Customer Reviews for

Ptolemy's Gate (Bartimaeus Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by K. Osborn Sullivan for TeensReadToo.com

    He's back! But this time around, the smart-mouthed djinni, Bartimaeus, is exhausted from too much work and not enough time to recover in his netherworld home. It's like they always say, "All work and no play makes Bartimaeus a dull supernatural being." Although, in this case, he's anything but dull. He's tired, weak, sharp-tongued, homicidal, and insulting. But definitely not dull. <BR/><BR/>In this third installment of THE BARTIMAEUS TRILOGY, the hero is again a djinni who has little respect for humans and even less interest in their petty wars and government squabbles. The magicians who rule England in this series of books insist on summoning Bartimaeus and scores of other demons to fight their wars, provide magical assistance of all sorts, and generally do their bidding. The demons see this treatment as slavery, and for good reason. What would you call forced servitude for no pay under threat of intense pain? <BR/><BR/>PTOLEMY'S GATE opens to find poor Bartimaeus stretched to the breaking point by his magician master, Nathaniel. A war in America is going poorly, the commoners of London are growing tired of the ruling class of magicians, and young Nathaniel is looked upon with jealousy and mistrust by his co-workers. As a result of all of these threats, Nathaniel rationalizes the need to keep Bartimaeus around to help him deal with the many problems that he faces. After a long association with the djinni, it is almost as if Nathaniel trusts his reluctant servant. And it is almost as if Bartimaeus has a shred of concern for human dealings. Almost. <BR/><BR/>PTOLEMY'S GATE is an excellent capstone to the extraordinary Bartimaeus series. I enjoyed all of these books immensely and recommend them to anyone who enjoys young adult fantasy. Like the first two books, THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND and THE GOLEM'S EYE, this one is filled with humor and excitement. These books also offer some social commentary for those who want to pay attention to such things. For example, the ruling class of magicians in these books take extreme measures to maintain their own positions, while claiming that they are really just interested in keeping the masses safe. There are resistance groups that oppose the government, and they engage in acts of terrorism to free themselves from the magicians' oppressive yoke. <BR/><BR/>The entiretrilogy is a fun-filled pleasure to read. Doubtless it would be possible to read PTOLEMY'S GATE without having read the previous two books, but I would not recommend it. There is quite a bit of background that would be missed, and the story would definitely suffer. While the first book in the series, THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND, could probably stand alone, the second two (THE GOLEM'S EYE and PTOLEMY'S GATE) should be read together. And once the last page of PTOLEMY'S GATE is turned, readers will undoubtedly wish they could summon Bartimaeus back for more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Majestic Elegance; Peak of Perfection; Greatest and Unique Fantasy Literature of All Time

    I am deeply impressed by Mr. Stroud's masterpiece work in his writing, and I sincerely applaud him for it. I myself have read it over and over again, and I am moved by some parts of the story, horrified at others, yet awed by all parts. How could Jonathan surpass this trilogy with another?; I myself personally yearn for another series, yet I know not even Stroud can exceed it with what he has already wrought about. I myself find it a fitting and wonderful conclusion, with many twists, tragedies and moments both touching and suspenseful. Stroud has clearly proven he is a master of English, yet also has a firm grasp of humor, excitement and modern society too, which is also evident and appealing. I thank Mr. Stroud for bringing this marvel to us all, and once again I applaud him for this novel and series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy To read....

    Fun and interesting characters that exist in a world where there is only one limit, imagination. Immerse yourself in a world that wraps around imagination, courage and hope.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed the whole trilogy, this book being the best of the three. Bartimaeus is so witty and clever, you can't help but smile, eager to go on to the next page.
    Jonathan Stroud ends the book so nicely. I wouldn't want it any other way. I'd say the only way you could completely hate the series is if you stopped halfway through the first book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Heart Breaking

    I abosoulty loved this book all of the way though. in the first book i wanted John and Bartimaeus to become close, and acually trust one another but that totaly went down hill in the second book. but then i came to this book and there were some touch and go moments between them, and then the very end just totaly tore my heart out. I cried none stop for at least ten minutes sobs and all because finally that bond that i thought wasn't going to ever come out came out. I in a way knew that John was going to do it but it still took me by suprise. it might not effect you in the same way, but it still is an awsome book. But it wont effect you nearly as much if you don't read the first two, so i highly advise it. any who if you have any questions Im me or e-mail me. my sn is CheeCheeCherry.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Jonathan Stroud has out done himself this time

