Customer Reviews for

Puff, the Magic Dragon (Baf) DO NOT ORDER

Average Rating 4
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

I remember this song!!!

I remember this song, cartoon and the Peter, Paul and Mary album that the song is on. This is a great book about a classical and mythological character that I grew up with in the 1960's and 1970's. I read this book in Barnes & Noble and was so impressed that I bought ...
I remember this song, cartoon and the Peter, Paul and Mary album that the song is on. This is a great book about a classical and mythological character that I grew up with in the 1960's and 1970's. I read this book in Barnes & Noble and was so impressed that I bought it for my little boy to read with me. This book led to me explaining to my son the song and the hit group that sings it, and I even dug out the album so he could enjoy the old number. Puff the Magic Dragon is a timeless character, song and story that kids will be enjoying five-hundred years from now. We love it!

posted by Anonymous on September 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Too repetitive for me and the kids

I know the storyline but the book itself doesn't thrill me to read aloud to my kids. I feel like I should be singing it. After once or twice, my kids weren't really into it anymore.

posted by 3041884 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    I remember this song!!!

    I remember this song, cartoon and the Peter, Paul and Mary album that the song is on. This is a great book about a classical and mythological character that I grew up with in the 1960's and 1970's. I read this book in Barnes & Noble and was so impressed that I bought it for my little boy to read with me. This book led to me explaining to my son the song and the hit group that sings it, and I even dug out the album so he could enjoy the old number. Puff the Magic Dragon is a timeless character, song and story that kids will be enjoying five-hundred years from now. We love it!

    53 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fanciful for Any Age

    Puff the Magic Dragon has been life long favorite of mine and I'm now 53. I bought it for my granddaughter so she could learn the lessons of growing up as well as enjoy the characters, the story and the great CD.

    This is an absolute must for any child's library

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Too repetitive for me and the kids

    I know the storyline but the book itself doesn't thrill me to read aloud to my kids. I feel like I should be singing it. After once or twice, my kids weren't really into it anymore.

    15 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great gift, durable book, excellent for bedtime or calming children

    My 7 year old LOVES music and books on CD's! This was given to him as a gift from his grandfather. My son really enjoys having a small CD player in his room that he can put his own books on CD into and read along with and listen to music on. He has a drawer for his CD's and the books that go with them. This is one of his favorites. I also like the size of the book and it being a hardback. Some smaller paperbacks that go with CD's tend to get lost in his room (since he gets to be in charge of them) and they get bent since they tend to be smaller and thin. This one is a really nice size and was a great gift, very durable!

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    I won't be buying this book

    You got to be kidding... 11 pages long and for that price. No Thank you. Thanks for the reviews everyone.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Memories

    My Grandson started to cry when he heard the song, but the book saved the day when Jackie brought his daughter to visit Puff. Great illustrations.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Nook Book

    I am glad that I read the reviews regarding the book being so short on the nook. I have the hard cover with the CD and it was less expensive than buying the nook version. Very disappointing that the price is higher, but less quality (should be reversed!)

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    A classic story for young ones

    My two and a half year old grandson loved this gift. He listens to the disk almost non-stop, many days on his way to pre-school and loves the story over and over. He is learning all the words.

    And, it brings back great memories for grandmom too.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Puff Meets New Generation

