BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pure

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great post-apocalyptic dystopian!

As a dystopian lover I was really excited to read this book. It's a dytopian that takes place post-apocalypse. This book is fabulously written. It's intense, dark, and a bit unsettling. The descriptiveness of the environment and characters is amazing. Just think, humans...
As a dystopian lover I was really excited to read this book. It's a dytopian that takes place post-apocalypse. This book is fabulously written. It's intense, dark, and a bit unsettling. The descriptiveness of the environment and characters is amazing. Just think, humans and animals that are fused with items that they were near when the detonation happened. People with glass, metal, plastic, and other things embedded in their skin. Others with living animals attached to them, or other people fused on their backs, arms, or legs. Totally creepy and disturbing right? There are also creatures that live out in the dirt and rocks. They are vicious and mean. Then there are the Pures who were safely in the Dome when the detonation happened and they are untouched and living in a controlled environment, pretty oblivious to what is really going on with the survivors outside the Dome. They are told that outside the Dome the "wretches" are violent. They are like two separate worlds, neither really knows the truth about the other. I will admit that I had a little bit of a hard time getting into it initially, but after a few chapters I couldn't stop reading!


The story goes back and forth from Pressia, and Partridge at first. Pressia being a survivor on the outside, and Partridge a Pure. I really liked both characters a lot. Partridge is a very determined and strong character, especially since he has been living relatively cushy and nice inside the Dome. Pressia is tough and strong because she has to be. That is how you survive outside the Dome. Then add in a few other character PoV's, like Lydia, and El Capitan. Lydia is really just an innocent bystander, but she is really smart and eventually has a bigger part in the story. All of them have their own thing going on and we get to know the story from a lot of different angles.


I don't even really now what to say about this book. It really is hard to explain. It has mystery, suspense, and is quite disturbing, but not in a bad way. We find out some interesting things about the Dome and the characters. This is a wonderful dystopian that takes it to a whole other level. It pushes further than just a government controlled world. It was a pretty long book, and it started off slow, but overall I really enjoyed it. It has some cringe worthy stuff in it, so keep in mind that this is not a light read at all. It is exactly the opposite. I really felt like I needed a pick me up after this book. It took my mind to a dark, and disturbed place that I had to shake off when I was done. This was a pretty twisted, but great post-apocalyptic dystopian that is worth reading!

posted by Amabe421 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

This book grabbed me from the first page but sort of let me down at the end. It felt like the first book of a trilogy and the ending was (to me) unsatisfactory, Still, if you liked the Hunger Games books, you will like this.

posted by SuZQ41 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great post-apocalyptic dystopian!

    As a dystopian lover I was really excited to read this book. It's a dytopian that takes place post-apocalypse. This book is fabulously written. It's intense, dark, and a bit unsettling. The descriptiveness of the environment and characters is amazing. Just think, humans and animals that are fused with items that they were near when the detonation happened. People with glass, metal, plastic, and other things embedded in their skin. Others with living animals attached to them, or other people fused on their backs, arms, or legs. Totally creepy and disturbing right? There are also creatures that live out in the dirt and rocks. They are vicious and mean. Then there are the Pures who were safely in the Dome when the detonation happened and they are untouched and living in a controlled environment, pretty oblivious to what is really going on with the survivors outside the Dome. They are told that outside the Dome the "wretches" are violent. They are like two separate worlds, neither really knows the truth about the other. I will admit that I had a little bit of a hard time getting into it initially, but after a few chapters I couldn't stop reading!


    The story goes back and forth from Pressia, and Partridge at first. Pressia being a survivor on the outside, and Partridge a Pure. I really liked both characters a lot. Partridge is a very determined and strong character, especially since he has been living relatively cushy and nice inside the Dome. Pressia is tough and strong because she has to be. That is how you survive outside the Dome. Then add in a few other character PoV's, like Lydia, and El Capitan. Lydia is really just an innocent bystander, but she is really smart and eventually has a bigger part in the story. All of them have their own thing going on and we get to know the story from a lot of different angles.


    I don't even really now what to say about this book. It really is hard to explain. It has mystery, suspense, and is quite disturbing, but not in a bad way. We find out some interesting things about the Dome and the characters. This is a wonderful dystopian that takes it to a whole other level. It pushes further than just a government controlled world. It was a pretty long book, and it started off slow, but overall I really enjoyed it. It has some cringe worthy stuff in it, so keep in mind that this is not a light read at all. It is exactly the opposite. I really felt like I needed a pick me up after this book. It took my mind to a dark, and disturbed place that I had to shake off when I was done. This was a pretty twisted, but great post-apocalyptic dystopian that is worth reading!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Shock and Awe!

