Customer Reviews for

Pulse (Collide Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I laughed, yelled and cried my eyes out and almost through my nook when I thought the book was headed a certain way. Glad I kept reading. Sad that its come to an end. Just really felt connected to this series for some reason.

posted by 17859971 on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

DISAPPOINTING!!!!

Chapter after chapter describing the sex they had and then chapter after chapter Gavin and Emily gave very long speeches about how much they loved each other. Over twenty chapters saying basically the same thing. It got very old, very fast. There was no need for a secon...
Chapter after chapter describing the sex they had and then chapter after chapter Gavin and Emily gave very long speeches about how much they loved each other. Over twenty chapters saying basically the same thing. It got very old, very fast. There was no need for a second book. A few chapters could have been added to COLLIDE to include their happy ever after. This book was fluff!

posted by 8252444 on July 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    DISAPPOINTING!!!!

    Chapter after chapter describing the sex they had and then chapter after chapter Gavin and Emily gave very long speeches about how much they loved each other. Over twenty chapters saying basically the same thing. It got very old, very fast. There was no need for a second book. A few chapters could have been added to COLLIDE to include their happy ever after. This book was fluff!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Loved it

    I laughed, yelled and cried my eyes out and almost through my nook when I thought the book was headed a certain way. Glad I kept reading. Sad that its come to an end. Just really felt connected to this series for some reason.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Why does Amazon have books available so much earlier then barnes

    Why does Amazon have books available so much earlier then barnes and nobles? It came out on Amazon yesterday, but a whole month before we get it here!!

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    I read Collide and fell in love with Gavin, and I understood Emi

    I read Collide and fell in love with Gavin, and I understood Emily''s hesitance in becoming involved in a relationship with Gavin, but, by the end of Collide, I was through with her. Pulse, however, really annoyed me. Emily was the simpliest of simpliest girls that you could find. She continued to allow Dillon to run her life and never once stood up for herself against him, but, yet with Gavin she had all the mouth in the world. I was so tired of her crying. And my biggest pet peeve about this book was that Gavin never ever became angry with Emily, not for any of her stupidity and, truthfully, it was because of her stupidity that they ended up in the particular situation that they were in. At the end of Collide the things that Emily said and did to Gavin were atrocious and, yet, once Emily finally decides to head on down to Mexico to apologize to Gavin, all is forgiven without her barely saying anything! ARE YOU FOR REAL??!!! And then when Gavin finds out about the predictament that Emily has now placed their relationship in because she kept going back to Dillon in Collide, he is the one who is made to apologize to her and makes her all sorts of promises, when in actuality Emily should have been apologizing to Gavin...BIG TIME!!!! At no point in this book was Gavin allowed to truly express his emotions about what was happening in their relationship. Everything was ALWAYS about assuring Emily that she was beautiful and that he loved her no matter what. REALLY??!!! It was understood that Emily had been in an abusive relationship with Dillon in Collide, but COME ON GAVIN HAD FEELINGS TOO THAT NEEDED TO BE TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION. Emily was allowed to get angry and all sorts of other silliness, but not Gavin!! Nope!! And then when Gavin finally does express his anger about Dillon hitting on Emily, he takes it out on his best friend Trevor??!! Really???!! Gavin is pissed because Trevor didn't tell him about the incident?? WHAT???!! I will say I was happy to see the situation between the two best friends resolved positively. I was also happy when Fallon told Emily off about causing the riff between Trevor and Gavin. However, Fallon then apologizing to Emily for sticking up for her boyfriend and telling Emily the god's honest truth...umm...that was a no go for me. Everyone was always apologizing to Emily for her stupidity. Goodness even Gavin's mother apologized to Emily about becoming angry with her for placing her son in such a precarious situation. WTH??!!! This series should have been just one book. It should not have been a series. One book of Emily and her stupidity was enough. Collide should have been extended a few chapters to encompass this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Boring

    Boring and slow, that's what this second book was. Chapters of boring sex and cheesy dialogs and a ton of thoughts that were inconsequential and distracting. And then the dramas, mixed in the book here and there, but were for the most part unnecessary. So bad that there is one chapter dedicated to some major drama that ends up being a dream. What a prank! It is as if the author had no ideas for the book and had to write stupid chapters to fill the pages. I skipped through pages at a time. And to make it worst, the female character is as whiny and weak as in book 1 and I could not understand why the guy Gavin could be so in love with her. They had their happy ending but as a reader, it was a torture to go through their boring story. Cannot recommend the books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For me, both of these books; Collide and Pulse, are the best boo

    For me, both of these books; Collide and Pulse, are the best books I have ever read. I just felt very connected to the characters. Every single part of both books felt so real. Ahh, I laughed, cried, and fell in love with Gavin and Emily. What a fantastic book. I could read them over and over again! A++++++++++

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    This series would have been much, much better as one book. It was almost torture to get through because it was so repetative. The dream scene was rediculous. It was so obvious the author was struggling to continue with a storyline that should have concluded in book one. I waited to read the first book until the next one was available because I hate to wait for a long period of time to finish a book. These authors are cheating their fans with this greed. I would much rather pay twice as much for one complete book and I believe this will eventually hurt their sales. I will not buy another book by this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    WOW! Loved it! Pulse~ LOVED It too! Gavin Blake, HOT, HOT, did I

    WOW! Loved it! Pulse~ LOVED It too! Gavin Blake, HOT, HOT, did I say HOT?? and.....smartass that was soo sexy! My favorite books of all time, didn't want him to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    One of my favorite stories

    Love it! Can't wait for her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Recommend.

