Customer Reviews for

Pure

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great post-apocalyptic dystopian!

As a dystopian lover I was really excited to read this book. It's a dytopian that takes place post-apocalypse. This book is fabulously written. It's intense, dark, and a bit unsettling. The descriptiveness of the environment and characters is amazing. Just think, humans...
As a dystopian lover I was really excited to read this book. It's a dytopian that takes place post-apocalypse. This book is fabulously written. It's intense, dark, and a bit unsettling. The descriptiveness of the environment and characters is amazing. Just think, humans and animals that are fused with items that they were near when the detonation happened. People with glass, metal, plastic, and other things embedded in their skin. Others with living animals attached to them, or other people fused on their backs, arms, or legs. Totally creepy and disturbing right? There are also creatures that live out in the dirt and rocks. They are vicious and mean. Then there are the Pures who were safely in the Dome when the detonation happened and they are untouched and living in a controlled environment, pretty oblivious to what is really going on with the survivors outside the Dome. They are told that outside the Dome the "wretches" are violent. They are like two separate worlds, neither really knows the truth about the other. I will admit that I had a little bit of a hard time getting into it initially, but after a few chapters I couldn't stop reading!


The story goes back and forth from Pressia, and Partridge at first. Pressia being a survivor on the outside, and Partridge a Pure. I really liked both characters a lot. Partridge is a very determined and strong character, especially since he has been living relatively cushy and nice inside the Dome. Pressia is tough and strong because she has to be. That is how you survive outside the Dome. Then add in a few other character PoV's, like Lydia, and El Capitan. Lydia is really just an innocent bystander, but she is really smart and eventually has a bigger part in the story. All of them have their own thing going on and we get to know the story from a lot of different angles.


I don't even really now what to say about this book. It really is hard to explain. It has mystery, suspense, and is quite disturbing, but not in a bad way. We find out some interesting things about the Dome and the characters. This is a wonderful dystopian that takes it to a whole other level. It pushes further than just a government controlled world. It was a pretty long book, and it started off slow, but overall I really enjoyed it. It has some cringe worthy stuff in it, so keep in mind that this is not a light read at all. It is exactly the opposite. I really felt like I needed a pick me up after this book. It took my mind to a dark, and disturbed place that I had to shake off when I was done. This was a pretty twisted, but great post-apocalyptic dystopian that is worth reading!

posted by Amabe421 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

This book grabbed me from the first page but sort of let me down at the end. It felt like the first book of a trilogy and the ending was (to me) unsatisfactory, Still, if you liked the Hunger Games books, you will like this.

posted by SuZQ41 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Recommended

    This book grabbed me from the first page but sort of let me down at the end. It felt like the first book of a trilogy and the ending was (to me) unsatisfactory, Still, if you liked the Hunger Games books, you will like this.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Beautiful writing, but weird pacing

    This was a very interesting novel—what I loved about it is that it’s very weird (perhaps that’s my Swedish side), dark, bloody and grotesque, while at the same time exciting and beautiful. The sci-fi elements are imaginative and amazing and graphic… when else do you meet the protagonist and she is horribly scarred and has a doll head fused to her hand?

    Pure was definitely a ride and very intriguing, the descriptions were beautifully written and detailed oriented. That said, there was almost too much description and it really affected the pace of the book. Secrets are revealed slowly, building a great amount of suspense, but we don’t find out a few important things, such as the status of this post apocalypse world… what is the time period? Why is there a Dome?
    There were some questions I had about the nuclear attack—granted it’s a very lofty scenario to create but some of these things distracted me while reading them, taking me out of the escape of the book.

    The descriptions and build up actually makes the plot hard to identify at times—I felt like the book didn’t even start until one of the characters wants to escape, and it’s quite a bit into the story. The author spent so much time setting the story and conflict up, it was a little anticlimactic overall. While there were some great plot twists, it felt suddenly like the plot was hurried and the ending was somewhat resolved and had an unfinished feeling.

    Overall, I enjoyed the writer’s descriptive writing, it’s very visually written, creating intense imagery. Yet it’s almost overloaded with the set up and descriptions, so it was a little harder to get through. I prefer a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Good concept, moderate execution

    While I enjoyed this book, it desperately needed some additional editing. While grammar and spelling are top-notch, there are many pieces and parts that are awkward and difficult to ignore, such as chracters repeatedly doing actions like looking away from another character, while the following sentence implies they never broke eye contact. I was hoping this book would be a touch grittier than it ended up being, but on the whole it was satisfactory. The characters are decently written, but the visuals of the world provided by the author left much to be desired. Overall, I would reccomend this book to beginning readers looking for something a little dark, but hardcore readers may find it boring and clumbsy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Good

    This was a good book, I did not realize it was a trilogy until the end so that was disappointing. It's a dark premise but the characters are well developed and you like them. Curious how it's all going to turn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pure is a very dark and atmospheric story that has (most of) the

    Pure is a very dark and atmospheric story that has (most of) the right ingredients to make it a hit with readers. The world is well developed and realistic, far exceeding the meager worldbuilding in most dystopian books and while it might not have the most original and creative storyline, its execution is moderately decent.

    There are a few things that prevented me from giving it five stars and this is almost all because of the characters. While the curt writing style is very good at creating a post-apocalyptic world that’s creepy and dangerous, it failed to make me connect me with the characters—the only one I found remotely interesting was El Capitan and his brother Helmud—and this really influenced the way I experienced the story, and not in a good way. If I’d been more invested in them I’m sure I would have enjoyed it a lot more than I did.

    [The following is a spoilery paragraph, read at your own risk]
    Just want to put in something I remembered. Did anyone notice how El Capitan was constantly saying he wanted to kill a Pure before he died? And when he comes face-to-face with Partridge, he does exactly nada (in fact, he saves his freaking LIFE). I can’t decide whether this is a sign of bad editing or foreshadowing for the sequel. Hm.

    I guess it’s the multiple points of view that ruined it for me. While they work for certain books if they’re really well executed, in Pure I found them quite annoying since they didn’t add all that much to the story. The constant switching back-and-forth stunted the development of the characters and I can’t help but think that with some good editing they could have been condensed into a single POV and the book would have been much better for it.

    Despite all that I really like the world we see in Pure, especially the explanation of how humans were altered after the Detonations. The idea that every person who wasn’t in the Dome when the Detonations hit got “fused” with whatever was closest to them? Genius. It’s even more remarkable since this is partly based on the events of Hiroshima, where the nuclear blast caused some of the nearest people to physically merge with objects.

    So, kudos to the in-depth backstory that mixes real world history and science with fantasy because it makes it that much more convincing and plausible; it also shows that the author did her research and not in a lazily passive way in order to fit the general purpose of the story. Admittedly the exposition-less infodumping got a bit tedious after a while, but its creativity was good enough for me to overlook that part.

    As for the plot, it’s decent but nothing new. It’s pretty much about a conspiracy theory that’s initially blown off but turns out to be true and then has our MCs scurrying all over the place trying to save the world, among other things. Some plot twists were unexpected but generally I found the plot to be boring because I’ve read it countless times in other books, the only difference being that it’s in a dystopian setting.

    I think other people might find Pure to be more enjoyable than I did. I didn’t like it all that much but I have to say the worldbuilding was fascinating and the story decent enough that I’ll be reading the next book to see what’s going to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    ??????

    Anyone tht thinks Harry Potter is dumb, they probably just say tht 'cuz they're horrible readers and don't know how to read/say half of the words. I LOVED Harry Potter and always will. -------------
    -------
    ---

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿??????????????????

    Should 5graders read this...?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Is it good?

    Is it good i need to know

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1