Customer Reviews for

The Protector (Families of Honor Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series!

    Ella Hostetler was always enamored with Loyal Weaver, all through school she always dreamed of him, but he never noticed her, actually she felt as if no one really paid much attention to her. She wore glasses and always felt tall and gangly. After the death of her father, her mother became ill, and because Ella was an only child the responsibility of caring for her mother and taking care of the farm was sometimes overwhelming. The one person who checked on her regularly was Dorothy. So when Ella's mother dies, she decides to auction off the family farm. Her friend Dorothy helps her get a job at the library and rents her an apt. Turns out Loyal purchased the farm and is soon inviting Ella out to see the changes he has made. Could it be that after all these years Loyal is finally noticing Ella? As Ella's self confidence starts to bloom, Dorothy tries to put doubts in her mind. Will Ella finally have a chance at love? This is the second book in the Family of Honor Series, and I must say I really enjoyed continuing to read about the characters from the first book. Ella really dealt with self esteem issues,but it was so nice to see her come out of her shell. The character of Dorothy was quite interesting. I think bitterness over what had happened to her when she was younger really warped her mind. I really don't think that I have ever read another Amish character quite like her. I also enjoyed reading a bit more about Calvin and Lucy, and I love seeing things through young Katie's eyes.Her determination to get to the library and sign up for the summer reading program was so cute. The scenes that take place in the Kaffi Haus really had me wanting a donut! I also like the continuing story of Maddie and her health issues. I really want her to find someone special of her own, although I feel as if she already has. At the end of this book we get a brief teaser for "The Survivor," the next book in the series which is due out in August 2011, and I for one can't wait! If your a fan of Amish fiction that isn't quite so predictable then you should definitely pick up this book. While it is the second book in the series it can easily be read as a stand alone work, but because the stories are so good I would suggest reading the first book in the series as well titled The Caregiver. Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me an e-copy of this book for review.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Loveed it!

    I have read all of her books, and I wish she would write a lot more! I also love the way the characters have the Lord in their life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    loved it!!!

    First time reading Shelley Shepard Gray's books but will not be the last. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I am not usually a fan of amish books but I really enjoyed this

    I am not usually a fan of amish books but I really enjoyed this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amish Love Story

    The Protector is the second book in Shelley's Families of Honor series.
    This story is about poor Ella who is all alone now that her parents have both passed on. She has put her parents farm and possessions up for auction. Loyal Weaver has ended up buying it.
    Ella has plans to move into town and rent an apartment from Dorothy Zook, and she also has a new job at the Library.
    Mattie has been fighting cancer and doesn't want to really get close to any young man. She has a good friend in Graham, but has let him know that it can be no more than a friendship.
    Uncle John is still toying about having a relationship with Jayne, but he is still attracted to Amish Mary. Can he make up his mind?
    There are some really scary parts to this book, with people becoming obsessed.
    You will find this to be a great summer read!
    Thankfully there will be one more book in this series, and a preview is included with this one!
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher Avon Inspired, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    2nd in Families of Honor series has compelling characters

    The Protector by Shelley Shepard Gray is the second book in the Families of Honor series. Ella earned the nickname of "Plain Ella" in school. She was known for being so quiet as to be almost forgotten, as opposed to popular Loyal Weaver who was friends with everyone and the object of girls' interest for his smile and shiny blond hair. Now life seems to be passing Ella by; she has spent the last several years caring for her ill mother after the death of her father, and now the family farm is being sold at auction: to Loyal! Ella is determined to make the best of this tragic situation, taking her dream job at the library and living in Dorothy Zook's, a single older woman, duplex. Loyal has wanted to get out from elder brother Calvin's shadow for years, and Ella's farm has given him the perfect opportunity to do so, despite Calvin's doubts. Loyal's guilt over buying Ella's home encourages him to seek her out and ask her opinion on his updates to the place, but he soon finds himself drawn to Ella's gentle, loving nature and radiant smile that transforms her from plain into the most beautiful woman he's ever seen. Meanwhile, Mattie is still struggling with breast cancer and all that it has robbed her of: courting, dreams of a family, a normal life; and her best friend Graham is now dating a new girl that has Mattie re-evaluating her feelings for him. There are a plethora of Amish series on the market today, but Gray is one of the few authors I follow. Her characters are always very real and the stories compelling. The Fatal Attraction twist in this one was a bit over the top, but Gray carries it well. I enjoy the interplay between the many subplots in this series, and I look forward to the resolution of Mattie's story in the next book. Gray is one of the best writers doing bonnet fiction today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging Amish community novel

    At school very tall Ella Hostetler dreamed that one day cute Loyal Weaver would court her though he never looked twice at the girl with glasses. When Ella's father died, she took over running the farm as her mom was too ill to do so. None of the neighbors offered to help the mother and daughter and they never asked anyone. When her mom died, Ella decided to rid herself of her other beloved burden though she loved her mom and their farm.

    Her friend Dorothy obtains a library position for Ella while Loyal buys her family farm. Loyal invites Ella to visit the farm to see what he has been doing to it. She wonders if he might be interested in her the Amish gangly wallflower who spent her youth helping her parents, which increases her self esteem even as Dorothy offers counter arguments.

    The second Family of Honor tale is an engaging Amish community novel that Ella keeps focused as a unique intriguing protagonist who struggles with a lack of confidence when it comes to relationships and social interactions. The support cast is three dimensional especially the leads of The Caregiver return (with the health issue), Loyal supported by his extended family, and fascinating Dorothy; the latter is some ways steals the show (no giveaways). Readers will enjoy Ella finds her groove, maybe.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2