Customer Reviews for

Proven Guilty (Dresden Files Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 420 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(311)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 426 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Jim Butcher does it again!

    Very good book! Jim Butcher does an excellent job at character depth and story integration between books. You feel as if you not only relate to Harry Dresden, but you "know" him personally. All authors can't pull it off as subtly as Mr. Butcher. Next it is "White Night".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Proven Guilty, the Dresden Files, Book 8

    Harry Dresden, Warden of the White Council of Wizards, is sent in search of black magic practitioners, and finds himself not only fighting horror movie monsters, but Charity too! He is aided by the Lady of Summer and her Knight, Murphy, and of course Bob, as he discovers that something or someone is using them. Everyone is being played, but to what end? Harry continues to fight in the ongoing war against the vampires of the Red Court, save the life of Molly, Michael's oldest from Winter and the White Council, and resist the temptations of Lasciel. Can he do all that when his power is all tapped out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    Proven Guilty hits a homerun! Harry Dresden crime fighting wizzard and Chicago's holy man keeps the bad guys on the run!

    Jim Butcher once again provides hours of reading pleasure with an ongoing evolution of Harry Dresden's personality and growth in the supernatural. One can almost identify with Harry and his own interpersonal struggles to make sense of his life. One can almost also wish for the supernatural powers growing in Harry to defend our own existence and forge through our every day lives! The prince of Light once again defends his city and family and friends from the bad guys and with thrilling accord. The Dresden classics are books one can reread and enjoy often always waiting for the next thrilling book to be created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Remember to go in order

    Proven Guilty was an excellent addition to the Dresden Files. As a stand alone book, though, it would seem that Butcher is pulling away from that particular aspect of the series. This I feel, is all for the good. Harry begins to open up more as a character as the series progresses, and in Proven Guilty you start to see his overall character downshift into presumably what Butcher envisions him to eventually be. The book is fluff, and extremely difficult to discuss with anyone not actively reading the series. It would also seem that Butcher's copy-writers are slacking off a bit. My grammer and grasp of punctuation is by no means proffessional, but on the other hand, i'm not being published. All in all a good book. I have read it multiple times since i purchased it, and will likely read it a few more as the series progresses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Harry, My Hero!

    I'm a huge fan of Harry Dresden! Harry always seems to find trouble, or it seems to always find him. This book involves many different factions & lots of fast paced action. It's also good to see one of Harry's old flames enter into the picture again. Always exciting & interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    Too good to put down, literally. Like super-glue.

    This book is the best of the Dresden Files series. Butcher is a genius in his writing. I'd baught the 7th and 8th of the Dresden Files a few months ago, but didn't have time to read them. I started Dead Beat on Thursday at school, it was finished by Saturday, then I picked up Proven Guilty. The book was opened at about 4pm and closed again by 6pm of Sunday. I literally couldn't put it down, and when I did, I was overcome by wave of sad and emptyness. I highly suggest this book, because it's one of the best I've ever read, but on the other hand, it's not fun to finish. Now I have to bribe Butcher's nephew into getting me a paperback copy of White Knight. I. Need. My. Fix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Just made more questions didn't answer many

    i love this series and with every new installment my addiction grows! IN this new installment i felt there weren't many questions answered if any and if anything a whole new breed of questions formed in my mind after reading this book. though on the subject of the ScFi series on the tele i must say it doesn't do the book justice but its a new series and i am hoping as it grows older it matures and follows the book a bit more closly. my advise would be to make the producers, actors, writters and any one else invovled read the series. and if possible get Jim Butcher's opinion on everything and count it heavly. just my opinion though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Fans must check out Dresden Files on Sci-Fi

    I began reading this series out of curiousity, a fan of werewolves, vampuires, and wizards, i read the back cover of Storm Front and immediatley bought the first two books. I just finished Proven Guilty and the character development, the thickening plot lines, the relationships that have evolved have all kept my interest just as excited as a kid in a candy store. I can't wait for the next chapter, White Night, coming in April.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Don't miss a word

    Harry Dresden goes to the rescue again and finds himself. Jim Butcher is a great storyteller. You owe it to yourself to read his Dresden series. Relationships are revealed and every Dresden fan needs to catch up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Quality has been maintained! An author who knows the formula.

