Customer Reviews for

The Puppy Diaries: Raising a Dog Named Scout

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Must read for golden owners

Entertaining book the kids might like it. All about raising a golden puppy. Woof!

posted by 9305462 on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Boring

When I first read the description of The Puppy Diaries I thought, hey this could be an interesting read. Maybe somewhat like Marley & Me. I thought the stories would be heartwarming and the dog's personality would just jump out at you. But about thirty pages into the bo...
When I first read the description of The Puppy Diaries I thought, hey this could be an interesting read. Maybe somewhat like Marley & Me. I thought the stories would be heartwarming and the dog's personality would just jump out at you. But about thirty pages into the book I realized it wasn't going to be that way.

To put it simply, it was boring. It came to a point where I had to force myself to continue to read it. Since the whole book is about the puppy, Scout, the reader has to feel connected or feel something for her to want to keep flipping the pages. What I felt was indifference. This book wasn't a compelling read. It felt like watching a television show when the actors were reading right from their scripts-no creativity or expression.

Maybe it was because the author, Jill Abramson, was a former investigative journalist, and that type of journalism deals in facts and evidence, whereas a book like this needs lots of heart and fun. Unfortunately, the Puppy Diaries didn't deliver much of either. If you walk by this book in your bookstore or library, I would just pass it by

posted by writingirl_15 on July 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    When I first read the description of The Puppy Diaries I thought, hey this could be an interesting read. Maybe somewhat like Marley & Me. I thought the stories would be heartwarming and the dog's personality would just jump out at you. But about thirty pages into the book I realized it wasn't going to be that way.

    To put it simply, it was boring. It came to a point where I had to force myself to continue to read it. Since the whole book is about the puppy, Scout, the reader has to feel connected or feel something for her to want to keep flipping the pages. What I felt was indifference. This book wasn't a compelling read. It felt like watching a television show when the actors were reading right from their scripts-no creativity or expression.

    Maybe it was because the author, Jill Abramson, was a former investigative journalist, and that type of journalism deals in facts and evidence, whereas a book like this needs lots of heart and fun. Unfortunately, the Puppy Diaries didn't deliver much of either. If you walk by this book in your bookstore or library, I would just pass it by

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    AUDIO VERSION!

    THE PUPPY DIARIES: RAISING A DOG NAMED SCOUT by Jill Abramson read by Beth MacDonald is an interesting audio book that chronicles a puppy's first year. It is an instructive story of Scout,the adorable new puppy of Jill Abranson and her husband. It is told with clarity and details. While, this story did not capture my attention,at times rather slow,if you enjoy puppy stories and their owners you would enjoy this one. It give the account of the trials and joys of raising young Scout with insight into doy training. Although,it gives a moving tale of losing one's beloved pet and bringing another into one's life,it did not seem to be my cup of tea. It would however,it would appeal to any dog lover,pet owners,memoirs lovers,and human interest readers as Jill Abramson,New York Times columnist's re-accounts her new puppy's first year. Received for review from the publisher.Details can be found at Macmillan Audio; Unabridged edition and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Must read for golden owners

    Entertaining book the kids might like it. All about raising a golden puppy. Woof!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Loved this book

    Well written, of course, touching, informative and full of love

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Dogs are WAY cooler then cats

    This book was very intresting i lovvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeddd it
    It was very cool.*******************$$$$$$$$$$$$$+++++++++:)
    ; )@%%%%&&&&&&&&&**************************$$$$%%%%$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$############# if i could rate from 1-10 id choose 1,000,000

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Dos are cooler than cats

    This is an amazing book I think if you like dogs read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An enchanting tale of the trials, tribulations and joys of raising a puppy. In The Puppy Diaries you meet and get to tag along with the author Jill and her husband Henry as they raise their beautiful dog named Scout from puppy through early adult

    In The Puppy Diaries you meet and get to tag along with the author Jill and her husband Henry as they raise their beautiful dog named Scout from puppy through early adulthood. Their story begins with their introduction of Buddy a feisty Westie, Jill's first dog. Scout however joined the Abramson's later in their life after they had raised their children and became empty-nesters. The story of Buddy left me teary eyed, as a dog owner I certainly could relate to having to watch a precious family pet suffer and it surfaced many memories for me. As every pet owner knows, eventually that dreaded day does come when for whatever reason or circumstances we must say our goodbyes to our beloved pet. After losing Buddy Jill struggles with wanting to adopt another dog. She has many worries. Will she love her next dog just as much as she loved Buddy? Jill feels it is to soon once friends and family begin to offer her ideas for acquiring another dog. However a couple years later Henry is soon in love with a certain breed, an almost snow white Golden Retriever and begins to lure Jill toward a breeder. Soon after Jill and Henry adopt Scout and an enchanting tale begins. I got to share in their joy as Jill and Henry get their pick from the litter, go shopping for those exciting first dog toys, treats and other goodies new dog owners just can't pass up. Just like bringing a new baby home a comparison Jill makes in her book many times. As all true pet owners know that pet excitement is short lived and the real responsibilities begin once that pup is brought home. First living in Connecticut then moving to an apartment in New York City Scout has to adjust to these changes. Jill takes us through all Scout's good and bad days, the chewing stages, socializing, walks, even puppy obedience class. All the joys, frustrations and mishaps that come with dog ownership are chronicled for the reader. All loving dog owners know we only want the best for our dogs but sometimes they can bring out the worst in us. Which leaves Jill wondering many times how she will make it through another day of Scout dragging her through the streets of New York City without getting hit by a taxi or other vehicle. The ironic part of this story is that Jill does get hit by a vehicle in New York City, actually a truck and ends up seriously injured but she was actually alone when this happens. Throughout the book you get to learn the quirks and habits of Jill and Henry and why Scout acts the way she does. There are many surprises along the way in this book and many I could relate to. I would recommend this audiobook to any dog lover or any one contemplating getting a dog. If you have or have had a dog you will easily relate to Jill's daily routines, rules and training approaches when it comes to her life with Scout. Including being dragged around when going for a walk with your dog, until you figure out what works to slow the race or finding out that their weight or size as predicted when you acquire the dog as a pup.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Training hollow

    Train your apprintences here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    HI JENNA AND EMMARIE THIS IS CAITLYNE WRITE BACK AS SON AS YOU CAN

    Hi im 12 years old

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Jenna

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Join team zecrom at dutel jump.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Emmarie

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Recommended for extreme dog lovers

    A bit too much humanizing of an animal. I have loved all my many dogs madly, but they were dogs, not people. I love telling stories of all of them. But I think Jill carried the frief of the first too far and the guilt about training Scout too far also. It was really a good read, however.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1