Customer Reviews for

Pulse (Pulse Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

SPOILERS This book was very engaging. A bit slow to reveal det

SPOILERS


This book was very engaging. A bit slow to reveal details, and I would have liked to see Faith develop her powers more before suddenly becoming a powerful Pulse, but it was still very good. I also think that Clara is a bit too perfect, but overall a very good...
SPOILERS


This book was very engaging. A bit slow to reveal details, and I would have liked to see Faith develop her powers more before suddenly becoming a powerful Pulse, but it was still very good. I also think that Clara is a bit too perfect, but overall a very good book.

posted by 13220515 on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not what i was expecting...

The book was, sad to say, not as good as the reviews promised. The plot was slow and undetailed and seemed more along the lines of a movie plot, with little development and obvious plot twist. I was really looking forward to this book based on the reviews, but it was mo...
The book was, sad to say, not as good as the reviews promised. The plot was slow and undetailed and seemed more along the lines of a movie plot, with little development and obvious plot twist. I was really looking forward to this book based on the reviews, but it was mostly a let down. :(

posted by 10671422 on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    SPOILERS This book was very engaging. A bit slow to reveal det

    SPOILERS


    This book was very engaging. A bit slow to reveal details, and I would have liked to see Faith develop her powers more before suddenly becoming a powerful Pulse, but it was still very good. I also think that Clara is a bit too perfect, but overall a very good book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Not what i was expecting...

    The book was, sad to say, not as good as the reviews promised. The plot was slow and undetailed and seemed more along the lines of a movie plot, with little development and obvious plot twist. I was really looking forward to this book based on the reviews, but it was mostly a let down. :(

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    xxxxxx

    not really sure about this one. another reviewer said it reads like a movie script and i agree with that, except its a really slow movie where you see pretty much everything coming. i get what the author is trying to set up here, im just not sure im that interested. wierd little items like what each persons weakness is reminded me of other books that were already done. plus, im afraid that some main characters will fail to evolve in the sequence of books, which can make them flat and unsatisfying when all is said and done. i really want to like this, because i really like the author and his other works, and i will read at least the next book, but im not sure yet that i will be glad i did it at the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love dystopian reads. And when you mix dystopian with a little

    I love dystopian reads. And when you mix dystopian with a little sci fi, yeah you got me hooked. And that's just what happened with this book. Honestly, when I started reading, I wasn't sure I liked the voice. I often find it hard to get into books that are written in third person. But once I immersed myself in this, I could not put it down. And it wasn't that it was so full of action and adventure (although that was certainly there), it was the characters, and their development and their reactions. The whole book was like a big puzzle I just pieced together and watched take shape!




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    With the help of her mysterious classmate Dylan Gilmore, Faith Daniels discovers that she can move objects with her mind. This telekinetic ability is called a “pulse,” and Dylan has the talent, too.
    In riveting action scenes, Faith demonstrates her ability to use her pulse against a group of telekinesis masters who are so powerful they can flatten their enemies by uprooting streetlights, throwing boulders, and changing the course of a hurtling hammer so that it becomes a deadly weapon. But even with her unusual talent, the mind--and the heart--can be difficult to control. If Faith wants to join forces with Dylan and save the world, she’ll have to harness the power of both.
    Patrick Carman’s Pulse trilogy is a stunning and epic triumph about the power of the mind--and of love.




    I can honestly say that my initial pull towards this book was not the blurb, but the cover. It's so meaningful to the book. I love that it's not faces of the characters or people in general, but it's a representation of the world Carman builds throughout the book.




    Faith is fairly typical for a teen. But she houses a secret that no one knows. And she also posses a power she herself can't even fathom. She's snarky and smart. She is not afraid to stand up for herself and go after what she wants. She's totally filled with attitude, which makes her a bit standoffish, but I am someone who appreciates a lot of sarcasm, and Faith certainly hits the mark in that area. She doesn't make friends easily, but when she does, she is profoundly loyal. And she tries hard not to let things get under her skin, but she can't help but feel that something is off at her new school, and something is off with those she is meeting there. One of her downfalls is how impulsive she can be. There is rarely any thinking with her once she sets her mind to something and this often leads her towards trouble.
    Dylan, he's quite mysterious when we first meet him. I wasn't sure if he was the brooding boy, or just shy. I venture to guess that it was all an act, knowing him as I do now. He is after something and he will stop at nothing to get it. He also won't let others get in his way, especially as he beings to form a relationship with Faith. Dylan is quite level headed and allows himself to think things through. He is not easily shaken from his position, and always has a way to reign people in.
    Faith's best friend, Liz, is in the story, but I can honestly say I didn't have a connection to her. I didn't feel who she was or what her purpose was, until she is used as a pawn. Then her appearance is understandable since she starts out as Faith's one true friend.
    Clara and Wade, well, there is something wrong with them. Their personalities are harsh and cruel. They want what they want and nothing will stand in their way, even if it means hurting a whole slew of people. I highly disliked them both (whIch I assume was what Carman was aiming for, if not, then he missed his mark).
    I am pretty sure Hawk is my favorite character. I love how sweet and endearing he is. And he's super smart, and not afraid to show it. His intelligence makes him seem much older than his 13 years. I was curious how he would fit into the story, since the other characters had a few years on him, but it really wasn't an issue. He's funny and a bit awkward and really not afraid to say what he wants to say. I'd like some more background on him.




