Customer Reviews for

Pulse

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Pulse by Jeremy Robinson - Mini Review

    Pulse (A Chess Team Adventure) by Jeremy Robinson

    Take what you love from Indiana Jones, throw that through a James Rollins/Matthew Reilly grinder and then add a sprinkling of equal parts Michael Crichton and a wee bit of mythological beasts and what you'd get is Jeremy Robinson's Pulse - a highly entertaining, action packed novel!

    I really enjoyed this quick read. You've got your super elite military team, The Chess Team. You've got your super evil villain doing super evil things, manipulating good people to do the aforementioned super evil things for him. And then you've got your super huge beast straight out of Greek Mythology. You've got a lot and you're going to have a lot of fun with it.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys any of the aforementioned authors.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!! Pulse provides PLENTY of Pulse-Pounding Action

    Like many Jeremy Robinson fans, I was introduced to his writing through his first, self-published time traveling novel, 'The Didymus Contingency' and LOVED it. The idea of creating an action/adventure tale set around time travel that also happens to feature the Son of God?? Who could have conceived the success that followed? I have known that 'Pulse' has been in the works for quite some time now, and after finishing 'Kronos' I was really chompin' at the bit for this one.

    Guess what? Jeremy Robinson does NOT disappoint. With each successive story you literally can SEE the improvements happening to his immense storytelling creativity and talent...and they are on FULL display here, I assure you. Who could map out even a semi-believable story featuring Greek Mythology and modern genetics and weave them together in such a way that doesn't make it sound silly? I'll tell you who: Jeremy Robinson. While I am NOT a geneticist, the obvious research that went into this novel is quite apparent and I am sure someone who knows far more than I do about the possibility of genetic organ regeneration can spot (if any) some flaws--but I certainly couldn't. It was hard to say where actual technology left off and wild imagination began in some places.

    Oh, and the action?? Well 'Pulse' has been compared to Matthew Reilly's books as of late, and although I don't believe Jeremy came too close to the all-out adrenaline/steroid rush of Reilly, he certainly comes within throwing distance...and for someone like me, that is really great news.

    Action, suspense and a great deal of 'What If' seems to play a central role here in 'Pulse'...in fact, if I were to compare this to anything else available, I'd say it's a cross between X-Files, Indiana Jones and Rainbow Six. I simply LOVED 'Pulse' from the first page and for those out there looking for the next Action King to spend some time with, you would be making a smart move to get to know Jeremy Robinson NOW--oh yeah, and go pick up his earlier stuff, too...you won't be wasting a single penny.

    Kudos to Jeremy...now, enough playing around--get back to work on that sequel!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    SWAG

    NINJA TURTLE SWAG

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Heroine

    A queen with perky breasts and taut tanned legs. What more characterization do you need?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Non-Stop "Pulse" Pounding Action!

    This book takes you on a roller coaster ride of terror! The first in the Chess Team series and it will definitely get you hooked! The infusion of both world religions and modern science mixed with a dash of sci-fi make this book impossible to put down. Excellent read for anyone who enjoys a good action-packed thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Pulse - Reading this will increase your Pulse rate

    I was introduced to Jeremy Robinson after recommending a few Matthew Reilly books to some co-workers. They had just finished Pulse and let me give it a whirl. From the moment I started reading it, I could not put it down. Pulse is a very fast paced military thriller that mixes the Chess Team (Delta outta Ft. Bragg) with Greek Mythology. The action is almost non-stop and the ending will have you wanting more. I'm very excited to see that the follow-up for Pulse is getting ready to be released. If you are a fan of Matthew Reilly, James Rollins, or Steve Alton, this book is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Forward motion never stops The legend of the hydra is brought t

    Forward motion never stops

    The legend of the hydra is brought to life as our heroes chase a madman around the globe. Ridley, the madman, is determined to find a way to live forever. He is fascinated in the mythology of the hydra and is able to run off with the head of the hydra. He has a plethora of scientists working on a formula. 

    This is the story of his methods, his inhuman actions in his quest for a serum to fulfill his dream. This is also the story of the efforts of our valiant heroes fighting to save humanity. The non-stop action is breathtaking. Very enjoyable action story with plenty of mythology, amazing feats of strength and courage, and our favorite band of secret warriors. 

    This book would be a good pick for anyone who likes science fiction, monsters, mad men, and super warriors. I highly recommend this book, the second in the Chess Team series.  If you haven’t read any of the Chess Team series, the first book is Prime and tells us how the team came into being. It is not necessary to read the first book before reading this book, though. It’s a great standalone. Now, I’m off on another adventure. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    This is an awesome book!

    Jeremy Robinson does it again! I finally had a chance to read this, simply loved it! Action, sci-fi, with a bit of creature feature. I'm quickly loving the chess team books, starting with Prime, which was also excellent. I cannot recommend it more. READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    One of the best

    Jeremy Robinson can take you on a rode like no other. The Chess Team is one of the best series I have read. If you like fast pace adventure with heroes then this is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    You may need to check your pulse while reading this fast paced,

    You may need to check your pulse while reading this fast paced, incredibly detailed adventure!!! We see Jack Sigler (code name: King) and his Chess Team get pitted up against Richard Ridley, founder of Manifold Genetics. Through Manifold, Ridley uses science & mythology to unleash hell on Sigler and company.

    Ridley tries to create an army of super-soldiers who can heal immediately and never die. The Chess Team, who are brought together by their super secret handler Deep Blue, and are asked to take down Manifold and stop Ridley.

    You will not be able to put down this intense novel, even if you wanted too.

    Fast + smart + mythology + a little humor = AN AMAZING START to an AMAZING series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Can't put down

    I love the Chess Team and the story lines are very interesting. Love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    Calling all Doc Savage and Destroyer fans. I have found a series

    Calling all Doc Savage and Destroyer fans. I have found a series that is just up your alley. Meet Jack Silger (King) and his Chess Team, Queen, Knight, Bishop, and Rook, run by a mysterious character named Deep Blue. This team's mission is to protect the world from evil. It might be a highly sophisticated terrorists, or a mythology creature that is really too real, or a madman that wants to rule the world. In King's world these are normal. A true fun action ride. Come along, you won't regret it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    If you love Doc Savage and The Destroyer, meet Jack Silger, lead

    If you love Doc Savage and The Destroyer, meet Jack Silger, leader of the Chess Team. He has a team of elite members that goes out to defeat forces that no one else could beat. (Or imagine.) Take the best military team against super science mixed with living mythology creatures, you now have a high action ride. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love that he doesn't feel the need to throw in a romantic stor

    I love that he doesn't feel the need to throw in a romantic story line distracting the readers from the thrill ride. It is a good fun read .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    A+ Great book.

    This was like reading a summer blockbuster movie. Seriously this would be an awesome movie. I was hooked by this. Great characters and flowing story. Starting the next book now....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Rock an Roll

    Fast paced, driving beats and a think while you read expert!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    If you like Robinson, you'll love this

    Very exciting..science fiction/fantasy/thriller all rolled into one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    GREAT ENTERTAINING READ!

    Loved this first installment in the Special Forces CHESS TEAM series. Lots of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Wow

    Read this.....you eill not regret it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for Action Addicts!

    This was my first Jeremy Robinson novel; I will surely read more. Mr. Robinson did a fine job developing characters and had a unique, interesting story idea that appealed to the science fiction lover in me! I adore action novels and this one kept me on the edge, just waiting to turn the next page. The only "issue" I have is why does it always have to be the woman that falls down? I'll forgive Robinson as he does include strong, intelligent women as well! I just want to see a book where it's a man that falls down and screws up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5