    Yeah!! Conclusion to book #1 COLLIDE. Loved this story. I had a tissue through some of this, be warned. Lots going on, some quite predictable, and some scenes a bit over done. Over all a sweet love story, I enjoyed. I recommend these books.
    S.A.K.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    **Spoiler-ish if you haven┬┐t read the first book of the series,

    **Spoiler-ish if you haven’t read the first book of the series, Collide** I had to wait a few weeks after Pulse was released to read it & I was excited because not only was I DYING to see where Gavin & (Emily’s) story would end, but I had heard nothing but good things about it. Pulse begins where Collide ended. Dillon shows up at Emily’s apartment as if nothing happened the night before. When things take a turn for the worst, no one can get in touch with Gavin. Only Colton knows that Gavin has fled to Mexico because he couldn’t stand to watch Emily & Dillon marry. When Emily finds Gavin she struggles with the guilt of realizing just how bad she’s hurt him. They have to deal with Gavin’s doubt that one day she will go back to Dillon. Day by day their relationship gets stronger & stronger. When something comes to light, Emily is forced to tell Gavin what transpired between her & Dillon on what was supposed to be their wedding day. It forces both Gavin & Emily to realize that they may have to deal with Dillon for the rest of their lives. What I loved most about this series is that Gavin isn’t your typical millionaire book boyfriend. He’s sensitive, romantic; he doesn’t boss Emily around or buy her extravagant gifts on a daily basis. I will warn you that the “Pulse” chapter is Kindle throwing worthy BUT the rest of the book sure does make up for it.
    - “I want to break the rules with you. Kiss you passionately every day. Make you smile when you’re about to cry. I want no regrets with us. I want us to laugh together until we can’t breathe and it hurts. No man will ever love you the way I’m going to love you Emily. You’re it. My last. My forever.”
     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog In

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    In the second book to the Collide series, PULSE continues right where COLLIDE leaves off, so it’s definitely important that you read Collide first. Emily has made the biggest mistake of her life and in the process she has broken the heart of the man she loved. Now she is seeking for forgiveness, but when Gavin disappears and is unable to be reached, she starts to panic and guilt slowly begins to consume her.

    PULSE is better than its predecessor. The writing is better and tighter, the characters are smarter, and the romance is growing steadily. I was immediately drawn into this storyline and found it impossible to stop until I finished.

    There’s something addictive about this series. I couldn’t help but root for Gavin and Emily as they tried to find their way to happiness. The angst is far more headier in this installment and there’s a good reason for it. There is nothing I hate more than having characters mope around about something insubstantial. But if you’ve read the previous book in the series, then you know exactly why Gavin is acting the way he is.

    Emily’s character in the last book grated on me, but I could understand what the author was trying to accomplish. In this book, I liked Emily’s character a lot better and her grovelling and the guilt she felt redeemed her in my eyes.

    Dillon is still very much in this picture despite the fact that Emily beats the crap out of him when she tells him she has had enough. The twist at the end is fabulous and is sure to get a bunch of shocked gasps from the readers. McHugh doesn’t let up on the drama and it sure is one crazy ride!

    I’ve totally claiming Gavin Blake for my hottie harem. He has proven he is worthy in this book! Those sex scenes were hot, though I would go without all the proclamations of love. It was laid on a little too heavy after awhile. You don’t want to sweeten it too much where the treat leads to some cavities.

    All in all, I liked this book more than the first book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    Great Follow up to Collide! This book was excellent....I cried,

    Great Follow up to Collide! This book was excellent....I cried, I laughed...love Gavin!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    loved it.

    I couldn't put the book down. Definitely a must read. Loved the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Just OK

    I couldn't wait to read the sequel to Pulse... the first half was very good. The second half seemed repetitious - I was a little disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    Well I thought that the story line was good, but the never ending undying love was a bit to much to take. I felt like she needed a lot of filler that she didn't have enough of a story to tell. It could of easily been rapped up in one novel. Overall a very good author just tried to stretch out a story beyond it's barriers! I would definitely read more from this author though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Definitely love both books. Would recommend it many of times ove

    Definitely love both books. Would recommend it many of times over. I connected with every character . 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Don't waste your time...

    Just finished pulse, after reading both books I must say I wish I had never wasted my time and money on these. The first book Collide was long and quite frankly boring. Against my better judgement I went ahead and bought Pulse just to see if it was any better. I found myself just flipping through several pages trying to get to the end, just to see how they ended up.
    It was long and boring and fell very flat! Don' t waste your time or money on this one...trust me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Better the second time..or second book around....

    Ok the book started slow. I didn't know what to expect because the first one was not great but this book was so much better. It stopped being in 3rd person into 1st person so much. Emily went after what she wanted and Gavin didn't give up too much of a fight. The twist threw me and the fact we had to wait soo long to get resolution and then to hit the emotional point of ugly crying to WTH...well my hats off to the author...NEVER saw that coming! Wow! Thank you for the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    good read

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9