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Beyond the Call of Duty

    This was above and beyond one of the best series I've read, up there with His Dark Materials Trilogy and The Fire Within books. Stroud was as creative with this last installment as he was with the other two, The Golem's Eye and the Amulet of Samankard. I enjoy Bartimaeus's refreshing personality and interesting footnotes, along with Nathaniel's continued fight with himself. It was magical and outstanding, with an agreeably fitting but still very saddening ending. I love Ptolemy's character also, as if put in that same position, I would also be fascinated. I'm glad of Nathaniel and Bartimaeus's accomplishments, along with Kitty's outstanding performance when doing her highest held part. I'm glad that all characters were fully developed in the end, leaving no hanging strings except for when Bartimaeus finally leaves the human world at the end. But that can be securely tied up with the imagination. Stroud did an outstanding job in which no writer could dare try to copy. His style of writing is refreshing and unique with his devilish characters and heartfelt comedic indifferences between Nathaniel and Bartimaeus. This whole Trilogy was enjoyable and well-written, and is easily and fantastically imagined. Don't ever let this book be turned into a movie. All movies ruin great books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    To nerve racking

    You know whats really nerve racking? Your typing, your spelling is atrocious (i know thats not how its spelled, but my brian is dead, and dyslexic) but seriously! Learn to type.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Wow. Amazing yet sad...

    So this was the best in the trilogy. However, I wish that there was another book abt Kitty and Nathaniel and if Kitty ever got Nathaniels last message and all that. Still tho, the ending somehow fit even tho it was sad. Spoiler alert- I find it ironic and sweet how Nat turned out to do the same thing as Ptolmy. Best in the series!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed this book. I have read it multiple times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    10 Stars! - To Person Below Me ------>

    @The Foot-Notes are there, and you really do not have to, as you say, "Find-Page". When you've tapped the Foot-Note number, it takes you to an ordered list of all the Side-Notes contained in that same chapter. From there a little temporary button displaying the word "Back" should appear. It takes you right back to the page the little number was on. Or just tap the note-number and you get redirected to the word it was next to@

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    I gave it one star due to its format on Nook. I am sure the book

    I gave it one star due to its format on Nook. I am sure the book itself is far better than one star- I haven't read the book yet- but if you plan to buy this in NOOK - you will miss out on the footnotes (where a lot of sarcasm/wit from Bartimaeus is displayed) Instead the footnotes - Bartimaeus' asides- are at the very end of the book. You can click on the footnote number, but you are forced then to 'find page' and go all the way back to where you were. Totally annoying!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Amazing! SPOILER ALERT!

    This was a truly amazing tale. Jonathan Stroud once again weaves an amazing, complex story by using just the right mixture of suspense, humor, and action.

    Nat is a busy man. As a high ranking government official, he spends most of his time being worried Britain's failing war campaigns in the Americas and Prague, and how the Empire was falling apart. He also spends time being worried about rivals, like Jane Farrar. In fact, he is so busy, he doesn't even have time to listen to Bartimaeus's pleadings for dismissal, and ends up turning what was a powerful djinni into a complaining weakling. And Bartimaeus is not pleased. It just gets even worse when Nat sends Bartimaeus on a chase around town and almost kills Bartimaeus as a result. And Quentin Makepeace ends up becoming another variable in the equation, too, with his glorified play version of PM Rupert Deveraux's ascent to "Prime-Minister-hood", part of a complicated plan formulated by a spirit in the Other Place, helped by Faquarl. And Nat will have to give up something dear to him in order to save the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Amazing series

    My only rrgret about this series is tht it had to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Nerve Racking

    This bok ios not very wel know but gives you a look into every bodies fear. Are deamons real? They are in the mind of Stroud. The best end for any griping trilogy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Love it

    Awesome. I have read it a million times

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Sjsdjd

    This book is great. Its told in a combination of 1st person and third person

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    BEAST

    Read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    I am really happy that i read this.

    I am really happy that i read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Awesome,but why do Nathaniels in books have to die?

    Okay,where to begin. Ptolomeys gate was all i could have possibly hoped for
    I read the first because the main character shared my name.h What i found was a series so amazingly good that i cried at the end. Harry potter magic is just not quite there. Great end to a great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9