Customer Reviews for

Pujols: More Than the Game

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    The J.O.Y. of Albert Pujols

    J.O.Y. is the principle that you put Jesus first, your others second, and yourself last. This week I read Pujols More than the Game. It is an autobiography about the man, the myth, the legend-Albert Pujols, and his passion to live everyday for Jesus Christ, serves others, and then seeks the good of himself. If you are an avid Cardinals fan like my husband and me or you just admire and respect Albert Pujols, you are going to love this book. The authors, Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth, do an amazing job of mixing real-life baseball stories, stats, and other interesting Pujols facts in a way that is both interesting and informative. I have learned much about how truly amazing Pujols' career stats truly are without getting bored by all the numbers so I have to say good job and mission accomplished to Lamb and Ellsworth.

    I did love reading the heart warming baseball and ministry stories in the book, and I was heartbroken at the harsh reality that Albert and Deidre faced before Pujols started bringing home the big bugs in the majors. However, what I loved most of all is the way that the authors' writing style and format captured the very talented but also very humble essence of who Albert Pujols is both as a baseball player and a man of faith.


    Reading Pujols More than the Game has been an enlightening and encouraging experience for me. I think the authors summarized the book and Albert's life best in the very first chapter. There they write, "Puhols' faith is neither a vague spirituality nor an improve-your-morals campaign. Rather, the core of his faith is in Jesus Christ, defined in his foundation's statement of faith as "God's only Son, [who] lived a perfect life of obedience to the Father and substituted Himself as the perfect sacrifice for our sins. He became our mediator to bridge the gap between mankind and a Holy, Sinless God."(p 10)

    I just have to say again.this book is a great read! It will encourage your heart and help you find some J.O.Y., and if you aren't a Christian already it will open your eyes to the true Power behind one of the greatest men in history of baseball. If you love baseball, you need to read Pujols More than the Game!

    A copy of this book was provided to me for free by Thomas Nelson Publishing for book review purposes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Pujols

    Great ,beast player

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Pujols

    Indians have a love - hate relationship with Baseball. We know it is a lot like cricket (our unofficial national game), But we also know that it is a lot NOT like cricket. Compared to cricket, Baseball rules look less straightforward, May be Americans will find cricket rules confusing.

    Recently, I visited Singapore and in one dinner conversation, we had people from 7 different countries. Everyone else understood baseball, except three of us from India. So, we explained them the Cricket rules and they compared them with Baseball rules and arrived at a conclusion that it is not difficult to map these two, if you care to spend 15 minutes of your time.

    Baseball superstar Albert Pujols' autobiography (titled "Pujols") gave me some very good insights into this game, How a professional player approaches it, How it all started and what it takes to reach the status he is in today. Surprisingly, Pujols states in this very well written book that there are many more things which are important in baseball success (or for that matter any success) than the game itself, For example, human quality, guiding forces and more.

    Some may think it is too early for a Pujols biography. But that is the point here, While the history is in the making, it makes sense to analyze the factors behind it. Except few statistics, and new successes, not much is going to change in terms of basics, Right?

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Pujols- More than the Game

    "The Machine"....highly touted player Albert Pujols shows that his journey wasn't left up to fate. He recounts his Christian journey and how it brought him to the game, his wife, and to what is so important to him. The Pujols Family Foundation is highlighted in this book and I found the book easy to read, and when the baseball stats got overwhelming, I just skipped over them. The journey itself is worth the read, but baseball lovers will enjoy it all. Highly recommend for teens who are in sports.
    I did review this book as a reviewer for Booksneeze, but am not obligated or compensated for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pujols: an enjoyable diversion

