Customer Reviews for

Psychopath: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Interesting

    I enjoy this genre so it was what I was looking for. Overall this was a good book but it was missing that 'gripping' element, the one that makes you not want to put it down. I enjoyed the exchange between 2 of the main characters, but even still, it could have been more intense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Psychopath (Frank Clevenger #4)

    This book is crisply written. The characters are rich and well thought out. It was a page turner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Pleasant suprise

    I basically was looking for books that sounded remotely interesting one day on this website, and typed in 'Psychopath' in the search engine. This book came out, and I ordered it. It was worth it! Every once in a while, the writing gets a little technical for me, but the overall plot/story is pretty good. I would certainly recommend it, especially if you are really into psychology or serial killers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    It was OK

    it was ok if you were bored and wanted to do someting. But if i had a choice of several books i wouldn't pick this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    Better than first book

    This was like Columbo, you know who is the criminal, but it was very interesting along the way. I read the first book & it was obvious I'd missed something in the middle. Based on this one, I'll go back & get the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Wounded Healers and Shades of Gray

    As a therapist, I found Ablow's novel to be uniquely authentic. He dares to go where others, i.e., White and Kellerman, fail to honestly go, as many therapists are drawn to this profession to try to understand and to heal their own demons. Ablow's latest protagonist, Johnathan, has full depth and dimension in the dialetics of his compassion and humanity, and the ghastly flaws of his damaged self. Ablow's Clevenger novels (especially the early ones) are raw and edgy, but not crafted for sensationalism, rather to illuminate the darkest areas of our souls, the areas that stay dark because we are afraid to talk about them. Ablow's character Frank Clevenger gives wounded healers permission to be human, to struggle, to be able to help others despite their woundedness. Ablow's latest is an intriguing and thought provoking novel, with it's many shades of gray, however it is much more mainstream (not as raw and edgy) as his first Clevenger novels. One can only hope for more along the lines of those early works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Another Outstanding Clevenger Novel

    This is an outstanding book. Ablow has taken his experience and knowledge as a forensic psychologist and allowed us to see the world through the eyes of a tortured serial killer. I found this author with his release of Compulsion, and I'm hooked. He's on my 'must read' list from here on out, and, if you like the psychological thrillers, you'll appreciate his writing as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    Compelling and Exciting!

    I am new to the thriller/crime genre but I really enjoyed this book! Ablow really gets inside the mind of a serial killer. It seems he's had some experience, too - Ablow is actually a forensic psychiatrist himself. It is really interesting to see how he fleshed out the characters of both the killer and the forensic psychiatrist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating and exciting medical thriller

    He travels the highways of America killing when the compulsion becomes unbearable but he always gets his victims to trust him and talk to him so he can get inside their defenses before he delivers the fatal blow. He is known as the Highway Killer and the FBI credit him with at least fourteen known homicides even though he believes he killed sevnteen people, men and women, young and old with no discernible pattern. <P>The FBI is getting desperate so they call in forensic psychiatrist Frank Clevenger as consultant. This resonates with the Highway Killer and he engages Clevenger in a dialog played out in the New York Times for the world to see. It is an interesting but potentially deadly cat and mouse game these two individuals play because they were both victims of parental abuse as children and they are both practicing psychiatrists. <P>Keith Ablow does the impossible by making the audience feel genuine sympathy for a serial killer tormented by his demons and his inability to stop from killing even though he knows it is wrong. As a doctor he has saved the lives of many children in crises but he can not heal himself. PSYCHOPATH is a fascinating and exciting medical thriller about a tormented person who wears the mask of sanity on the outside, but inside is a tortured soul who wants to be stopped. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1