    In PURE, Julianna Baggott concocted a surreal riddle for her readers to unravel. She has created dual worlds—outside and inside the Dome—and an unforgettable cast of characters—Pressia and Partridge, Lyda and El Capitan—each with his/her own motive and mission, each struggling to discover what it means to be alive after the Detonations. This is a novel of many layers: a speculative account of a not-too-far-fetched future; a story of love and betrayal; a dark postapocalyptic novel with elements of fantasy and science fiction; a tale of family dissolution and reconciliation; a coming-of-age story in a world where actually coming of age can get you killed.

    When I received the ARC of this novel, I began reading it about 9 pm on a Friday night. By sunrise I had finished the novel. That was the first novel—since Nabokov’s Lolita, actually—that I’ve read straight through the night to the last page. Honestly, I’ll recommend this to everyone—from my nephews and nieces to my grandmother—in the coming weeks. It has that broad of an appeal.

    Outside the Dome, you’ll find the Deadlands and Meltland, a world whose sky is clotted with ash, where the OSR, a mysterious security force that patrols the streets, snatches miscreants from alleys and bedrooms and barbershops. You’ll meet some strange characters—Wretches—people scarred from the Detonations, some who no longer even looked human, some missing arms and legs, some with extra arms and legs, and extra heads, too. Their bodies are fused with bits of machinery, and with the playthings of children, and with the children themselves. But they are still human.

    Within the safety of the Dome—the dystopian, insular society cut off from the outside world—you’ll find Pures who breathe filtered air and learn filtered history lessons. The Dome is as scary as it is sterile.

    I won’t say whether I’d rather live inside or outside the Dome. I will, however, say that I’m looking forward to my next jaunt into this world of Baggott’s imagination.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Woohoo no love triangle!

    I loved this because when it says that Partridge and Pressia's worlds collide when they meet each other I assumed there was going to be romance. I kept waiting for the love triangle to develop with Bradwell, and it didn't :) refreshing. I loved this book for many other reasons, but this was the big one.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    A must-read for fans of dystopian!

    PURE is one of the most original, uncomfortably creepy, and engrossing dystopian novels I've read in a long time. I haven't read a book this intense since ASHES by Ilsa J. Bick. In fact, I'm not even sure how to review it, because I don't really know how to explain it.

    The world of Pure is ugly and grim, except for those who live in The Dome, where life is preserved and regulated. Those outside the dome are often horribly disfigured, fused with parts of the world around them: metal, glass, animals, other humans...anything they were near or touching when "the detonations" came. I can't possibly describe it effectively, but Julianna does it brilliantly.

    The best thing about this story, even though I am completely drawn in by the world and all its strangeness, is the characters. They are multi-dimensional and complex and PERFECT. I can't believe how complicated their relationships were, how inter-woven they became. I can't even choose a favorite. I loved them. I worried about them. I cheered and cried for them. I can't wait to learn more about them in the next book.

    If you are a fan of dystopian, you simply MUST read this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great dystopia

    My Summary:

    The before was years ago. Pressia can't be sure if the memories she has of the before are her own or the combination of others memories she's heard. She knows the now very well. The death spree, the fused bodies, the lack of food, and the requirement that she turn herself in when she turns sixteen. There's no point, of course. If she does, they will kill her as a live target. So she might as well run.

    Partridge remembers the before well. He remembers his mother taking him to the beach and the song she sings to him. But that was before and now his mother is gone - lost outside the Dome trying to save others. But when a comment makes him think she may be still alive, he must find her. But how? Once Partridge meets Pressia everything changes.

    My Thoughts:

    4 stars - a great read

    This book is a puzzle - a masterful puzzle. Nothing is as it seems. What it seems is very disturbing. A dystopia society that is far worse then most I've read, this book creates an incredible class war between those who were protected and those who have suffered through the devastation. The characters are strong and emotionally compelling. The story is twisting and turning.

    I became friends with Pressia and Partridge. On opposite sides of the class war, they are real and caring despite the cruelty all around them. I found myself routing for them and hoping that they would be successful even as I wondered what success would look like. Who should they trust? Is there a master plan being followed? It's the kind of story where you can look for the clues and piece them together. I like those kind of stories. I like to discover the truth of it and this one was one surprise after another. Nice.

    If dystopia is your genre, then this is a must read. If you like a little mystery though in, then this is a must read. A masterfully brilliant story that will have you turning the pages quickly to figure out what is really going on.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Pure" is a pure delight to read.