    Through Book Sneeze, Thomas Nelson provided me with a copy of Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth's biography of one of baseball's best players: Pujols: More than the Game. Focusing on his spectacular career so far, his family, and his work with Down syndrome and poverty in the Dominican Republic, this book portrays Albert Pujols as a man who seeks to glorify God both on and off the field. Although I pay more attention to the American League than the National League (and thus haven't payed much attention to Pujols's team, the Cardinals), the dramatic accounts of seasons combined with the impressive statistics they presented made me root along with the St. Louis fans, most of the time. I still cheered when the authors described the Red Sox beating the Cardinals in the 2004 World Series. I appreciated that the authors explicitly say that Pujols, though a Christian and a great athlete, is not perfect. However, at times it seemed to try to cover over unbecoming behavior, such as claiming that his yelling at a third base umpire "showed him to be a player willing to stand up for his teammates, even as a tewnty-one-year-old rookie" (page 70). Although I probably won't think of it as one of the most influential books I read this year, I found it an enjoyable diversion. If you love baseball, you'll probably enjoy reading Pujols; I know I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Real Sports Hero

    Title: <em>Pujols: More Than the Game </em>
    Authors: Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson

    Summary: Anyone who has been around baseball the last 10 years knows the name of Albert Pujols. The St. Louis Cardinals' top slugger has made an impact with his bat and style of play. This book chronicles his life and career from his beginnings in the Dominion Republic, to the big league success. Pujols is indeed not the average player for so many more reasons than his stats. The authors not only follow his career path, but also the faith and family that have sustained him on this journey. Interwoven into each season, are clearly the deeds and actions and heart of a man of Christ. From the founding of his own <em>Pujols Family Foundation</em> to his continual testimony spoken in clubhouses and interviews, Pujols has shown himself to be about "More Than the Game."

    What I Liked: What can I say? I'm a sucker for a sports biography. I love the games, and seeing where athletes come from - what inspires them and pushes them to succeed. Before reading this book, I didn't know much about Albert. This book definitely tries to cover his story in it's pages - from the beginning, through the transition to living in the U.S. - to baseball's elite. Lots of quotes from those who have known Albert along the way. I love how the authors wove his faith into his major league career. In each step, we see Albert embracing God as he grows into his career as a baseball player, from Rookie of the Year, to World Series Champ. We also see the grace under pressure - the losses in the Cardinal clubhouse, the stand against PEDs - all firmly wound with his faith and the integrity that goes with it.

    What I Didn't Like: As I said, I love spots bios. But this one never gave me the true sense of what made Albert tick. What was he thinking as he tried to make it to the bigs? There is a lot of outside perspective, interviews of other people, but not as much personal insight by Pujols himself. While the authors deftly wove the stories of his career and faith, the book felt like a collection of quotes more than a personal journey.

    Overall - A solid sports bio with a faith perspective. And I bet if you're a Cardinal fan, you will love this one!

    A review copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze Program. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Amazing story

    PUJOLS
    More than the Game
    by Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth
    Published by Thomas Nelson

    Albert Pujols and his wife, DeeDee, are amazing people which this book definitely shows. They display their faith in God in many ways, always witnessing, in the way they live, and act, for Him.

    With the statistics Pujols has, he could quit playing baseball right now, and still be in the record books for the rest of time. He works hard to display his God Given talent, never letting up on practice just because he is tired.

    I loved this book, it shows how, even when you are on top, you can be a Nice Guy.
    I did think that the statistics were a bit much, but once I got past those, I cruised right through the rest, enjoying every paragraph.

    I think anyone who loves sports, especially baseball, or just the St. Louis Cardinals would enjoy this book, and be amazed at the talent this young man has, and what he has accomplished.

    I received a copy of this book from BookSneeze, to read and review. No other compensation was given.
    I'm not required to give a favorable review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Great book for all baseball lovers!

    Being an avid St. Louis Cardinal's fan, I just couldn't wait to sink my teeth into Pujols: More Than The Game by Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth. In this short biography, Lamb and Ellsworth trace the life and baseball career of the great Albert Pujols. However, this biography is unique because it gives an honest depiction of a man with super baseball talent, but who is not ashamed of his faith in Jesus Christ. Pujols is not painted into a super hero saint, but his is shown honestly for his flaws and his spiritual growth, as all believers have to do.

