Customer Reviews for

Puppies For Dummies

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A great book for the new or seasoned puppy owner.

A LOT of good practical information on getting off to a good start with a new puppy. My daughter, who has raised a large number of puppies, was very impressed with the information in the book. I was very pleased with the straight forward, easy to apply, way the informat...
A LOT of good practical information on getting off to a good start with a new puppy. My daughter, who has raised a large number of puppies, was very impressed with the information in the book. I was very pleased with the straight forward, easy to apply, way the information was presented.

posted by 3042811 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Birdkit

Mew?

posted by 5948575 on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    A great book for the new or seasoned puppy owner.

    A LOT of good practical information on getting off to a good start with a new puppy. My daughter, who has raised a large number of puppies, was very impressed with the information in the book. I was very pleased with the straight forward, easy to apply, way the information was presented.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Awesome

    Best book ever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    New puppy owners help

    Excellent book for new puppy owners of every breed. Easy to reference and find examples to implement. Haven't had a puppy in years and forgot how much care they need. This book answered all my questions

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    An Excellent Reference

    I got a puppy for Christmas and immediately got this book. It is a wonderful reference (though would have been more beneficial if bought before I got him). Topics covered are housebreaking, fun educational games, barking, aggression, and other topics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Good if you are a rookie puppy owner

    We were clueless about puppies (yes, dummies) - so this book was perfect as it assumes you know nothing. I also think it will be a good resource as the puppy gets older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    excellent resource

    Two friends recently got puppies. I bought each of them a copy of this book. It is loaded with practical information that, put to use, will make dog ownership better for you and your pet. The book is very down to earth and user friendly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2002

    what an awsome book!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I had been looking and looking for a good puppy book befor I picked up our puppy, and this one was the best out of all of them. I liked most about this book was: easy to read and it teaches you how to think like a dog thinks and how they look at the world. Once I understood this, It made trainning much easier. We are all much happer now that we know how to work with the dog and not against her and she is happy as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    Now I know I'm ready, thanks to this book

    This book was a good source to get me on track with the decision making that comes with getting a puppy. It helps you analyze yourself if your ready and how to meet the needs of a puppy with an already demanding lifestyle. It also helps identify which dog would best suit you. The reading level was so simple I easily made it through the entire book in less than a week. Well now that I have read this I'm off to go get my new puppy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    Almost everything you need to know !!!

    This book gives you all the information you could need when you get a new puppy. It explains in clear, understandable English how, why and when on just about everything relating to puppy care. This book is to raising puppies, what Dr. Spock has been to child-rearing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Paris Love

    I use to have a dog named Ash. This book really helped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Pupies

    I have had puppies my WHOLE LIFE but i recommond this book to first time puppy owners

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Puppies for dummies

    FANTASTIC BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    To below

    Did you know people say that this is the best book to help you raise children? That is the same exact thing. You are an idiot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Honey

    Goes and gets some webs and some moss

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Mystic

    "Ok..." *starts walking to camp*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    I am not dumb

    Dumb people are smarter than this book!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Not impressed

    Overall the book did have some useful information, but Every time I thought I was actually going to get some information it would touch on the subject and say will be covered more in Ch. such and such and when you get to that Ch. it would say covered more in Ch. such and such. If I'm in a chapter about housetraining your puppy then I want all the information in that Chapter not to where I get a bit and bit in different chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Good Info for First Time Puppy Owners

    I bought this book and found that I did know a lot of the material since I've owned about 5 dogs, but no matter how much you think you know, there's always more! Not every technique works for every puppy but it gives you an idea of what to do. Some dogs like Bianca and using it as a deterent for jumping may not work but i use a spray bottle which works well since my dog does not like getting wet. At least it gives suggestions so people don't yell at their puppies for jumping b/c it will send the wrong message! This book also gives some breed info and a puppy quiz to help you pick a breed more suited to your lifestyle! Very good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2