Customer Reviews for

Prozac Nation: Young and Depressed in America

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    one of my favorite books

    prozac nation is by far one of the best books i've ever read. this book is not about whining or making you feel sorry for the author like i've read in other reviews. it's about someone who has struggled most of their life through depression and addiction and takes the time to take the reader in depth into of every aspect of her life. i read this book a few years ago and it is still one of my favorite books. once you start reading you can't stop. this book itself is a drug. you will be hooked instantly. you will find yourself ignoring phone calls food and sleep to get to the next page. This book should be read by everyone. but i think someone who has experienced depression or addiction at some point in their life will appreciate this book even more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Fantastic Reading

    Mental illness in 21st century American is a topic that is still not discussed and still holds onto many stigmas. If you suffer from depressions or any form of mental illness this book will be a comfort to you. If you know someone that suffers this book will be enlightening. Ms. Wurtzel has done an excellant job of education through her story written in lay terms. This should be required reading; too many people suffer in silence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    Depressed or not, you'll relate to this

    Possibly one of the best pieces of work I've ever read, Elizabeth Wurtzel grabs you and takes you under and forces you to feel what she's going through. An amazing writer she is, and continues to inspire and comfort those going through her situations. You will not look at the world--or your own life--the same after reading this book. It's life changing, but a good change at that. She will leave you wondering and wanting more. I definitely recommend this book to everyone who has some kind of adversity, especially troubled young teens who need an escape and a reassurance of not being alone. You definitely dont feel alone when you read this masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    Incredible.

    Wurtzel is absolutely amazing. Her work is exactly the pain alot of young is going through right now. Including myself.. I would recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    AWESOME!

    This book is great. Wurtzel is just a very talented writer; as you're reading this book she makes you feel as if you are present at the scene. She's very descriptive and also makes it easier for you to realize how difficcult it is to go through depression and how people like this need to be taken care of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    BRILLIANT

    Elizabeth Wurtzel is a genius! This book just said everything I feel and some people might call it self-absorbed, but only those who cannot understand depression, or who have never been depressed. It surrounds the author and feels like a trip through her mind, an unpleasant one it may be, but it never stops being compelling and above all real. The conclusion is very poignant and the entire book is very thought provoking. Some people will hate Elizabeth, others will love her, I personally fit into the latter category, because she is so human and somehow manages to keep my interest throughout the whole book. The description does not do any justice to the experience so READ IT NOW!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    Worth Reading

    For those that have been through her pain, Elizabeth makes you feel it all over again and gives you so much to be proud of when you realize you have surpassed what she has surpassed. A book worth reading for anyone who has been there done that, for anyone who knows someone who has been there done that, or anyone who doesn't know but should. Worth reading... again and again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    accruate description of depression and what your life is like

    for anyone who has ever wondered about depression or felt alone in their feelings this book is a must read. Having lived through deppresion both myself and my family, i feel that this book is an accurate depitcation of what goes on and how it affects oneslife. the book was difficult to put down, it maintained my interest all they way through to the point that i was upset when it was done. the author makes many great and profound points that everyone can relate to, even if you are not depressed or interested in depression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    profound, genius, thought provoking, you'll love it

    This book is an amazing and accurate journey through depression. Elizabeth Wurtzel is an excellent writer who gets your mind thinking and going, you will never want to put this book down. I never imagined i would read a book where the auther would be able to describle so perfectly how i felt and the thoughts that were in my mind, some that not even i can describe. so many parts made me stop and think, it all brought new understanding to a topics prevelent in everyones lives. I related so much to this book and i think anyone depressed or not would also be able to. i recomend to everyone especially if you are trying to understand your own or someone elses depression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2004

    very interesting

    I really did enjoy this book. My main intention was to buy the book because Christina Ricci was on the cover, but when i read the prologue i thought that her writing style was so interesting. The prologue is the best part and then chapter 1 makes the transition to the beginning of her life, and the end is her present state. The only thing i did not like was that the book never went back to the prologue and she cries too much, but i guess that being depressed. The first 6 chapters are great but then afterward the book slows down and becomes somewhat less interesting. I did really enjoy the book but the ending came so sudden(once you read you will know what i mean). Awesome Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    not alone

    i absolutely loved this book, i just couldn't stop reading. i could totally relate to elizabeth; before i read this book i thought i was the only one who cut shapes or words into there body , but im not alone, read it,please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    BEST BOOK EVER

