Customer Reviews for

The Protector's War (Emberverse Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

WHY CAN'T I GET THIS ON THE NOOK???????????

ONLY BOOK IN THE SERIES NOT AVAILABLE ON THE NOOK. COME ON PEOPLE. I'VE EMAILED B&N, I'VE EMAILED THE PUBLISHER, I'VE B*TCHED ON THE NOOK FORUMS, I'VE EVEN EMAILED THE AUTHOR, AND IT'S BEEN A YEAR OF TRYING TO GET SOMEONE TO LOOK AT WHY THE FULL E-BOOK FOR THIS ISN'T AV...
ONLY BOOK IN THE SERIES NOT AVAILABLE ON THE NOOK. COME ON PEOPLE. I'VE EMAILED B&N, I'VE EMAILED THE PUBLISHER, I'VE B*TCHED ON THE NOOK FORUMS, I'VE EVEN EMAILED THE AUTHOR, AND IT'S BEEN A YEAR OF TRYING TO GET SOMEONE TO LOOK AT WHY THE FULL E-BOOK FOR THIS ISN'T AVAILABLE. THE SAMPLE IS, BUT NOT THE FULL NOVEL! COME ON! THE ENTIRE REST OF THE EMBERVERSE SERIES IS BUT NOT THIS ONE!

COME ON! SOMEBODY PULL THEIR FINGERS OUT AND LOOK AT THIS!

posted by Annoyed57 on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Wha?

So why are all the other books in this series available for the nook EXCEPT for #2? Makes zero sense. Got hooked on book 1 and can't immediately download book 2, but hey feel free to skip on over to 3.

posted by Confusedus on March 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Book three of my favorite series!

    Huge fan of this series! As a former SCA member, it fulfills some fantasies, while at the same time being an excellent social commentary on the precarious balance of 'civilization'. Also, this series is a HUGE improvement over Stirling's earlier Nantucket series a far superior work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Outstanding! No other way to put it!

    This book kept me into the folds of its story for hours and hours! Plenty of action and a fantastic tie-in of other parts of the world that have also gone through the change. You see Signe Havel's true colors! And The protector is clearly more evil than I ever thought! Seeing how Astrid and Eilir have grown up is as intresting as seeing how the geographic area has changed in the Willamette Valley. Anyone that didnt like this book must not have been reading it at all! I highly recomend this title!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic apocalyptic thriller

    It has been nine years since the Change has rendered technology obsolete. There is no more electricity, guns are obsolete and the world has devolved into a feudal society. In the Wilmette Valley in Oregon Michael Havel¿s Bear Killers, a tribal community, and Clan McKenzie led by Juniper McKenzie have organized the people into a farming community, giving land and livestock in return for loyalty to the leaders.................. Norman Arminger is their greatest enemy who loathes what they have built. He is a former medieval historian who has formed a society based on Norman culture which includes the building of castles that will protect his people in the coming war. In a stroke of luck, Arminger¿s daughter is taken by clan McKenzie. Sir Nigel, who helped King Charles bring England back from the brink of extinction, had to leave his country in a hurry because he dared to question his liege¿s decisions. He makes his home with Clan McKenzie who the beautiful leader believes will play an important role in the upcoming war.......................... It¿s hard to imagine a world where something destroyed Earth¿s technology which resulted in the deaths of billions of people due to famine, fire and plague. Yet S.M. Stirling places such an apocalyptical event on human scale so readers get a picture of what such a world be like. This is a dark gritty world yet the people are determined to rebuild and cooperate to ensure their survival. The villain in this exciting and well constructed work of speculative fiction is the type of that emerges whenever a crisis allows him to seize control of events. Readers will eagerly await the next work in the stunning series........... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2