Customer Reviews for

Providence

Average Rating 4.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Love!

This series is a mix of twilight, mix of fifty...loved it

posted by 1937892 on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not My Favorite

I bought this book because I loved Beautiful Disaster, and I liked the way that Jamie McGuire writes. I wasn't really impressed with this book. I didn't feel like there was enough interaction between Nina and Jared before Nina fell for him. The intense feelings that she...
I bought this book because I loved Beautiful Disaster, and I liked the way that Jamie McGuire writes. I wasn't really impressed with this book. I didn't feel like there was enough interaction between Nina and Jared before Nina fell for him. The intense feelings that she had for him so soon after meeting him just didn't really seem believable to me.
I wasn't expecting this book to be of such a supernatural nature and I think that is what really threw me while reading it. Maybe I was just hoping for something a lot like Beautiful Disaster since I loved it so much!

posted by tigereyes7310 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    I enjoyed this story. Very easy read. Good character development

    I enjoyed this story. Very easy read. Good character development although at times it felt while reading the story that there was so much information about Jared and Nina's love story then the author would throw in bits and pieces about the bad guys to keep it suspensful...it was like, oh yeah, we are fighting bad guys and a fight would ensue and then back to the love story drama.... the college friends are cute and Ryan is likeable enough. I will read the next book, I find the story entertaining enough to keep me reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it.

    I liked this book. I read beautiful disaster and Loved it. This book is good just that has stuff from fifty shades of grey and twilight Not bad. Read it fast. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    This book was extremely well written. I am a huge fan of Jamie M

    This book was extremely well written. I am a huge fan of Jamie McGuire and believe his love stories are instence, beautiful things. Beautiful Disaster is one of my all time favorite books so when I picked up this book I had very high expectations. Overall this book did meet most of my expectations. I loved the plot because it contained a sense of mystery that kept you on the edge of your seat. The part that got me was the love story between Jared and Nina. Though intense and beautiful, it was very rushed. One second they met, the next Nina was head over heels for Jared. I thought this part was a very unrealistic and annoyed me to no end. The other thing was that Nina became slightly obsessed with Jared, continually spending all her time with him. It was pointed out in the book by Ryan slightly, but no one payed much attention to him. In the end, I enjoyed the story and would recommend it if you can overlook these small problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    I loved this story! If you can get past the editing errors, it r

    I loved this story! If you can get past the editing errors, it really is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Excellent!

    Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Providence

    Pretty good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    really good

    I started reading the 1st book and before I knew it I read all 3. I even caught myself smiling at times. I really got into the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    I loved this book! However, the lovey dovey stuff draws out much

    I loved this book! However, the lovey dovey stuff draws out much too long.It tends to drag out in the middle. It needed a bit more action, alot more of the supernatural, and less whinning. Don't get me wrong, it was still an excellent read, but my ideal book has more suspense and creepiness to it. I will definately be buying Requiem, the next book in the series. I am hoping there will be more of the things I mentioned in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Great Read! Couldn't put it down...

    A great book, great story line, keeps you wanting to read more. I couldn't put it down. I can't wait to see what happens in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Really good!

    I have enjoyed all of Jamie McGuire's books. This was a good one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Super Novel; 4.5 Stars!

    *4.5 Stars* I really liked this novel. I bought it solely based on the strength of the first work I read by McGuire, "Beautiful Disaster", which I adored and gave a six star on my blog. (I know, I know, there is no such thing...but it's my blog; lol!)

    This is the first book in a trilogy and centers around a rich Brown University girl named Nina Grey who has recently lost her father. She immediately meets a mysterious young man in the most odd and random encounters then becomes enthralled with him, even though he remains elusive for a portion of the book. There is a secret he is keeping from her which is ultimately revealed. This is perfect for a reader who enjoys the alpha-male/protector romantic lead (this is the only type I like). There is an ongoing mystery sub-plot and interesting supporting characters. I especially enjoyed Kim and hope she is fleshed out in the next installment, "Requiem."

    In comparing this work with BD I found the pacing to be a little sporadic and not doled out in nice little chunks. BD really kept me on edge the entire read...I really loved that. "Providence" became a little "soft" or boggy in some spots but not a problem, I ran right out and purchased book 2. This book will receive a 4.5 on my blog (it is such a strong 4). Unfortunately, the half-star option is not available here! I am liking "Requiem" even more which starts out with a bang and keeps that edgy intensity McGuire is so capable [of] and great with.

    I like the angelic themes that are running so strong in YA lit presently. The caveat is: they must be well-done, with new plot twists and such. This book is well-done and if you like this book, Forgotten Souls, by Tiffany King offers another angle that is different enough to be interesting yet encompasses all the dynamics that were so terrific in this work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2