Customer Reviews for

A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    I had to read this book for a middle school asignment. I thought it was very good and just about anyone would enjoy this marvelous book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Loved it when I was young, love it now

    I fell in love with this book when I first read it in middle school, even though I HATED anything to do with history. I bought it for my nook in a fit of nostalgia and found out it works on a more adult level, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    I loved the book. Although the task of telling Eleanor's story i

    I loved the book. Although the task of telling Eleanor's story is not an easy one, the author was able to make the book both informative and entertaining. I loved the strange concepts of heaven, hell, and the afterlife "admissions process" that this book introduced. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Absolutely loved this book.  Amazing history, but Konigsburg mak

    Absolutely loved this book.  Amazing history, but Konigsburg makes it special with the way she words it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    No Point to the Book

    This book is based on Middle Ages Europe where Queen Eleanor reigned in France and England, as well as the Aquitaine after her father, mother, and brother died. She is a very sassy woman, and this book can be fairly funny if you will read her autobiography first. I personally did not like it, but you may if historical fiction is your taste. I found there to be no point to the book, and the ending was pretty obvious. I would definitaly NOT recommend this book to non-history buffs, but for you history buffs out there, sure take a crack at it. You may find it interesting enough, and I may sound crazy, but you are listening to a historical fiction HATER. Historical Fiction is not my field of interest. Please read my recommended titles!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    It was awsome

    This book was a read again. I had to read it for a progect and thoght it was a great book. It is not that hard to understand and is not a suspence book, but it is a page turner. It is educational but at the same time enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    A remarkable find

    I first read an earlier edition of this book about four years ago (when I was still in gradeschool). Today during english, we discussed the life of Eleanor of Aqcuitaine. I remembered this book and simply had to find it. The fact that the memory of this book remained with me for that long simply goes to show how skillfully it was written. I learned much about Eleanor, and am currently ordering a copy for myself because I feel it is one of the best books I have ever read. If you are interested in Eleanor but do not want a difficult book to read or understand, I suggest this book. If you want a book that provides life and insight, along with humour, into the life of Eleanor, I suggest reading this book. Enjoy :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    A GREAT HISTORICAL FICTION BOOK!

    If you like historial fiction, queen eleanor of aquitaine, or are just looking for a reeeeeeeally good book, pick this one!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    This is a great book........

    this is a great book and very interesting. how she changes during the book but a little stays the same. You have just got to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    This was a really kewl book!

    this was a very interesting book and for once, this was the kinda book that was actually fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    Good book!!!

    This is a good book. We are reading it for my English class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    a reviewer

    you learned a lot about history in an enthusiastic and delightful way, from many people's perspectives. I recommend this to everybody. You don't even realize how much you've learned until you' ve finished the book. You learn so much in a fun way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    A Sassy Taste of Queen Eleanor

    This humorus novel about the life of Queen Eleanor is most enjoyable. I read it in English class and proved to be really interesting! And after you read it, I strongly suggest that you watch the movie 'The Lion in The Winter.' Our class did, and it goes really well with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1