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Pressia Belze lives with her grandfather in the back room of a barbershop which was reduced to rubble in the aftermath of the Detonation, the bombing apocalypse that destroyed everything in the world. Now there is just destruction and dust where once families lived happily together. Pressia, like everyone who survived, is maimed for life, her doll's head now permanently affixed to her hand. She admires Bradwell, another teenage survivor, who has three fluttering, live birds stuck permanently to his back as a result of the Detonation. Pressia and Bradwell meet up with Patridge, one of the lucky ones called Pure who live safely in a gigantic Dome that protects them from the catastrophic world that Pressia and Bradwell call home. Partridge doesn't see himself as lucky and has escaped the safety of the Dome where his father is one of the men in charge. He seeks his mother who he knows helped many people during the Detonation. Lyda, Partridge's girlfriend inside the Dome, joins their adventures as she, Partridge, Pressia and Bradwell join up with El Captain and his brother Helmud to fight off the bad guys and find the truth of what really happened on that day when the earth was ravished.

    "Pure" is a fascinating young adult science fiction story that will captivate many readers. Its storyline is complex but totally understandable and the plot flows smoothly to the story's conclusion which promises more. "Pure" is the first book in a trilogy. The characters of Pressia, Bradwell, Partridge, Lyda, El Captain, and even bad guy Ingership are well-delineated and believable. "Pure" is a pure delight to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Recommended

    This book grabbed me from the first page but sort of let me down at the end. It felt like the first book of a trilogy and the ending was (to me) unsatisfactory, Still, if you liked the Hunger Games books, you will like this.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    I heard this book was being advertised as an adult book. But I h

    I heard this book was being advertised as an adult book. But I have seen many Young Adult bloggers picking it up with some crossover appeal. In finishing the story I felt it was no different than most of the dystopian books in the YA market today and that if you enjoyed The Hunger Games, Divergent, Ashfall or Dark Inside you may like this story as well.
    It's dark, it's intense and it's freaky. Deformed people living in horrendous situations in a world that's been almost completely destroyed by the "detonations" and I am not just talking about the "wretches" that live outside the dome. Those that live within the dome are not in the utopian state that the others believe. Although like most people in this world I would choose to live in the dome than outside without a second thought.
    The story is told from several perspectives, mostly Partridge and Pressia but as the story progresses we get to jump a round a little into others perspectives as well. Every character has their place, there are no huge info dumps and the pace and intensity of the novel is a constant level of fear and the unknown. A continuing idea throughout the book was, looking for beauty in the small things. From a trinket in the dirt, to the rare and welcomed smile on a face, or the nicety of trading just a little more food than what was agreed upon, just because.
    This is by far one of my favorite reads this year. As I stated above this was one I chose to listen to the audiobook and still all this emotion and intensity comes through, maybe even more clear in the emotions of the narrators. I think it was put together very well and I recommend that if you enjoy audiobooks that this is one you listen to. I fully intend on buying myself a physical copy as soon as possible. It's a fantastic cover, that fits this story perfectly and an addition to my collection I'd be happy to own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    WOW! This book completely surprised me with it great detailing of an apocalyptic world. I love dystopian books. I was so excited to dive into this book. It gave me exactly what I wanted and more.
    What really hooked me in this book is the world created in it. I love being taken out of my world and put into the world that author made. The way the world was describe, the emotions that flowed from page to page, left me the feeling of being in the characters shoes. Pure, gave me the moment of aweness where the whole world around me fell down and I fell into the pages of adventure.

    The secrets exposed in the book left me feeling exciting. I loved following the characters and being in the same position they are. As I read the book, the plot pacing is good. There are a few points in the story that for me slow down, but again Ms. Baggot built up the plot leading the reader further in to the world.

    For me, the best part of the book is the feeling of contentment in the end. I really enjoyed being in the world. That is the best part of reading. Leaving the real world and enjoying a great fantasy.

    Pure aims at the readers heart with adventure, action, and two people searching for answers. Pure delivers a well crafted apocalyptic world that's engaging in every twist and turn. I can't wait to read what the next book holds!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy Fantastic Dystopia!!!

    Pure is a creepy, fantastic Dystopia. Julianna Baggott built an incredibly dark dystopia world with the Pure and Wretches. Baggott definitely gave me spine-tingling chills with the mutations of the Wretches. I also loved the characters, Pressia, Partridge, Bradwell and Lyda, with the story being told through the main character's, Pressia and Partidge, POV, but there were also a few chapters told through Lyda and El Capitan’s POV. Julianna Baggott is a very talented, descriptive writer. I had no problem visualizing the horrible mutations and this dark dystopia world.

    Pressia is a Wretche, and she just turned sixteen and is supposed to surrender to the OSR, but she chooses to run, instead. The only one she can think of to help her is Bradwell. Bradwell is a conspiracy theorist who has his own ideas about the Detonation that destroyed the world. Pressia doesn't care about Bradwell's theory, she just wants his help to keep her safe from the OSR. On her way to Bradwell, she finds Partridge, but Partridge is a Pure and Pure's live in the Dome and they never leave. Pressia is only interested in keeping herself alive, but she will have to help Partridge and Bradwell, trying to keep all of them alive. And his theory might not be theory, after all.

