Customer Reviews for

Psycho: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2001

    Better Than The Movie

    Bring up 'Psycho' in a conversation and more often than not people rave about 'the shower scene' and how courageous Hitchcock was to kill his heroine in the first half-hour. Guess what folks? If it wasn't for Robert Bloch, Hitchcock wouldn't have had a chance to be so 'bold' and 'cutting edge'! Bloch's source material is just as important as Hitchcock's movie and Joseph Stefano's script (Stefano, by the way, considered Bloch's book to be just another throwaway, hardboiled, pulp story. Talk about gratitude!), and I think it is better than the movie. The book keeps you on your toes throughout. Granted, if you are familiar with the movie, it is hard to be surprised at the ending. But if you are new to Psycho...wow, are you in for a treat. Bloch is one of the masters at suspense, and he allows you to get into the character's heads. You come to know them and understand why they act the way they do. Do yourself a favor and pick this book up. At the very least it will help you forget Gus Van Sant and that abomination of a 'remake'!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Scary as HECK!

    In terms of suspense, this is a book of Stephen King proportions. After reading this, I can honestly say I'll never look at a roadside motel the same way again. Norman Bates has found his rightful place among equally famous men, such as Freddy Krueger and Jason Voorhees.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Great

    The shower scene got to be the since the movie came this changed the horror friansche to what we know now

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Creepy

    Thats how they made bates hotel on netflix

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Wtf!!!!!??

    This book is amazingly good!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    M Rally want but... Really want

    My mom is like nooooooooo!!!! But heard that it is a good book
    :(

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Psycho is fantastic!!!

    This book is very entertaining! I read it every summer and cannot put it down. Robert Bloch can keep one on the end of their seat for hours!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Bes movieever

    I LOVED the movue and cant wait to read the book

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    A true clasic

    Psycho, is the only book I've ever read where I knew the ending, and still expected more! Although it was written nearly 50 years ago, it is still fresh and alive!! It certainly evokes emotion. Never a dull moment. Robert Bloch is the guy who introduced the idea that monsters didn't have to be supernatural they could be right next door. He did that with this book, and brought in a whole new concept for horror fiction writers. If you love realistic horror read this book. I wanted to read the second part so bad, I bought it at a used bookstore today. I don't know how this part will end, as I have not yet seen the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Amazing read forsure

    This is a must read book crazy good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Great

    Quick read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Super scary !!!

    Even scarier than the movie !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    It's all in the title.

    Psycho is a very well thought out and planned out story. Even as I write this I'm looking over my back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2001

    PSYCHO--Robert Bloch's brainchild, and the book that started it all!!

    Robert Bloch's PSYCHO is a masterpiece of modern terror, and the book that spawned Alfred Hitchcock's film version. Characters brilliantly woven, settings vividly realistic, and a theme that is so creepy, it scared people out of taking showers everyday. Bloch is a master at his best. Norman Bates, proprietor of the Bates Motel, has a secret. And if you stop in for the night, you'll be dying to hear it-- literally. Stop in and see for yourself. Mary Crane did-- and she is one of the many satisfied customers who-- can't tell you anymore, you have to read it to believe it in this classic shocker that started it all!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Five stars for Psycho

    Psycho is so exciting that you even can´t stop reading. It´s full of surprises.You shouldn´t read it if your nerves aren´t the strongest!Maybe you get a nervous breakdown. The book is about a fad overgrown Mama´s Boy! Have fun reading it.We promise you won´t expect the ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Best book I've ever read

    Hi, this is Christopher. I want to tell you something about 'Psycho'. Bloch's novel is quite a good story. I've read it in some days, because it's a very exciting story. Norman Bates is a interesting character, which is easy to read. The story based on a real story. That's the reason why it's so interesting. But if you want to know, then read for yourself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Psycho - you won't be able to stop reading

    Psycho is one of the best english books I've ever read. It's exciting from the first chapter on 'til the end of the book. You will hardly recognice time passing by when you follow Norman Bates's absourd thoughts and fastcinating feelings. You will see through his eyes and feel like him while innocent people are killed in his motel. It is a story which seems to be real just because of the exiting way of writing. This book is easy to understand for German readers, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    Psycho was the biggest thriller I read. I'll never forget it!

    I read Psycho after watching the movie; though i knew what was going to happen I found it very frightening and and full of suspense. Norman Bates is definately one of the best horror villians ever created. And the way Robert Block is able to write throughout the story--oh, it just gives me goosebumps. And the shocking ending is really one of the most remembered moments in all of horror/literature. Block, King, and Stine are equal to me. If you like Stephen King, you'll love this book. I guaratee it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2