    What can I say that I haven't said before? The series has yet (and I hope, never will) to disappoint. Butcher has the formula for keeping his readers riveted. The characters development, the timing, pace and intrigue are par flawless. And like his other books, it can stand alone or entice you to pick up the other books in the storyline. There are many possibilities for the main character, Harry Dresden. He has a new charge there are hints that one of his closest allies and friends might be retiring from hero work, he still needs to find a new knight for the sword, forged of one the nails used to crucify J.C., or a new owner for it they could be one in the same. There is also his involvment with the Summer and Winter Courts and thier unknown threat. And finally he will probably not only have to be on gaurd from the Red Court but from a (possibly) newly aquired enemy, the Merlin himself. Yes, the story for Harry Dresden is far from over and the entertainment value is even further from needling out. Don't believe me? Pick up a copy sometime. .....Dresden as a mentor. Of a female teen no less...lol Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Great series, but not the best book of the series

    Proven Guilty is the latest installment in the DRESDEN FILES, a series about Harry Dresden, the 'only wizard in the Chicago phone book'. Reluctantly a member of the wizard white Council, Harry and his sidekick Bob-the talking-skull get involved in the vampire-wizard war. Normal, since Harry was the catalyst for it in a previous volume, but complicated as he learns to deal with the political ramifications of being a member of the White Council. Tied in somehow is the daughter of his close associate Michael who leads Harry into investigating a rash of phobopages (creatures thriving on fear) at a horror film festival. With a great sense of humor Butcher writes believably about being the lone-character out in a group and divided loyalties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Okay read

    My first Harry Dresden book was Dead Beat. I picked it up because I liked the cover. It was okay. Harry is a bit of a wuss for my liking. I purchased books one thru Proven Guilty to find out more about him and to see how naive this character was in the beginning and if he gets better. He doesn't. He just seems to be too naive, and too much of a cry-baby for a grown wizard. How old is Harry Dresden supposed to be?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Great read

    I am a big fan of the Harry Dresden books and this last one didn't let me down! Jim Butcher's characters are ever evolving and new surprises are always on the next page. I love how he uses real events and people in his books. All you scifi convention fans will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Dresden Files

    All in all, an excellent addition to the Jim Butcher's Dresden Files. This novel addresses many of the issues Harry's supporters are desperate to know more about, but raises new questions in its place. As in the other Dresden novels, the lines between right and wrong are often blurred, making the morals of the story far closer to the real world than many want to accept. Everything we have come to expect from Jim and more. I highly reccomend this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Unique and spellbinding urban fantsy

    Although Harry Dresden, the only wizard who outed himself, has been at odds with the White Council of Wizards, he finds himself in the position of being a regional Warden. The war with the Red Court vampires has decimated the ranks of the wizards and every full powered one is needed to protect mortals from the supernatural. Harry, like every other wizard, is wondering why Faerie hasn¿t gone to war with the Red Court since they entered the land of the Faerie without permission.----- Harry has contacts in both courts of Faerie and is asked by his superior to find out why at least the Winter Court hasn¿t gone to war. Harry eventually learns that the White Court wants to go to war against the vampires but has to protect its borders from the Winter Court. Harry also has to find out why supernatural entities from Nevernever wearing the faces of monsters from horror films are entering the mortal realm and feeding off the fear of humans. When one of the entities take someone Harry cares for into the Winter Court, he and his allies risk their lives to bring her back.----- Mix elements of fantasy, mystery and horror and readers will have an idea how unique and spellbinding the Dresden novels really are. PROVEN GUILTY is one of the best books in the series because as much action as there is in the book, the protagonist with his vulnerability makes the audience care about him and want him to find happiness in his personal life and peace in his professional one. Jim Butcher is one of the best authors writing urban fantasy today with his refreshingly original tales.----- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 426 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22