Customer Reviews for

Protect and Defend (Mitch Rapp Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 394 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(256)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This book is well written and not easy to put down. The story line was into today's world with the threat of nuclear facilities in Iran.
I enjoy reading all of Vince Flynn's books. They are interesting with good plots and charactors. Mitch Rapp is a bull in a china sho...
This book is well written and not easy to put down. The story line was into today's world with the threat of nuclear facilities in Iran.
I enjoy reading all of Vince Flynn's books. They are interesting with good plots and charactors. Mitch Rapp is a bull in a china shop, but great to indentify with in doing his job.

posted by Avidreader55 on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Skip this one.

I've read all of the previous Mitch Rapp books in order, which is the best way tp do it, but I wishI would have skipped this one. I actually bought the paperback version for $5, thank goodness!
The story begins with him working on an assignment with a female character ...
I've read all of the previous Mitch Rapp books in order, which is the best way tp do it, but I wishI would have skipped this one. I actually bought the paperback version for $5, thank goodness!
The story begins with him working on an assignment with a female character from a previous book. Of course he is sleeping with her. Then she just disappears not to be included in the rest of the story.
The story drones on for much of the rest of the book. The last few chapters rushes to an extremely disappointing ending. The idea that the US would allow the head of the CIA to go into a hostile foreign country without the escort of the US military is ridiculous to begin with. She gets kidnapped and tortured and eventually rescued. The main bad guy escapes. He is caught in another country, jailed and tied up. Rapp flies to this country, pays some money to the jailors, kills the bad guy by breaking his neckwhile the bad guy is tied up!!!! Exciting no???
I,m wary sbout buying the next book in this series now. Some reviewers gave this book 4**** . Maybe they were just happy to get it over with.

posted by 12305988 on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 256 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Only one word to describe this book and Vince Flynn's others:

    AWESOME!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Mitch Rapp solving problems

    Excellent book. I could hardly put it down until I finished. After terrorist killed hundreds of people, it is up to Mitch rapp to catch them before they do further harm.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable read

    This is my first Vince Flynn novel and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a page turner from the first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    A Great Read

    Vince Flynn's novels are thrilling. Make sure you have time to read or you will lose some sleep, by the middle of the book you won't put it down, just to see how Mitch gets out of this mess. Flynn's books are definitely up there with Clancy and Le Carre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Pure escape-another great Mitch Rapp series

    Book was a page turner-up to date with the world politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Protect and Defend

    Excellent book. Flynn does a good job with his story. I would recommend this book to anyone who like this type of book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Adventuresome and Thrilling

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Protect and Defend

    Mitch is my main man!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding Action novel

    This is a great piece of work. A thriller that is hard to put down. I enjoyed it from the start to the finish. The main character is very real and very daring. The writng is superb. This story is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    I love Vince Flynn!!!!

    I think that Vince Flynn is one of the best writers of this type of book there is. His characters are very engaging and his plots never fail to keep you reading until the very last page. I started reading Vince Flynn when I saw a display that said that people who loved Tom Clancy would also like Vince Flynn and they were absolutely correct. In fact, I almost enjoy Vince Flynn's novels more because unlike Clancy who takes the first 100 pages laying the groundwork for the plot, Flynn's novels grab you right from the beginning and never let you go. I would also recommend all of the other Vince Flynn novels and for you Clancy fans out there also check out Kyle Mills and David Baldacci.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another solid, great, thrilling Mitch Rapp book!

    This was yet another very solid, well-written Mitch Rapp book. Vince Flynn continues to amaze me with his attention to detail and his writing style. His character development and his ability to make you think about the way the clandestine war on terror should be fought by arguments and the internal workings of his bad ass, Mitch Rapp, is very interesting. This is a definite must read if you like political thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    great

    Another great book by VF. I only ended up getting 4 hours of sleep one night because with about 200 pages left I could not put the book down. I did feel the ending was a little rushed. But otherwise outstanding.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Mitch Rapp is My Hero!

    Why can't we bring Mitch Rapp to life and turn him loose the way VF does in this book? I actually missed my golf tee time because I couldn't stop reading this. I don't think anyone can put it down during the last 150 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    A 'How-To' guide to terrorism

    Such is the life of Mitch Rapp: 'Mr. President, I apologize for my appearance.' He was wearing a pair of worn khaki cargo pants, a faded polo shirt, and a suit coat he'd borrowed from one of the Secret Service agents. To make things worse, he hadn't shaved in five days. 'Don't worry.' ... 'By the looks of you, I'm assuming you were off doing something I don't want to know about.' Well, the President did say it light-heartedly, but we readers of Mitch Rapp's high adventures know the President isn't too far from wrong. Three chapters later, again from an enlightened president 'The point is,I'm not foolish enough to think we live in a world where violence is never the answer. There are moments when force will have to be met with force.' The President is, of course, correct. This book is filled with the maniacle beliefs that do indeed force Mitch to act. Mitch, as shown, is also human. Thankfully his true enemies do not know that. Mitch is no-nonsense when he should be. I pray daily that there is a real Mitch in our midst. God truly help us if there is not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    Vince Flynn at the top of his game. His ideas of introducing new threats to America is amazing and a little scary. Mitch Rapp at his best...I will never get tired of Mitch Rapp telling it like it is! I can't wait for the next one and there had better be a movie about Mitch Rapp soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you aren't familiar with MItch Rapp, don't read Protect and Defend...you will kick yourself for not starting at the beginning! Hold off until you can consume the series in sequence. You won't be disappointed. Vince Flynn sets the tone, mood, and gives full character development so that the reader wishes- WANTS- the characters to really be real! I can't wait for Protect and Defend. This author busted the charts with his very first Mitch Rapp book - the series is a winner. I check ever so often hoping, waiting for his next one! VERY SATISFYING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    Too close for comfort

    Protect and Defend again presents the current, dangerous realities of radical Islamic terrorists. Vince Flynn outlines in very blunt terms again how the war on terror could be lost if the resolve in Washington D.C weakens. Mitch Rapp rubs the reader like coarse sandpaper while circumventing Washington bureaucrats to get the job done. Perhaps coarse sandpaper is good: it reminds us of the actual dangers lurking in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    Excellent Read

    All I can say is America could sure use more people like Mitch Rapp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    Superb

    This book was excellent. Honestly, it was a bit too short for my taste and I'm very much looking forward to new entries into the 'Rapp Pack' in the near future. I've read each of Vince Flynn's books at least twice, Transfer of Power itself at least 5 times. Once again, a superb book, great twists and turns. The banter between Director Kennedy & Rapp is excellent. You can actually see their respect & admiration for one another grow with each book. Once again, this one is out of the park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Amazing book

    Could not put the book down, thought every bit of it was great, just finished it today and i'm already on here looking for books from this author again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 256 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13