    Pure has two romances going on. One is between Pressia and Bradwell, and the other is Partridge and Lyda. But even though I love romance, I have to say I really enjoyed Bradwell and Partridge’s relationship. Bradwell had no problem showing Partridge (this Pure) the ways of how the Wretches live. No matter what kind of world guys live in, guys will be guys, and I loved these two together.

    Pure has a dark, amazing, and intriguing storyline that had Pressia, Partridge and Bradwell on mission to discover the truth about their world and their self with all the suspense, mystery, action and romance you could ask for. I highly recommend Pure as a must read. Just be ready for few eerie chills with this Dystopia.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    With all the post-apocalyptic/dystopian novels out, it's hard t

    With all the post-apocalyptic/dystopian novels out, it's hard to find
    one that's unique in any way. Pure, by Julianna Baggott definitely
    fills the bill. Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for letting me
    read it! One of the strongest features of this book - description -
    turns out to also be one of its weakest. The author writes in vivid
    detail, so it's easy to picture everything in your mind. This was great
    when she was describing the combinations of people and inanimate objects
    and/or animals. It takes a great imagination to come up with a heroine
    with a doll head for a hand. But sometimes the detail was just too
    much; the long paragraphs depicting the new world tended to drag on the
    storyline to me. Pure is a solid, entertaining post-apocalyptic tale
    that easily holds the reader's attention. It's suitable for teenagers
    and adults alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Beautiful writing, but weird pacing

    This was a very interesting novel—what I loved about it is that it’s very weird (perhaps that’s my Swedish side), dark, bloody and grotesque, while at the same time exciting and beautiful. The sci-fi elements are imaginative and amazing and graphic… when else do you meet the protagonist and she is horribly scarred and has a doll head fused to her hand?

    Pure was definitely a ride and very intriguing, the descriptions were beautifully written and detailed oriented. That said, there was almost too much description and it really affected the pace of the book. Secrets are revealed slowly, building a great amount of suspense, but we don’t find out a few important things, such as the status of this post apocalypse world… what is the time period? Why is there a Dome?
    There were some questions I had about the nuclear attack—granted it’s a very lofty scenario to create but some of these things distracted me while reading them, taking me out of the escape of the book.

    The descriptions and build up actually makes the plot hard to identify at times—I felt like the book didn’t even start until one of the characters wants to escape, and it’s quite a bit into the story. The author spent so much time setting the story and conflict up, it was a little anticlimactic overall. While there were some great plot twists, it felt suddenly like the plot was hurried and the ending was somewhat resolved and had an unfinished feeling.

    Overall, I enjoyed the writer’s descriptive writing, it’s very visually written, creating intense imagery. Yet it’s almost overloaded with the set up and descriptions, so it was a little harder to get through. I prefer a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Sounds soooo good dont no if i should get it

    I am 13 and dont no it i should get this book! What do u think??? :)

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    @firebird124

    From what it says i think it would be good

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Excellent

    I enjoyed this book so much l rushed to get the rest of the series. What a fresh and intriging view of what could happen if the bombs dropped. Vivid background. Fleshed out main characters. A human interest, love story, survival and fantasy all in one. I am 60 years old and I couldn't put it down. I can't wait to get through the other two books, but will also be sad that the story will end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Extraordinary

    This is what dystopian tales should be like. Gruesome and yet captivating, it kept me going. The characters are lovable and they all have power in their weaknesses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    If u love to reaf

    Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Liked it but.......

    Like it but why are we continuously pushed into reading a series? Ugh! Yet another book to wait for. My waiting is causing all these series' to meld. However, this story was fun and was one I didn't want to put down. Parts were occassionally perdictable . Will have to wait for book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    The best series I have read

    This book and its sequel have everything I have always hoped for in a book but never find. It is so amazing I have re-read the whole thing twice and re-read my favorite POVs more times than i can remember. You have to give it a try

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    It stays with you. Many of the images in _Pure_ are creepy and s

    It stays with you.
    Many of the images in _Pure_ are creepy and strange. The world will stay with you long after the book is done. I bought and read this several months ago, yet the imagery is still fresh in my mind. Julianna Baggot paints with words. While horrible, many of the images have a kind of beauty at the same time. The contrast of this world-gone-wrong with the kind of innocence that the protagonists still carry in spite of it makes the story resonate with originality. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys anime, in particular, because it strikes similar notes to some of the best anime that I have seen.

    The story stands alone solidly, although it is part of series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6