Customer Reviews for

Pure

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great post-apocalyptic dystopian!

As a dystopian lover I was really excited to read this book. It's a dytopian that takes place post-apocalypse. This book is fabulously written. It's intense, dark, and a bit unsettling. The descriptiveness of the environment and characters is amazing. Just think, humans...
As a dystopian lover I was really excited to read this book. It's a dytopian that takes place post-apocalypse. This book is fabulously written. It's intense, dark, and a bit unsettling. The descriptiveness of the environment and characters is amazing. Just think, humans and animals that are fused with items that they were near when the detonation happened. People with glass, metal, plastic, and other things embedded in their skin. Others with living animals attached to them, or other people fused on their backs, arms, or legs. Totally creepy and disturbing right? There are also creatures that live out in the dirt and rocks. They are vicious and mean. Then there are the Pures who were safely in the Dome when the detonation happened and they are untouched and living in a controlled environment, pretty oblivious to what is really going on with the survivors outside the Dome. They are told that outside the Dome the "wretches" are violent. They are like two separate worlds, neither really knows the truth about the other. I will admit that I had a little bit of a hard time getting into it initially, but after a few chapters I couldn't stop reading!


The story goes back and forth from Pressia, and Partridge at first. Pressia being a survivor on the outside, and Partridge a Pure. I really liked both characters a lot. Partridge is a very determined and strong character, especially since he has been living relatively cushy and nice inside the Dome. Pressia is tough and strong because she has to be. That is how you survive outside the Dome. Then add in a few other character PoV's, like Lydia, and El Capitan. Lydia is really just an innocent bystander, but she is really smart and eventually has a bigger part in the story. All of them have their own thing going on and we get to know the story from a lot of different angles.


I don't even really now what to say about this book. It really is hard to explain. It has mystery, suspense, and is quite disturbing, but not in a bad way. We find out some interesting things about the Dome and the characters. This is a wonderful dystopian that takes it to a whole other level. It pushes further than just a government controlled world. It was a pretty long book, and it started off slow, but overall I really enjoyed it. It has some cringe worthy stuff in it, so keep in mind that this is not a light read at all. It is exactly the opposite. I really felt like I needed a pick me up after this book. It took my mind to a dark, and disturbed place that I had to shake off when I was done. This was a pretty twisted, but great post-apocalyptic dystopian that is worth reading!

posted by Amabe421 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

This book grabbed me from the first page but sort of let me down at the end. It felt like the first book of a trilogy and the ending was (to me) unsatisfactory, Still, if you liked the Hunger Games books, you will like this.

posted by SuZQ41 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great dystopia

    My Summary:

    The before was years ago. Pressia can't be sure if the memories she has of the before are her own or the combination of others memories she's heard. She knows the now very well. The death spree, the fused bodies, the lack of food, and the requirement that she turn herself in when she turns sixteen. There's no point, of course. If she does, they will kill her as a live target. So she might as well run.

    Partridge remembers the before well. He remembers his mother taking him to the beach and the song she sings to him. But that was before and now his mother is gone - lost outside the Dome trying to save others. But when a comment makes him think she may be still alive, he must find her. But how? Once Partridge meets Pressia everything changes.

    My Thoughts:

    4 stars - a great read

    This book is a puzzle - a masterful puzzle. Nothing is as it seems. What it seems is very disturbing. A dystopia society that is far worse then most I've read, this book creates an incredible class war between those who were protected and those who have suffered through the devastation. The characters are strong and emotionally compelling. The story is twisting and turning.

    I became friends with Pressia and Partridge. On opposite sides of the class war, they are real and caring despite the cruelty all around them. I found myself routing for them and hoping that they would be successful even as I wondered what success would look like. Who should they trust? Is there a master plan being followed? It's the kind of story where you can look for the clues and piece them together. I like those kind of stories. I like to discover the truth of it and this one was one surprise after another. Nice.

    If dystopia is your genre, then this is a must read. If you like a little mystery though in, then this is a must read. A masterfully brilliant story that will have you turning the pages quickly to figure out what is really going on.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    WOW! This book completely surprised me with it great detailing of an apocalyptic world. I love dystopian books. I was so excited to dive into this book. It gave me exactly what I wanted and more.
    What really hooked me in this book is the world created in it. I love being taken out of my world and put into the world that author made. The way the world was describe, the emotions that flowed from page to page, left me the feeling of being in the characters shoes. Pure, gave me the moment of aweness where the whole world around me fell down and I fell into the pages of adventure.

    The secrets exposed in the book left me feeling exciting. I loved following the characters and being in the same position they are. As I read the book, the plot pacing is good. There are a few points in the story that for me slow down, but again Ms. Baggot built up the plot leading the reader further in to the world.

    For me, the best part of the book is the feeling of contentment in the end. I really enjoyed being in the world. That is the best part of reading. Leaving the real world and enjoying a great fantasy.