    OMG ONCE I STARTED READING THIS BOOK I COULDNT PUT IT DOWN IT WAS LIKE I WAS READING THE STORY OF MY LIFE IN SOME PARTS I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE WHO IS DEPRESSED MY FRIENDS AND BF HAVE READ IT AND NOW UNDERSTAND MY DEPRESSION I USED TO FEEL LIKE NO ONE NEW WHAT I WAS GOING THROUGH TILL I RED THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    never read, but suffered from depression

    I have never read this book but can imagine the things discussed. I suffered from severe depression though not to the point of suicide or hurting myself or anyone else. anyone who says this book is about a person talking about themselves, they have never experienced depression. it is an illness that takes everything from you, causing sadness, insomnia, physical symptoms that your body uses to express other emotions, and fatigue. if you are going to criticize this book and have not suffered depression, put yourself in our shoes, in the books shoes, and you'll understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2003

    AWESOME BOOK

    Prozac Nation was one of the best books I have ever read. It was honest and realistic. Humorous in some parts, and sad in others. I read this book in 8th grade, but I recommend it to grades 9 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    Very Powerful Read

    Being depressed myself, it was very difficult for me to pick up this book. I figured it would be the same preaching that I'd recieved in other books about depression, but Elizabeth's true and all-too-accurate depiction of what its like to be depressed made me feel as though, at times, I, myself had written the book. This is a great book for those looking to understand what its like to be depressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Ever been depressed?

    If you've ever been depressed - seriously depressed - you will understand everything that Wurtzel speaks of in this memoir even if you weren't as low as she was. Wurtzel speaks with brutal honesty about what a selfish illness depression is. For those who commented on her preoccupation with herself: put yourself in her shoes for a second. Wurtzel never claims that depression is a 'giving' illness. It does nothing but take, take, take! The very nature of the illness requires a self-centered attitude. Even if you don't like her rambling and whining (of which I ask, 'Why are you reading a memoir about depression in the first place?') then move on and forget about the book. If you don't like her writing style, don't read anymore of her work. She's a brilliant talent - one who should be celebrated. Someone who does seek attention - and makes no bones about it - has shared with us her wisdom and personal devestation at an illness that dominated her adolescence and young adulthood. This is a great book for anyone who constantly battles depression and mental illness. It's the helplessness and hopelessness that gets us down, Wurtzel is hardly either, anymore. She's taken control of her life and career and God bless her for that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Please read this book...it explains our lives

    I couldn't put this book down. I loved it. I have gone through everything she went through, some of the things I'm still going through. I love how the book flows, she explains everything so perfectly. At some points in the book I thought she was sitting next to me and looking at my life. I was crying the whole time I read this book. Read this book. I recommend this book to people who think that depression will just 'go away'. You will truly understand what we go through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    Prozac Nation: Young and Depressed in America

    I thought the book was excellent. It describes a girls cataclysmic descent into depression and things that happen to make her sink farther into it. It described excellently what some people go through. If I had to recommend this book, I would do it in a heart beat. This book is so good, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    This book is excellent.

    Elizabeth Wurtzel is a true inspiration to anyone suffering from ANY type of addiction out there. Her writing is profound, excellent, and truly inspiring. She not only brings the reader into her life, but sucks them deep into her formerly-depressed psyche. I recommend this memoir to anyone who has ever felt like the world is simply too bleak to live in, for this book will surely help cure everyone's own 'black wave'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2003

    In response to Maggie M

    I have yet to read this book, but I have read many others like it. I suffer from depression and bipolar disorder. You obviously know nothing about either- if you did you would know that items of value are superficial and mean nothing in the eyes of those who are depressed. It's in our brain to be depressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3