Customer Reviews for

Protecting the Gift: Keeping Children and Teenagers Safe (and Parents Sane)

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    Great Gift

    I highly recommend this book to every parent, grandparents, teenagers and for those who are planning to have children. I bought an extra copy for my daughter. The stories in this book are true and he gives excellent advice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    If you're a parent, you must read this book!!!

    This book should be on every bookshelf right next to 'What to Expect When You're Expecting.' It's unfortunate that a book like this is necessary in today's world, but if you have a child, you must have this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    This book should be read by all parents

    This is no nonsense information about increasing safety and comfort of our children. It allows parents and children to recognize behaviors of those who would do harm.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Excellent Advice and Tips

    The advice and anecdotes in this book make it priceless. I've owned this book since my daughter was born, but we recently discussed it in our MOPS group. One or two stories were read aloud and those two alone were reason enough to get nearly everyone in the room to go order the book. We need to pay attention to our intuition and this book helps us harness all the power Mother Nature already instilled in us as parents and caregivers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2003

    Every concerned parent must read this book

    Without frightening us Gavin deBecker brings to our attention what we need to know to keep our children safe.He focuses on our instincts and his discussions make such obvious sense. I have started to give this book as a gift to every new parent I know.Excellent excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    A Must Read for Every Parent

    While in many instances this book is disturbing, it is enlightening and vitally important. It has already made me aware of situations long passed where I could have been more responsive to signals and my own intuition. I feel better and more confident that I can and will be prepared to protect my children and myself more effectively in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2000

    A Must-Read for All Parents of Young Children

    This is a very realistic and easy to read book about potential dangers to our precious children. Trusting your God-given instincts is an underlying theme that the author uses with real-life examples to convey his point. I considered myself a pretty street wise person, but this book gave me many things to consider that I would not have before reading this book. I purchased this book for 2 other friends after reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    for everyone who loves a child

    I give this now to all expectant parents. This book is life-changing. As a mother, it posed questions that I have never thought of asking. I now have the guts to ask what is most important in keeping my son safe. deBecker gives parents 'permission' to be assertive parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    If you have a child, you have an obligation to them to read this book!

    As a mom of two very young boys I am so glad I read this book. For a subject that at first seems so common sense, de Becker has so many enlightening things to say about protecting your children. It will give you so much to think about, and things that you need to consider. Definitely an eye opener, and so easy to read. I have recommended this book to all the parents I know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1