Customer Reviews for

Puppy Chow Is Better Than Prozac: The True Story of a Man and the Dog Who Saved His Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book

Goldstein writes with such humor and wit as he details his life with Ozzy. For those with mental illness and dog lovers alike, this book is a pearl.

posted by Karen9999 on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Overemotional Tripe

Not only is this a dreary recitation of the author's constant crying, shaking, and carrying on. it doesn't even do justice to the dog. If I weren't a dog lover, on the basis of this book, I'd never get one. All the author talks about is the dog's diarhea, vomiting, che...
Not only is this a dreary recitation of the author's constant crying, shaking, and carrying on. it doesn't even do justice to the dog. If I weren't a dog lover, on the basis of this book, I'd never get one. All the author talks about is the dog's diarhea, vomiting, chewing things up--not food. He never gives one instance of this dog's showing compassion for him, or trying to make him feel better. Since my own long experience with myriad dogs have shown me how sensitive they are to people's moods and how they'll try to alleviate your depression by snuggling with you, I find it strange that all Mr. Goldstein can discuss is picking up poop. I also was annoyed by his constant begging to God, and also his blaming Satan for his problems. I don't know Mr. Goldstein's religion, but, from his name, I would've presumed he could be Jewish, but Judaism isn't that involved with Satan or the numbers 666. Jews do talk to God, but it's not necessary to spend page after page saying you implored God for something. Does this man ever pray?

posted by Brainylainy on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    Depressing Yet Well Written

    He changed his mind of being depressed then happy many times but in to end the book is very interesting. It also kept me reading, which is very hard for me, seeing as how i only read when i have to. Reccomended for all who won't take the depressing parts with too much of a heavy heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good...

    This book was very good. It was well developed, and very interesting. I would highly reccomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Great book

    Goldstein writes with such humor and wit as he details his life with Ozzy. For those with mental illness and dog lovers alike, this book is a pearl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2015

    Great book!!!!!!

    This book was so touching, i really enjoyed reading it. My friend recommended it to me and im so glad i went through with reading it. I recommend this book to anyone who loves to read, loves animals, or if you have had depression. This book was so personal, it really touched my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    A must read for anyone with a chemical imbalance or cares for someone who does!

    Puppy Chow is Better than Prozac not only gave me solace in dealing with my own chemical imbalance but gave my husband a better understanding and different viewpoint into my daily internal battles. Mr. Goldstein's upfront honesty as well as splashes of humor will allow you a voyueristic peek into what some of us call our reality. By sharing his mission of
    acquiring a canine companion, we are all shown the amazing power of not only having a purpose in life but the need for unconditional love.

    I highly recommend this book to all who have been touched by emotional or mental disabilities as well as every dog lover on the planet. I believe you will come away with a much better understanding of both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful and heartwarming

    This book was so enjoyable and delightful read. It had me so absorbed in it that it did not take me long to read! It has a very heartwarming story about the author and his black lab Ozzy. It is very inspirational and I reccommend everyone to read this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Wow

    From the opening sentence...to the last...readers will appreciate how one seemingly insignificant four-legged creature made a life-altering difference to a young, suicidally depressed man. This book focuses on the ability of dogs to touch our souls and provide unconditional love and support during times of extreme psychological stress and of course every day life. 'A dog is the only thing on earth who loves us more than he loves himself' How true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    absolutely amazing

    the way the author writes in such detail about all of the thoughts running through his head so rapidly reminded me of how my own brain jumps from idea to idea. the book is very personal and the author gives great insight into his own personality as well as his mental illness. dealing with my own depression, this book really encouraged me to fight it and reminded me that i can depend on animals whenever they need me. i had my younger sister read it as well and she loved it almost as much as i did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Unbelievably touching

    I loved this book! I thought that after Marley & Me that all dog-meets-man stories would just be the same. But then I read Puppy Chow is Better Than Prozac. This comes at you from a different angle. Sure, Marley was a great dog, but Ozzy saved a life! This book made me a little more comfortable about my past depression and now I feel a little less crazy about babying my pets. :' A must read for any animal lover, anyone struggling with a mental illness, or anyone with a heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    A touching memoir about a life saved by a puppy

    I was very excited to finally receive my copy of this book. I have been hearing about it for a month on the web. I found this story compelling a very readable. The authors descriptions of his symptoms and subsequent diagnosis of manic depression are vivid and thought provoking. He really hits a low point before deciding that a dog might be his last chance. The story that follows is hilarious and touching. As Bruce's trial and error education in puppy rearing commences we laugh and cry with him as Ozzy, his adorable black lab puppy, drags Bruce back into life. I think anyone who lives with a pet can tell you that they can lift your sprits with a warm nuzzle, but this dog truly saved this mans life. A great read for pet lovers, but also a thoughtful memoir about coping with mental illness and a wonderful tale about falling in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1