    As you read the compelling story of Pujols rise to baseball greatness, you heart will be touched to discover the side of the man that doesn't get told in the headline. Baseball lovers will be in awe of the unbelievable stats that Pujols has put up over his fisrt10 years in the MLB, but Christ followers will be encouraged as they read about him sharing the love of Christ through selfless humanitarian acts of kindness. This is a great book for Christian baseball lover or possibly a great witnessing tool for a friend who is a seeker who has a love for the game. My only complaint is that the authors keep you hanging at the end, because the rest of this man's great life hasn't been lived yet! Go out and read Pujols.

    Disclosure: I did receive a free review copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers, but was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Christian Baseball Lovers Delight!

    I recently received the book PUJOLS: More than a Game by Scoot Lamb and Tim Ellsworth from Book Sneeze to review. Although I am definitely not a sports fan and a lot of that "lingo" wasn't my thing, I was really pleased with the book overall. I also, surprisingly to me, found it to be a very quick read. (Finished over the course of a few days lunch breaks.)

    Yes, it does have a lot of statistical information regarding Pujols game, but it also has a lot more regarding his faith and family life. It's a good blend of both that makes it easy for someone like me (a NON sports fan) to also enjoy the book.

    For me, reading about a "celebrity" who puts his faith in God first and his family second (rather than career) is nice. It was also comforting to read how he encourages Bible Study and worship amongst his fellow athletes. But most importantly for me, was reading about his families contributions to the Buddy Walk events and to various Down Syndrome events and foundations. Including his family's own foundation (of their name) that was created in honor of their daughter who was born with Down Syndrome.

    It doesn't matter if you know what an inning is or not, this book is a very encouraging read and one I am glad I chose. Although not one I would have picked up off the shelf for general reading purposes (not my usual genre), I did thoroughly enjoy it and would recommend to many people. Those that love baseball, those that love reading about solid Christian celebrity families and those who have a family member with Down Syndrome can all be encouraged by reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Pujols: More than the Game

    Let me in the very inception state that I am neither a baseball fan nor do I have much knowledge of the game. However I like to read about the lives of famous personalities and how they handle their fame. My interest in 'Pujols: More than the Game' by Lamb and Ellsworth was restricted to knowing the man behind the legend.
    This book follows Pujols from his birth to school in the United States to his time in the minor leagues to his beginning as a Redbird. He hosts several Down Syndrome events each year and he attends each of them. He has a good family life and is well received in the sporting fraternity. The book did not go into great detail about biblical truth beyond the fact that Albert Pujols is definitely a believer in Christ.
    The only low point in the book I felt is the huge amount of stats that have been included. Logically to prove Pujol's feats stats are necessary but for people who are not that familiar with baseball it becomes boring. Overall it is a good book and one which youngsters should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read for Baseball Lovers!

    When you think of RBI's, Homers, OBP's, and the diamond you think of baseball, right? When you think of the St. Louis Cardinals you may often think of Albert Pujols. What if you were to think of baseball being used as a platform for faith? In PUJOLS More Than A Game Lamb and Ellsworth illustrate the beautiful story of Albert's small beginnings to his climb onto the Major Leagues. From his humble beginnings in Santo Domingo, with an alcoholic father we follow Pujols to his first real encounter with Christ, then off to the Minor Leagues and shortly on to the Majors. Wrapped up within the story of Pujols' career comes a faith from a man that many children with down syndrome call a hero. Not only will you find incredible stats and numbers about Pujols, you will find a man that puts God first, and uses baseball as a platform for his faith.

    As a woman who does not follow baseball, and never knew who Albert Pujols was until this book, it was very hard to understand the baseball lingo. I found it hard to follow the story because of the "jumping" around Lamb and Ellsworth did in Pujols career throughout the book. However, I thoroughly enjoyed reading of Albert's faith, and how he uses his fame as a stage to share Christ with others. If you love baseball, this is a must read!


