Customer Reviews for

Pujols: More Than the Game

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Highly recommend for any person who loves God and Baseball!

    Just reading the information about the book, I knew I would like it. I love baseball and I adore the man Albert Pujols. To me, Pujols was just a machine on the field who could hit home runs in a blink of the eye. Yes, I saw that Albert would point to the sky and kiss the cross on his necklace every time he did something big on the field. But, I never realized how much he believed in God and all that he did for him. This story is very inspiring and it has showed me how big a part God has in our lives. After reading this story, Albert is one of the most inspiring people out there. This story isn't only filled with statistical facts about him and the game. It has an even amount of the game and of his spiritual life. Even if you don't know much about the game, you'll be able to understand or if you're not the religious type, you'll enjoy the book. It's a great book for people of all ages to read. I recommend this book to anybody out there who loves the game of Baseball and to anybody out there who loves God or even needs inspiration. Pujols: More than the game deserves a five out of five stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great book!

    I was interested in this book by the Christian touch it has and the history behind thia truly great player. The book talks alot about his records and such so be prepared for baseball terminology. Overall though a great book that really shows all that Albert is about. Highly suggest!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Cardinals fan

    Why did Pujols leave St. Louis? :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Inspirational

    The story of how a poor boy in the dominican republic became the star he is today. It is sad that he plays for the angels now but he said thats where he wants to be and i respect his disision.
    P.s dont make fun of his last name
    To:the person who made fun of his name

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    A must read for the baseball fan

    "I can't make you believe what I stand for. I can only tell you my story." And tell his story he did. Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth do a masterful job of painting a complete picture of the man behind the baseball player, Albert Pujols. Many times misunderstood, or misread, they dig deep into the history and "good fortune", that has made Pujols one of the best loved, and most heroic players of the last decade. There is quite a bit of the story that involves his wife Dee, and it keeps the reader engaged to learn how they, together, have used Albert's career and opportunities, to partner in ministry. You don't have to love baseball to like this book, although Lamb and Ellsworth do an excellent job of chronicling the stats that Pujols has put together over his career. The most impressive is the fact that in 2010, Pujols became the first player in baseball history to bat .300 with 30 home runs and 100 runs batted in for ten consecutive seasons. An excellent book for the baseball fan and for the person looking for a feel good story about a million dollar athlete who has not lost perspective on life and is using his gifts to glorify God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    The book Pujols: More Than The Game by Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth was a great read! After completing the book, I have a huge respect for this man's heart and a clear understanding of his mission.

    I chose the book Pujols: More Than The Game by Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth, because my son is a huge fan of Albert Pujols. When I saw the title of the book, I was thrilled to see that he is not only an amazing ball player, which I already knew, but a Christ follower as well, which I didn't know. The biography begins with the story of Albert Pujols' meager beginnings in Santo Domingo. Most of the population there would be considered by United States standards to be living at or below the poverty level. The fact that there were nights that he went to bed hungry, had dirt floors in his home, and used a milk carton for a glove, sticks for a bat, and a lime for a ball, just to play baseball were endearing enough to learn, but add to it Albert's attributing his grandmother for "making him the man he is today", and I was hooked! Throughout the book, the authors tell of Albert's saving faith in Jesus Christ. They quote him as stating, "Baseball is simply my platform to elevate Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior." Each chapter is rich with details. The authors discuss his family as having great worth to him, including his wife Deidra and their four children, one of which has Downs Syndrome. They also discuss the organization that he and his wife launched together called the "Pujols Family Foundation." If it's statistical information on Pujols or the St. Louis Cardinals you're after, then you won't be disappointed! The book is rich in game history, stats, and trivia. There is even an entire chapter written about the false reporting that occurred in 2007 around the Mitchell Report and Pujols' supposed use of PEDs (Performance Enhancing Drugs). This was a well written book that clearly defines to the reader details of Pujols' life and his mission to give God the glory for his talents. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, and would therefore highly recommend it. Thank you to Thomas Nelson (since 1798) Publishing for this review copy of Pujols More Than The Game. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Recommended for everyone