    Pure aims at the readers heart with adventure, action, and two people searching for answers. Pure delivers a well crafted apocalyptic world that's engaging in every twist and turn. I can't wait to read what the next book holds!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    With all the post-apocalyptic/dystopian novels out, it's hard t

    With all the post-apocalyptic/dystopian novels out, it's hard to find
    one that's unique in any way. Pure, by Julianna Baggott definitely
    fills the bill. Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for letting me
    read it! One of the strongest features of this book - description -
    turns out to also be one of its weakest. The author writes in vivid
    detail, so it's easy to picture everything in your mind. This was great
    when she was describing the combinations of people and inanimate objects
    and/or animals. It takes a great imagination to come up with a heroine
    with a doll head for a hand. But sometimes the detail was just too
    much; the long paragraphs depicting the new world tended to drag on the
    storyline to me. Pure is a solid, entertaining post-apocalyptic tale
    that easily holds the reader's attention. It's suitable for teenagers
    and adults alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Liked it but.......

    Like it but why are we continuously pushed into reading a series? Ugh! Yet another book to wait for. My waiting is causing all these series' to meld. However, this story was fun and was one I didn't want to put down. Parts were occassionally perdictable . Will have to wait for book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Smooth Read

    I have been on an apocalytical kick recently. This book on the whole could have more action but it flows well and the characters are well developed. I definitely will read the second book in the trilogy, Fuse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Starts and never stops

    Finally an author who starts a story on the first page and doesnt stop. No skipping endless,pointless pages or paragraphs of every detail of what someone ate- what I call page fillers. I'm not a fan of this type of story but I had to force my self to stop reading so I'd have something to read. Lots of questions of why or how but I forced myself to just read and enjoy and not ask questions. Cant wait for the next book. She has great story writing talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful sci-fi dystopian This is an interesting Dystopia ¿ no

    wonderful sci-fi dystopian

    This is an interesting Dystopia – not without its flaws – but unique all the same. The idea that a nuclear destruction of the world could cause fusing of humans to animals, earth, or even inanimate objects proves to be a whimsical and symbolic pairing. Our main character, Pressia, walks around with a doll’s head for a hand, Bradwell carries birds on his back, others walk around with scars and amputations too horrific to fully imagine. while I’m partial to Pressia’s doll hand – its presence at once a symbol of youth and innocence; and also a sly communicator. Where Baggott’s imagery and symbolism strike a chord are with the mother’s fused to their young

    “They left us to die and we are forced to carry our children, our children who will never outgrow us, and we will do this forever. Our burden is our love“

    Just imagining the ramifications of carrying that love, of the root of protectiveness; love that caused the fusing. Poetic. Especially as a mother’s burden is the love of her child. I found Our Good Mother’s fusing to be less successful. The cross was too much. Unnecessary maybe? To blunt after the perfectness of the mother’s fusing. It strayed too far into symbolism. El Capitan’s fusing to his brother was another wonderful combination. We focus so much on the symbolism of El Capitan’s literal ”carrying of his burden” we forget about the brother’s trial. That is until we see proof of the homicidal nature. Loved. It.  Finally, the discovery of the special Forces origin was great too. The haunting quality of their singular response “I was and now I am not” adds a delicious foreshadowing to all that is unknown about this world.

    The romance in this book is well played. No love triangle to be found – though in the beginning it appears to hover slightly as an option. Instead we’re left with two romances and they’re equally staged on Pure-Pure and UnPure-UnPure ground. No cross-contamination here. I like the idea of that. That we’re not adding a “forbidden” element to an already complex plot. It’s not necessary to engender attraction between the couples. Keeping each set of issues with their own. I like that we’ll get to watch a relationship grow out of common background – yet we’ll still get to see both sides of the nuclear divide.

    There are a few pieces I didn’t love in this text:

    1. The fusings themselves – They seem random but makes me wonder how/why people fused like they did. The group/multiple people fusing have me most confused – shouldn’t there be more?
    2. The fast and furious mom comes at the end. – Was there a point? And where do we go from here? The end reads like the Wizard of Oz we got so far, only to find the point of our journey isn’t as substantial as we thought…
    3. The quick acceptance of a familial relationship. – While I don’t mind that we skipped the drama it all seemed a little easy.

    Know that these are Oh So Small aberrations in a wonderful sci-fi dystopian. On the whole it was beautifully written and well imagined.

    Rating: 4/5 Can’t wait for Fused because I have no idea where these characters are going from here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great post apoc Amazing read

    This is probably one of my favorite reads of the year. The characters were written very well and i loved seeing everything from the different povs. The world building was great and had me intrigues. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    4.5... Funnily enough, this novel is pure imagination. Summing

    4.5...

    Funnily enough, this novel is pure imagination. Summing up this novel is exactly that. Along with the new imaginatvie force we are sucked in from the beginning right until the very end of this gripping tale in a compltely new and unheard of world.

    At the beginning of the novel we find it hard to get used to the world. It is so strange and unique we need to re-read some sentences to make sure we've read and understood it all properly. Because of this, the start of the novel doesn't quite pull us in as much while we get used to the world.