    This book was provided to me from Thomas Nelson through the BookSneeze program. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Review: Pujols... it is more than the game

    I grew up as a most boys - a huge fan of baseball. On top of that, I grew up a fan of the St. Louis Cardinals in the days of Ozzie Smith, Tommy Herr, Willie McGee, Vince Coleman, et al. I'm still a Cardinals fan (well not like my brother) and have always been impressed by the Albert Pujols both on and off the field.

    Lamb and Ellsworth provide a glimpse into the total life of Pujols. As the subtitle, More Than the Game, suggests this book is about much more than baseball. They provide a picture into how Albert Pujols has become the person he is today - his family, his faith, the obstacles he experienced and how he persevered, and his determination as a player.

    I was intrigued throughout the pages of this book. I am a fan of biographies and I appreciated the authors' approach in communicating the life story of Pujols until now. I highly recommend this book for any sports fan but also for those who are often unimpressed by professional athletes. I think you will come away with a sense of hope from this book.

    This book is a 4 out of 5 for me. Definitely worth the time.

    ________________

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    Fantastic Book! Check it out NOW!

    Pujols: More Than The Game by Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth chronicles the life and career of Albert Pujols (first baseman for the St. Louis Cardinals). In 229 pages, you will learn about Albert growing up in Santo Domingo, migrating to the United States, playing high school and college ball and then eventually making his rise to MLB. This book flows well with short chapters and is entertaining enough to keep the pages turning, which made it a quick read. Coming from very humble beginnings in the Dominican Republic, Albert Pujols has made quite a name for himself in baseball, often being compared to greats like Babe Ruth, Stan Musual and Pete Rose. Pujols has also been able to keep himself out of trouble. His strict self-discipline and religious beliefs are as much to blame as his wife Deidre and his kids. He enjoys being a hero to children all over the world and upholds that image at every opportunity. It's evident throughout the pages, that Pujols has a wonderful support system and he gives all the thanks and glory to Jesus Christ. I don't think any Pujols fan could say that they didn't realize Albert is a Christian but I have to admit that I was surprised to learn just how "young" of a Christian he is and how devoted he is. One of my favorite things that I learned is that he'll often witness to other players while playing first base and that he has led more than one of his teammates to Christ. Being a Cardinals fan, I was impressed with the amount of background information and stats that these two writers were able to include, however, some may find some of the lingo/stats a little confusing or distracting. That being said, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. If you're not a Pujols fan when you start this book, you will be when you finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Not Just For Baseball Fans

    Most definitely a book for the baseball fan. Pujols is an inspiring story about one of Baseball's most famous names currently. A story of redemption and truth, a true testimony of faith. Chock full of statistics and baseball references, this book is geared toward true fans of Pujols and the game of Baseball, though anyone looking for a good read will find reward in reading this story.

    From his disbelief in God as an Atheist to his strong faith and testimony of God's impact on his life, Pujols shares his story all while throwing in the baseball facts and stories. Through his story, he gives glory to God and attributes his success to God's presence in his life.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze . com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Originally for my husband...

    Albert Pujols is a name I was not familiar with before receiving this book. My basic knowledge of him came from reading the back cover of the dust jacket. It seems he is a well known baseball player for the St. Louis Cardinals, and is considered to be one of the top 20 players of all times, ranking right up there with Ruth and Dimagio. Baseball is not Pujols life, it is just something he uses to share his love of Christ with the 40,000 some people that watch his games. He fully believes his Faith comes first, followed by his family, and then, finally baseball.

    I was anticipating that this would be a great book for my husband, but who knew that I would enjoy it also? It did seem intriguing from the start, but I worried there might be a bit to much baseball statistics in it for my like. But I found myself fully engrossed after the first chapter, and before I knew it, I just kept going!

    This book would be excellent as a valentine's gift for a husband, father, brother, or boyfriend. And my little piece of advice? Read it before you gift it! :)

    **I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1