    Pujols: More Than the Game by Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth is more than a book. It is also an inspiration. This book has something for everyone. There are plenty of statistics for the sports fan. There is the story of true love for the romantic. There is hope and knowledge for those lost. Lamb and Ellsworth give a great illustration of a man who is a true winner because of his faith. This was an easy read as the writers did a great job integrating biographical facts with interesting stories of Albert Pujols' life and career. It is a book the entire family can read as it outlines Pujols' struggles, successes and courage in all areas of his life. It offers real life examples of how always following the heart of God even when it goes against the "clubhouse trend" doesn't leave one behind, but pushes him further ahead. I would definitely recommend Pujols: More Than the Game to anyone looking for a little inspiration. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pujols: More than a Game

    rowds flock the St. Cardinals stadium every year. Not for the hot dogs and pretzels, but to see one man hit a home rome: Albert Pujos. Not only is the the most amazing player, but boy, can he hit home runs! In the book, Pujos More than a Game by Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth you can't help but be in awe of this legendary baseball player who ranks up there with the best of the best baseball players.

    In this book, we see a very in depth look at Albert Pujos. Believe me, if you love sports, you want to read this book. Having a husband whose been a St. Louis Cardinal fan since childhood, I knew I wanted to read this book as well as give to my husband as a Valentines Day gift.

    For Albert Pujus, it is more than a game. I can't recommend this book enough to everyone out there!!! I was given this book free to read but give my review with 5 Stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    More Than the Book

    As a woman in her late 30s, who hasn't attended a Cardinal's game since the new stadium was built, one would hardly expect me to be raving about, let alone reading an Albert Pujols biography. However, if you expect this book to just be about Pujols the Baseball Hero, you are in for a shock that would equal one associated with the Cubs winning a World Series crown. This book and this man are so much more. It's a book about a man who loves his family. A man who is grateful for the opportunities and the talents he's been blessed with. A man who has faults just like the "regular guys". A man who has been given much, but has given much away. Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth do an excellent job of showing us who Albert Pujols really is. With the recent media reports about Pujols' and the St. Louis Cardinal's inability to reach a contract agreement, I was surprised at my reaction after reading the book. As a person who thinks sports heros and entertainers are paid obscene amounts of money for the jobs they do, I finished this book hoping that Pujols is able to find that salary that he is hoping for. Not because of the amazing things that the authors tell us he has done in his baseball career. Sure, those are impressive and well detailed throughout the book, but it's more than that. The authors presented the message we see throughout the Bible time and time again. God has blessed us so that we can bless others. That is the message I hope you take away from the book. The Pujols family knows how to give out of their riches. I was inspired. It's refreshing to be reminded that there are people out there who just aren't in it for the money, but for what that money can do for the Kingdom of God. Whether you are a Pujols fan, a Cardinals fan, or just someone who likes to read about real people doing things that matter, I think you'll enjoy More Than the Game. It's more than the book - it's the message that makes it worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    One of the Good Guys

    PUJOLS: More Than The Game by Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth

    Albert Pujols was born in Santo Domingo, the capitol city of the Dominican Republic. Because of his birthplace, he grew up loving the game of baseball, as did all the other kids of that nation. We think of baseball as a national pastime. To the citizens of the Dominican Republic baseball represents an obsessive compulsion.

    From the day he first tried out for the Fort Osage Senior High School baseball team until the present, Pujols' bat has spoken volumes for him. He was the first player in history to bat .300 with 30 home runs and 100 runs batted in for ten consecutive seasons
    As of 2010 he has hit 408 home runs. As a player in both The World Series and nine All Star games, Pujols' star is certainly burning very brightly.

