Customer Reviews for

Provoke Me (Unveiled, Book Two)

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sizzling Erotic Read

    Redonk Nutshell: Sexual tension explodes between a bookstore employee and the straight-laced manager

    I picked this up on a whim after hearing some chatter on Twitter over its hawtness. Glad I did - I really enjoyed it.

    Provoke Me is the story of Kelly and Spencer, two people that are constants in each other's lives as employer (Spencer) and employee (Kelly) at a small family owned bookstore. Their relationship has always been professional and friendly, though they've both secretly shared a mutual attraction to each other. When Kelly's friend encourages her to along on a trip to a sex club, Kelly is surprised to see Spencer's familiar face. The sparks fly, and before long these two end up forging onward. They each consider their relationship to be a physical one, nothing too permanent or emotional. But of course, things don't go the way the initially planned, leaving them both to sort out their emotional baggage and make decisions that could make or break their relationship.

    Provoke Me is some seriously spicy fun. Spencer and Kelly practically burn up between the pages, making this book probably one of the best erotic novels I've read this year. Some people will be turned off by it - Spencer can be a bit of a...well..a dick. Kelly is pretty headstrong and outspoken. A lot of the plot starts and circulates around a sex club. So, it's probably not for everyone. But I enjoyed it. Immensely. The chemistry between these two is phenomenal.

    Provoke Me by Cari Quinn, 7/22/11
    Rating: B

    Romance: 2/5 Raunch: 5/5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED this book!!!

    My Review:
    Hot, sexy romance set in a bookstore? Yep, this book made me a happy reader. Kelly & Spencer... they have worked together at the bookstore for three years. He's her boss and they have a highly confrontational relationship for most of the time. All of that confrontation though, covers the fact that they are incredibly drawn to one another although neither one is aware of the other's feelings. Until someone leaves Kelly's PDA on Spencer's desk opened to her file of the men that she would like to have sex with...Spencer has the #10 spot on the list.

    Hoping to burn off some sexual frustration after a day spent stewing over the PDA and Kelly, Spencer heads to Kink, the local sex club. Unknown to him, Kelly is also headed there with her friend Alana (this is where Reveal Me & Provoke Me story lines overlap- very cool to see the events through another character's eyes.) Kelly recognizes Spencer's car in the parking lot and immediately starts to search him out. Things steam up really quickly from there.

    This book had everything... heartbreaking twists, hot trysts, subterfuge, corporate politics, a hot sex club, and the best setting for it all... a wonderful bookstore.

    I really liked Kelly's character. She was a cross between all-American nice girl and sexy vixen depending on her mood and how hot Spencer got her. I liked that, no matter what, she told it just like it was- no games, no doubts. She didn't let her pride stand in the way of her honesty. I really liked how she dealt with Spencer even when he was at his lowest point. She didn't hide anything behind emotion- just put it out there and then if she needed to, she fell apart later. She stayed so strong in the face of adversity (but it's okay, I was crying enough for both of us.)

    Spencer is a totally straight-laced corporate type. He makes no secret that he is married to the bookstore and that it is his total focus. His completely controlled persona is what makes it so outstanding to read when he loses control...a lot of the time around Kelly. He gets so emotional about, around, and for her...it's a beautiful thing!

    A really gorgeous love story. I love both Kelly & Spencer and cannot wait to see more of them in the future additions to this wonderful series. I hear that there's going to be 4 more books (at least) based around the bookstore. Yippeee!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Interesting Read

    Slightly geeky and extremely sexy Spencer Galvin has a problem named Kelly Crossman. His attraction to his employee makes him want to break all his personal rules about inter-office relationships. He resists her, even after catching her in a hot solo session in his office, until a chance meeting at a sex club turns into a night where passion rules.

    This book is chock-full of passionate love scenes that move the plot forward, although the missing PDA was more of a distraction for the reader than a true plot device to drive conflict into their relationship. While Spencer and Kelly have some of the hottest chemistry I've seen on paper, especially in the sex club scenes, their conflict-laden relationship made me wonder if they could really have a happy ending.

