Customer Reviews for

Pukka's Promise: The Quest for Longer-Lived Dogs

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Good book

    Love it

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Great Read

    If you enjoyed Merle's Door, you will like this one too. I thought some of the suggestions were over the top (e.g. I will not feed raw meat) and that Ted should have kept Chance too, but you may feel differently. Every dog owner would benefit from the research Kerasote presents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    A MUST for dog owners!

    I could not put this book down and it engaged me from page 1. If you love your canine friend and want him/her to have a quality life, please read this book and consider Kerasote's suggestions. The author did an amazing amount of thorough, unbiased research. My 5-year-old Golden is my first dog. He walked up my driveway when I was 57 years old and I didn't know if I could be a good dog owner, since I was a "cat person" and already lived with 7 cats. Turns out, he was a gift from God and exactly what I never knew I needed. I wish I had read this book before I had him neutered and before I allowed him to get so chubby. Now my quest is to give him the happiest, healthiest life possible and I feel better equipped to do that since reading this book. My vet "doesn't get it" because she loves the money she makes from a huge dog food manufacturer that helped put her through vet school and now adds to her bottom line (she sells the bagged junk in her clinic). She refuses to consider any part of a raw diet and doesn't get excited about holistic approaches to yeast and skin issues, etc. I suggested this book to her because she would learn more from Ted Kerasote than she learned in vet school. And this book is delightful to read because the author is a very good writer! PLEASE read this book if you love your dog.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Source for positive change and a beautiful read

    At last a comprehensive and well written book exploring the extending of our companions' life spans. The book prompted idea exchanges with my vets, adjustments to my dog's diet and additional supplements. It also has prompted many questions, which will mean I'll do more research- always a good thing. An added bonus is meeting Pukka through Kerasote's wise and touching observations. This book will help you enrich your dog's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    All dog lovers need this book!

    I loved this book, it was packed with information and suggestions on every topic related to dogs including shelter issues, neutering, food, environment, vaccinations, toys, and a whole lot more. It not only made me think, it made me change my dogs diet, speak to my vet about the frequency of vaccinations, what to use for tick prevention and change how I clean my home. I even changed the container we keep the dogs food in! If you love dogs and have one or more of your own, I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for all dog owners who want a healthier and happier life for their dog that they deserve!

    Great book full of information we need to know for our dogs well being.A real eye opener about dog food companies and what we are actually feeding our dogs!Ted is an excellent author.Be sure to read Merles Door that started this all!Thank You Merle and Ted.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    A must read if you own or are thinking of adopting a dog!!!

    Much-needed advice on feeding, vaccinating, spaying/neutering, and other factors which can extend the life of a dog. Some sections a bit tedious to read but very well-researched. Well worth the time if you are serious about keeping your dog around for as long as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly, highly recommended - a dog lover's must read!!

    Pukka's Promise should be read by everyone who has a dog or wants one. Ted has done an amazing amount of research and this book is a wealth of information. He's got a huge amount of reference notes to back up what he's saying.

    It is very well written, often funny and sometimes heart wrenching for what is being done to our dog family in the name of breeding for beauty instead of health and strength. Terrific information on feeding healthy food and other health-related issues. I had already done my own research on all of this and Ted's book just confirms what I was working toward with my 2 Shih Tzus. Thank you Ted!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    This book is loaded with information on diet, overvaccinating dogs, and problems with purebred dogs such as inbreeding and breeding for looks, not health, just to name a few things. Mixed in is the author's journey to get his own dog, along with heartwarming stories about life with his new pet. It really opened my eyes to serious problems pets and humans face. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I read Merle's Door and could not put it down. I was so thrilled to see that Mr. Kerasote chose to research the factors that contribute to a dog's lifespan. I have learned quite a bit about this myself after living with dogs all my life and observing personally the affects of different diets and vaccines on their lifespan. It is amazing to have the benefit of his research. He is such a wonderful writer, and I find myself once again unable to put this book down. It is incredibly informative and so interesting to see the responses he received from the commercial pet food and pharmaceutical industries and verterinarians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Please dont chat here

    Sheshh

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1