    The excellence he has displayed in his playing career is matched only by the excellence of character one can see in his personal life. Albert is a devout Christian - a seriously faithful follower of Christ and he takes seriously his obligation to witness to the world about his faith. Albert uses his position as first baseman to discuss life after death with the opposing players. Imagine you land safely at first base and all of a sudden, the first baseman asks you, "Do you know where you'll go when you die?" Talk about taking you out of your rhythm. Albert doesn't do this for any type of psychological advantage - he rather is fulfilling his obligation to Christ to be a witness for Him.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who has a few hours to strengthen their faith. The book would also be a great gift to sports fans, and could be instrumental in introducing a non believer to the world of faith.

    Booksneeze supplied me with a copy of this book in return for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book, as well as Albert Pujol's life is about more than the game. It's about glorifying God. From humble beginnings in the Dominican Republic to his meteoric rise to fame in the US, outstanding athletic ability, strong work ethic, and faith God make him one of the most easily likable celebrities of our day. This book covers it all.
    I really love a biography that doesn't just outline a person's accomplishments but really digs deeper, revealing the person behind the image. This book delivers. Pujols is more than just an outstanding ball player - he is a man of integrity. While the authors cover the details of his rise to fame in baseball, they also cover his conversion, his devotion to his wife and kids, and what drives him most - his faith.
    I would highly recommend this book to anyone, but particularly to people with teenage boys. I think this is the type of book that may help young adults see how to be a man of integrity in whatever they do, and that serving the Lord is the most important aspect of their life.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Big Man, Big Heart and a Big God

    PUJOLS More Than Just The Game
    By Scott Lamb and
    Tim Ellsworth

    There are some good baseball players and then there are some GOOD baseball players. This book is about a REALLY GOOD baseball player. It's about a hero of a man who is REALLY GOOD for the game of baseball.
    Albert Pujols was born in Santo Domingo, the capitol city of the Dominican Republic. By virtue of his birthplace, he had no other option but to grow up loving the game of baseball. What is a national pastime to us in America is an absolute obsession to the citizens of the Dominican Republic. His father was a painter by trade but an avid baseball player the rest of the time.
    From the day he first tried out for the Fort Osage Senior High School baseball team until his present duties with the St. Louis Cardinals, Pujols' bat has spoken volumes for him. He was the first player in history to bat .300 with 30 home runs and 100 runs batted in for ten consecutive seasons. As of 2010 he has hit 408 home runs. This book is filled with hundreds of his dazzling exploits, especially those walk-off home runs. AND, he did it all without the use of steroids.
    However, his exploits with a baseball bat almost pale in comparison to the homeruns he hits in his personal life. Albert is a devout Christian. His pulpit? Well, it's first base, mostly. His question to the opposing player? He asks them do they know where they would go when they die. I do reckon that would be some kind of a conversation starter. Albert says that first base is where he does most of his witnessing.
    However, the baseball diamond is not the only place that he lets Jesus shine. He and his wife Dee Dee formed the Pujols Family Foundation. Its main purpose would be to support the Down Syndrome Association of Greater St. Louis and Orfanato Ninos de Christo in the Dominican Republic.
    In his off season, the Pujols and their PFF team head for his home country of the Dominican Republic. With medical and dental teams in tow, they head straight to the slums and put their Jesus arms around those that are hurting. They supply items from eyeglasses to mattresses to people who do not have any other means to obtain them.
    On and off the field, I saw a great and godly man in the things Albert Pujols did. I was greatly encouraged by reading this book. Booksneeze supplied me with a copy of this book in return for my honest review. And, honestly, it was not a hard review to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Gift and Heart for God

    Though this book is chock full of stats (I don't understand) I get that he is an awesome athlete with a passion for and ability in baseball that makes him justifiably one of the greats. Plus he is a giant of the faith (faith in Christ) as well. Someone to look up to, a hero for our children in a day of selfishness and greed, Pujols steps out in humilty with great ability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1