    I can say that initially I had a hard time with the tone of the book. It took me a few chapters to get the feel or what Carman was going for: A world ravished by climate change where people were slowly dwindling from the outer lands and integrating themselves into the "states". We don't get too much of what happens inside the "States' themselves. As a matter of fact, it took me until almost 1/2 way through the book to really understand that Faith and her crew of friends were living in outer territories that didn't have much to offer. And I wondered much of the time why people would not just give in and integrate into the society held within the wall, where it seems there is so much more available (technology, food, etc.). I need more background as to why there are rebel groups, as to why these people choose not to go behind the wall. This was my biggest issue with this book and the reason I could not rate it higher than 4 stars.




    I did like Carman's pacing. He kept me turning the pages and sucked me into the story as I wondered what was going on and where he was leading his characters. I can say that I think Carman could have introduced a better understanding of his world earlier on in the book. It took too long for me to understand what was really going on. I also love how there is all this technology amongst a land that seems so barren and unable to sustain people. It's interesting that this technology would exist outside the "states" and that the government would even allow it. While there is this underlying dystopian element, it's not really as harsh as other world's I've been introduced to. The government allows the people outside the wall more freedom than I think they would afford in a highly regulated dystopian society such as the ones we see in The Hunger Games and Divergent. If you're looking for that type of society, you won't find it in this book.




    Overall I really enjoyed reading this. I want to know more about the rebels. I would also like to know more about what goes on behind the wall and why the rebels choose to stay out. There has to be something within that part of society that is striking a nerve with these people. I need more of it! Looking forward to seeing how it develops in Tremor.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I wanna

    I wanna read this book. Pitticus lore said it was great by the way the best selling series for i am number four and if you havent read that series i dont know what you are doing with you lives people. Well this bok sounds fun and new. Hopefully it worth 5 stars and when i am done reading it i will tell you .
    - I am number four fangirl

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    A

    Omg i loved this book i havent read a book as good as this one in a long time. I think that it is perfectly paced. There was alot of didnt-see-that-coming and omg moments. This book was pure perfection. I cant wait till the next books in the triligy come out but that is going to be along time from now so i guess we all have to wait and see what happens nexst

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Amazing Book

    I give this book a 3.5 because the plot and everything was very interesting. But after finishing the book, I had no idea what the main conflict was. Sure, there were a lot of problems, but none of them popped out at me. Anyway, the plot and characters were amazing and at times funny. WARNING: it was kindbof sad at the end but I won't tell because I don't want to ruin the book if you choose to read it- which you should. Overall, I thought the book was awesome and a page turner. I so recommend this book to sci-fy lovers and action lovers!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I loved it! I often wonder if there are powerful people out ther

    I loved it! I often wonder if there are powerful people out there like that, that we don't even realize. It is worthy enough for me to pass it onto my roommate to read, because she heard me moaning about it while I was reading it. OH and I loved the trailer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2015

    To tristan

    Ok i will tell her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2015

    To below

    Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Aimed at the 10-15 year old set, this book may have too much of

    Aimed at the 10-15 year old set, this book may have too much of a slow burn to hold a kid's attention. However, the writing style is clear, and while the plot is clearly all setup for later novels, the characters and setting are fascinating. Recommended for ages 10-14. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    I had been tremendously excited for this book when I got this. I

    I had been tremendously excited for this book when I got this. I was excited about the awesome cover and this really interesting concept. There were these people with the ability to use their minds to move stuff, not entirely different, but I'll bite this time to see if it was anything new. As excited as I was to read this, I wanted to DNF it several times.

    The characters were entirely bland and didn't stand out. I guess it was cool that they could move stuff with their minds, but that was just about it. I did enjoy Hawk, her techie friend, but even he was creepy and weird how he would constantly be watching her. Faith was just irritating and so selfish, even when she was learning how to use her powers.

    There was a sad attempt at a love triangle, but it all seemed convoluted and strange. It's always interesting in books that take place in the future because you wonder what type of technology they will come up with. This book had the added benefit of paranormal powers. By benefit, I'm using that term very lightly. There was this strange "drug" that they had which was a computer program that got you high. Cool right? How about the book making it essentially okay that one of Faith's Beau's used it on her.

    I also really didn't understand the ending. Maybe I was just missing the entire point of this book, but I couldn't connect. I didn't like the plot, the characters or really anything about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    READ

    This book is so awsome can't wait for the next one!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Nat

    Awsome book can't till the sequeal

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Sexy

    Made me really horny!

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1