    When you come to realise how many different perspectives are used in this novel, you instantly might thinkn that you'd be confused. Maybe even a little overwhelmed. Yet surprisingly, it doesn't. When switching between Pressia and Partridge, we continue the story exactly where we left off, but from another side of things. We see first, how each world is like. Pressia's world outside the Dome, and Partridge's world on the inside. Then, as we switch, the two get closer and closer to each other until, finally, they meet and we get to understand how Partridge sees this new world and how he reacts to it all, as well as how Pressia reacts to Parridge, a pure, as well as how she deals with everything. This brings us so much closer to the two characters that we feel at loss when things get complicated and we start to learn more about their world and its corruptions.

    From us seeing how much Partridge's life has changed makes us realise exactly the lack of reality that is represented to those inside the Dome. When Pressia tells Partridge of something that he doesn't believe, we sigh and shake our heads, knowing better of the false reality presented. Throughout the novel we ask: What are they trying to hide? What are they covering up?

    Once Partridge escapes the Dome, his innocence blinds him. He doesn't know what he's in for, as well as the fact that his mother could really be dead. We wonder if he will accept it when the truth is revealed. If it is even true...

    There are still so many questions left unanswered while going throguh the book. Nothing is all that it seems and we hope that some parts of the truth are revealed to us later on in the novel.

    So totally in love with Bradwell. "sigh" :D Straight away, I could tell something would happen with him. I knew all along that although the blurb gives the impression, but Pressia and Partridge were not going to be together, in love or falling for each other.

    Fantastic! Brilliant! Shocking! Heart-Wrenching! Such an explosive ending. Like WOW! That final chapter was... well... it was truly epic! The final chapter putting together everyone's perspective. With much of the truth revealed we stop after that explosive and fast-paced ending and just stop. Think of all that has happened and coming to terms with it all. Did that really just happen? Hearts racing, tears threatening to spill and our bodies relax after sitting on the edge of our seats. Overall, a novel that pulls you in, and makes you question the world around you, that not everything is as it seems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Xavier

    Lolz..that was best time i've had in too long xD thanks a bunch beth :)))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    A spine-chilling story that makes you think

    This book was gripping, gritty and horrifying at times—an innovative piece of steam punk dystopian sci-fi. I was told to read this since I’m such a Hunger Games fan—it takes the concept of post-apocalyptic to an entirely new level. I think it was written beautifully and the author did some braves things with her story: a dome, a protagonist with a doll-face-hand and babies protruding from necks. There was not much romance in it, but I think it really didn’t need to go there. There was enough going on in this book!

    The premise rings familiar, but the beauty of the writing made it feel like a brand new concept. It takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where either you live within the dome, under a strict set of laws like sanctioned music and pills for meals, where only those with superior genes may breed—or outside the dome, where life is chaotic and tragic—the aftermath of the nuclear bombs that demolished the previous world linger on. Of course, only the rich, powerful and religious “Pures” get to live inside the dome, while the “Wretches,” those scorched by the nuclear activity, live outside of it in a harsh dog-eat-dog environment where only the truly strong survive.

    Pressia is the protagonist, though we get multiple POVs in this book. She is a “Wretch”, abrave, loyal survivor living outside the dome—she has a doll-face as a hand because when the atomic explosion happened, it fused objects and people to each other. There are lots of parallels drawn between her world and Partridge, a “Pure” who escapes the safety of the dome to try to find his mother. His shock at the brutality of the world outside is one you easily relate to as the reader.

    A brutal story that will chill your spine and really makes you think!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Dark, disturbing and brilliant. I can't wait for the next book!

    Dark, disturbing and brilliant. I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Pure was a powerful book with strong characters and some great a

    Pure was a powerful book with strong characters and some great action. I needed a little something more from the plot to really get into it, so I was missing that a little. But it definitely left me with enough questions that I'll be looking forward to hopefully getting some answers in book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pure By Julianna Baggott Set in a post-apocalyptic world where

    Pure
    By Julianna Baggott

    Set in a post-apocalyptic world where the Detonations had left people Fused with objects or even other people Pressia stumbles upon a young man who is known as a Pure. Being Pure is a reference to those who escaped the apocalypse unmarked by living in a dome that protected them from the Detonations. Partridge is the only person in the history of the dome to have escaped its confines as he sets out to find his mother. After Pressia finds him she begins helping the boy and is pulled down into a strange series of events that will forever intertwine her fate with Partridge’s.
    Julianna Baggott has created a fascinating and strange world where people and object become one. It is a very unique and intriguing look at a post-apocalyptic scenario. This story is full of growth and learning to accept yourself for each of your own flaws. The descriptions are spot on to bring this strange place into the most vivid of displays within your own mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Average, inoffensive. Sometimes fun.

    Not a game changer by any stretch of the imagination, but a decent read. I enjoyed reading it, but I'm not interested in picking up the promised sequel. I pray that's not a spoiler, since just about every book, these days, is geared toward having at least one follow-up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2