    This book is the second in the series. Some scenes run concurrently to that book (the club being shut down by the police) but both female main characters aren't in the scene together. While I highly recommend picking up the other book, it isn't absolutely necessary for maximum enjoyment.

    With scorching love scenes and a sweet HFN ending for this couple, Ms. Quinn has another winner with Provoke Me

    Originally posted at Whipped Cream Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Great read!

    I passed this book by several times before adding it to my library, thinking it would be boring being set around a book store. I am glad to say how wrong I was. Cary Quinn is my new favorite writer and I look forward to reading all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    This book was H-O-T HOT! Holy moly! So here's the run down...

    This book was H-O-T HOT! Holy moly!


    So here's the run down...Spencer, a sexy, controlling, workaholic, has had the hots for his sarcastic, modestly sexy, employee, Kelly from her first day at the Book Nook three years ago.


    Since college, Kelly has wanted to break away from her inner good girl and made a list of her top ten men to, uhhh, "cuddle," to help her do just that. Once she meets Spencer, she immediately makes him her number one - and if she can't have him...she can at least fantasize about him...at home, in her dreams, on the couch in his office... ;)



    I really...REALLY enjoyed this book. The beginning was a little bit typical - boy likes girl, girl likes boy and everybody but the two of them are aware of it. But in true Cari Quinn style, we soon get wrapped into a delicious, sexy, moving relationship between two real characters.


    Kelly is my type of chick - we would totally be cool. She's a book enthusiast who has a knack for design and I love the quirkiness of her character. She's oober sarcastic and literally made me laugh out loud multiple times with her needling of Spencer. Moreover, I appreciated the control she had over her feelings. Kelly isn't a cry-about-it kinda gal, and man, I LOVE it! Even when she does get emotional, it's in the right places, showing natural openness and honesty.


    Spencer's made some choices that have shaped his life and influenced his work ethic but still were necessary, as are all cruddy choices, for his growth. I loved how callus Spencer was. It really fit and made sense not only in his relationship with Kelly, but with his familial relationships as well.


    The sex club was prevalent in the beginning of the book (and boy was it steamy!) continuing occasionally throughout but the one-on-ones between Spencer and Kelly were just as tantalizing, allowing us to make sense of a how this world could REALLY work - although most of us only fantasize about it.


    As the issues arise in their relationship, the reader can definitely see where Quinn is leading us, it's the waiting to get there that caused so much angst for me. I literally cried on and off throughout the last four chapters - which was super awkward because the UPS guy came and knocked on the door with my newest book purchase...and here I am, wiping tears, sniffling, signing for another book while my two puppies are freaking because they can't quite see who's outside.


    Anywho, I would most DEFINITELY recommend this book to anyone who loves a steamy, real-life romance with real flaws, honest writing, and heart-catching characterization.


    **Special thank you to Cari for sending me this incredible book. It was a true pleasure to read.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Awesome book

    Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Read

    Reveiwed By~Ashleigh
    Review Copy Provided By~Publisher

    Reader Advisory: In a couple of scenes, Kelly and Spencer test “the more the merrier” theory.

    Review: For Kelly Crossman, The Book Nook is her whole life, until she meets Spencer Galvin. While he is her boss and that should mean off limits to anyone who wants to keep their job, Kelly just can’t seem to stop lusting after him. After an interlude in his office after hours, Kelly is beyond tied to him in ways that she never thought possible. But when the light of day dawns, will Spencer want the same things that she does, or will he look at her as nothing more than another bad decision?

    Spencer isn’t like other men, he has a dirty secret, and the idea of others finding out about it is something that could just about break him. While Kelly Crossman makes his blood boil, letting her in is something that Spencer just can’t seem to do without help. Will Kelly help make every fantasy for Spencer come true, or will she make him regret opening up to her?

    While I haven’t read the first story in this series, I can say that I now have it on my TBB list. This was a wonderful story that not only showed off the character development of Spencer and Kelly, but also really pulled me into the overall drama of this relationship. I have read several other books by Cari Quinn in the past, and I can say that this book is one of the best that she has written. The story drew me in from the first page and kept me enthralled until the last, I was actually sad to see the story end but I also can’t wait to see if there will be more books in this series. You will not be sorry if you choose to pick this one up!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1