/><BR/>Protect and Defend, the sequel to Act of Treason starts off at a fast pace. The plot revolves around Iran's nuclear facilities at Isfahan and Natanz. In the story, Natanz is a stalking horse, and the real uranium enrichment centrifuge facility is located in Isfahan. Good twist, since there is probably a hidden enrichment centrifuge facility somewhere in Iran. In the real world, the fictional nuclear reactor¿a heavy water breeder reactor that produces plutonium¿is actually located near Arak.<BR/><BR/>Someone has to take out the enrichment facility, but who? How? Ah, that is part of the plot. The solution is creative, but the choice of thermobaric explosives is questionable for technical reasons. None the less, the concept is doable if preformed linear shaped charges are used. Flynn does a great job describing the attack on the facility and the bomb damage assessment.<BR/><BR/>I especially enjoyed Flynn's development of the Iranian president's character, President Ahmadinejad, opps, I mean President Amatullah. The Supreme Leader's character is another story. Iran's Supreme Leader is depicted as a remote spiritual leader who stays above the day to day dirty work. Actually, the Islamic Republic of Iran has had two Supreme Leaders: Grand Ayatollah Seyyed Ruhollah Khomeini (1979-1989) and Grand Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Hosseinl Khamenei (1989- current). Neither resemble Flynn's Supreme Leader character.<BR/><BR/>Flynn includes several memorable antidotes. I especially loved the one about the King of Saudi Arabia having a hotel suite in Tehran redecorated for his short stay. Gotta spend those U.S. dollars somewhere.<BR/><BR/>Protect and Defend is a page turning thriller with lots of well written action scenes, but it could have been more. Flynn almost reaches Clancy's lofty perch as he develops the conflict between Iran and the U.S. Flynn does a masterful job of depicting how the Iranians don't understand the West, the power of the U.S., and make decisions based upon emotion and "Persian pride." Unlike Clancy, Flynn does not allow the conflict to occur. <BR/><BR/>At the last moment, the Supreme Leader and the head of the Guardian Council, Ayatollah Najar, step in to avoid conflict, and the story is reduced to a vehicle for Mitch Rapp to do his macho thing with the terrorists. I have no problem with Rapp's interrogation methods, but there could have been much more to the story. I have listened to Vince Flynn on the Glenn Beck Show and found him to be very knowledgeable of the issues facing the West. Perhaps his publisher's PC police prevented Flynn from to telling a better story. For example, the comment on page 185, "Men who were frightened to read the entire Koran because they knew they would be confronted with the words of a prophet who would never condone their actions." This statement is at odds with the Qur'an and I suspect it was inserted by an editor or the PC police. Read Muhammad's last recitation, the ninth surah. Nothing peaceful there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Average by Flynn's standards

    I thought this was a very good book, but not great. I had very high expectations from his previous novels and the prospect of Mitch taking on Iranian fanatics. However, I felt it was predictable and the end was rushed. I still tore through this book during a round trip flight. Flynn is still the best in my opinion but got a little complacent on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Not His Best,, but still a darn good read!!

    I just wish there were a real Mitch Rapp and some real politicians who had the courage to protect our country against this terrorist threat as it needs to be done. If we fought fire with fire as Flynn writes about it, perhaps our folks would not be beheaded in the name of peace-loving radical Islam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Recommended for Flynn Fans

    I have read everything by Vince Flynn and I agree that he seems to be prescient in a somewhat scary way. The idea of the book was good, but feel that it was a little short and a little rushed/contrived for the end. I got a little feeling that Vince took an easy way out to end the book. I kept wondering when other aspects of the book were going to be fleshed out and never were. Definitely not the best work but it's good for Flynn fans. Looking forward to his next work as I understand he's contracted for 3 or 4 more novels with Atria.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am a huge Vince Flynn fan, but felt this one, though a good read, was a bit rushed compared to others with characters and actions left dangling. I look forward to the next one and hope that he takes a bit more time in dotting the 'i''s and crossing the 't''s on his story and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    Rapp is BACK!

    Wow! Protect & Defend certainly shows Flynn is BACK! The way Vince educates the reader about the Middle East and the intricacies of Islamic factions is perfect for us 'sausage eating' Americans. Vince's uncanny way of predicting world politics, especially in the Middle East, is frightening. The possible and real parallels in Protect & Defend in regards to Iran make it hard to believe this is fiction. In fact, an Iranian media source posted a review calling Protect & Defend 'delusional'. If Iran is already starting a propaganda war against this book -- then you know it struck a little to close to home. Mitch is back in every sense of the word, from the bedroom to the executioner's shoes this is one heck of a ride! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Very good book

    This book was very good from the start. Mitch Rapp is back with a bang. I would of like the book to go on a bit toward the end. How anyone can give this book less than four stars is crazy. Vince keep it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4