    Puff Meets New Generation Outside, the sky was turning purple, the wind was picking up, mist was already in the air and a tornado watch was in effect. Inside the Roseville, Minn. Barnes & Noble this July, however, magic was in the air. Peter Yarrow, the co-writer and singer of the infamous 'Puff the Magic Dragon' had arrived and so had his fans. Black, white, brown, yellow, young and oldâ⿬⿠every hue and age of people imaginableâ⿬⿠crammed into the store that evening, filling all the chairs, standing alongside bookshelves and settling into the floor space to spend some time with 70 year old Yarrow, from renowned group Peter, Paul &Mary. Children danced, middle-aged adults took a trip down memory lane, singing to the familiar tunes of their childhood and clapping along. Peter, in his khakis, sneakers and brown t-shirt charmed the audience, continually inviting folks to join him on stage to sing along. Everyone awaited 'Puff the Magic Dragon,' but Yarrow threw in a number of surprises and won over the hearts and minds of everyone with his song 'Don't Laugh at Me' from Operation Respect (an organization he has been working with for a decade). 'We are together, no one feels threatened we are experiencing peace,' Peter prefaced. In 'Don't Laugh at Me,' Peter's lyrics addressed virtually every type of personâ⿬⿠fat, thin, Israeli, Palestinian, trendy, unfashionable, poor, rich, white, black, brown and moreâ⿬⿠eyes throughout the room moistened, children silently listened and rocked back and forth. And, then the magical moment that everyone had been waiting forâ⿬⿿'Puff the Magic Dragon.' Yarrow co-wrote the tune in 1959 with Lenny Lipton, while preparing to graduate from Cornell and dealing with the reality that he would have to move on to the next phase of life. And, 'no' Yarrow says, the song is not cryptic code for drug use, but rather about the process of growing up. 'It's about the sadness of growing up and about a child that has an imaginary relationship with a dragon. It's about taking our place to make the world a more humane and peaceful place,' Yarrow explained after his Roseville Barnes & Noble appearance. Yarrow credits his daughter Bethany Yarrow (known for her group Bethany and Rufus) for giving him a new lens on folk music and inspiring him to pursue the book project with Sterling Publishing. Yarrow's daughter mixes folk with modern elements, drums and other genres of music. It was while attending Bethany's concerts and getting invited to join his daughter on stage for impromptu performances that Peter discovered something new. 'The songs they were singing were traditional, but had a fresh energy and perspective.,' Peter said. 'It made me realize that I could take the songs that were important to me and give them a freshness and a vitality. Had it not been for my daughter's exploration on the new perspective on folk music, I don't think I would have considered (doing the project). It would have just been Peter, Paul and Mary without Paul and Mary now it is something special.' And as a symbol of Peter's journey as a musician and as a father, readers of the Sterling published book will find a special treat on the last page, with an image of 'Jackie Paper' as a grown up and a little girl that has appeared to befriend the dragon. 'It is symbolic of my daughter carrying on the music that I love.' Peter sang along with a stage full of children, integrating the cough that he picked up while traveling into the tune and even stopping midway to make a 'non-political' announcement about the opportunity that awaits America in November. About 200 folks lined up to give Yarrow hugs, share stories of inspiration and take photos. The tornado watch turned into a warning, forcing the crowd to move to the basement with Peter. Even with the inco

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Not worth the price

    I remember this from when i was little and was quite disappointed in how short & repetitve the book is. Find the song in some other venue if you want to relay this part of your youth to your child.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    fun book

    O.K. I dissed the book earlier because the audio wasn't working, but the BN technical support told me to archive it then unarchive it and now it works and I love it. Can't wait to share it with my grandchildren.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Puff, the Magic Dragon

    This one is a keeper and should be in your child's library. The disc at the end just adds to the overall quality of this book.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    A Beautiful Book

    I love this song and the book is book's illustrations are wonderful.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    A wonderful book!

    This has been a favorite song of mine since I was a child. My son bought it for me for Christmas and we read it together; the illustrations are beautiful, the story is the same as I remember - basically just the lyrics to the song, and the CD was included. It's a wonderful story of change and relationships - lots of room for discussion with my 6-year old!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Song Is Now A Book

    Puff, the Magic Dragon was a classic song when I was growing up, now it's a book my children enjoy. Enchanting story and illustrations make this book a delight.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    Brings back old memories

    In the 1960's we had ideas of what this song was about, but since reading this book with my daughter I've gained a whole new insight into it, and it's great. This is one of the best books I've read with my daughter since she was born. All of you ex-hippies out there, like me, should buy this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Too short

    This book I bought for my grandkids and was very upset that it was only 4 pages. Am I missing something here..?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Too repetitive

    I don't know why the book repeats over and over, "Puff the Magic Dragon lived by the sea, and frolicked..." Pisses you off after a while. I don't recommend.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    The movie

    I love the story of puff the magic dragon soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much but ive only seen the movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Great book

    Wonderful book 4 kids

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15