Customer Reviews for

Pure

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great post-apocalyptic dystopian!

As a dystopian lover I was really excited to read this book. It's a dytopian that takes place post-apocalypse. This book is fabulously written. It's intense, dark, and a bit unsettling. The descriptiveness of the environment and characters is amazing. Just think, humans...
As a dystopian lover I was really excited to read this book. It's a dytopian that takes place post-apocalypse. This book is fabulously written. It's intense, dark, and a bit unsettling. The descriptiveness of the environment and characters is amazing. Just think, humans and animals that are fused with items that they were near when the detonation happened. People with glass, metal, plastic, and other things embedded in their skin. Others with living animals attached to them, or other people fused on their backs, arms, or legs. Totally creepy and disturbing right? There are also creatures that live out in the dirt and rocks. They are vicious and mean. Then there are the Pures who were safely in the Dome when the detonation happened and they are untouched and living in a controlled environment, pretty oblivious to what is really going on with the survivors outside the Dome. They are told that outside the Dome the "wretches" are violent. They are like two separate worlds, neither really knows the truth about the other. I will admit that I had a little bit of a hard time getting into it initially, but after a few chapters I couldn't stop reading!


The story goes back and forth from Pressia, and Partridge at first. Pressia being a survivor on the outside, and Partridge a Pure. I really liked both characters a lot. Partridge is a very determined and strong character, especially since he has been living relatively cushy and nice inside the Dome. Pressia is tough and strong because she has to be. That is how you survive outside the Dome. Then add in a few other character PoV's, like Lydia, and El Capitan. Lydia is really just an innocent bystander, but she is really smart and eventually has a bigger part in the story. All of them have their own thing going on and we get to know the story from a lot of different angles.


I don't even really now what to say about this book. It really is hard to explain. It has mystery, suspense, and is quite disturbing, but not in a bad way. We find out some interesting things about the Dome and the characters. This is a wonderful dystopian that takes it to a whole other level. It pushes further than just a government controlled world. It was a pretty long book, and it started off slow, but overall I really enjoyed it. It has some cringe worthy stuff in it, so keep in mind that this is not a light read at all. It is exactly the opposite. I really felt like I needed a pick me up after this book. It took my mind to a dark, and disturbed place that I had to shake off when I was done. This was a pretty twisted, but great post-apocalyptic dystopian that is worth reading!

posted by Amabe421 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

This book grabbed me from the first page but sort of let me down at the end. It felt like the first book of a trilogy and the ending was (to me) unsatisfactory, Still, if you liked the Hunger Games books, you will like this.

posted by SuZQ41 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Wasnt sure but it pulls you in.

    Read this book over the summer amazing page turner all the way.Can not wait until February for Fuse to come out.Overall great read i highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    LOVED!!!!

    I originally didn't think I would enjoy this by the summary. It seemed a little far out for me but I was pleasantly surprised and I'm so glad that I read this book you will not regret it! if you like divergent and hunger games and other dystopian books you will really enjoy this! it is for adults and YA.. read it you will see it is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Very pleasantly surprised. Could't stop reading this book. Uniqu

    Very pleasantly surprised. Could't stop reading this book. Unique and more imaginative than anything I have read in a long time. Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    A haunting, sobering read.

    Imagine clutching your purse while walking to the supermarket to buy some groceries. Imagine a huge explosion. Imagine a blinding, searing white light. Imagine waking up on the destroyed asphalt surrounded by rubble, dead bodies and blood. Imagine struggling to sit up, your body raw from second degree burns. Imaging trying shrug your purse from your arms. Imagine a terrible, painful sensation. Imagine realizing your purse is now embeded in the folds of your arms, the handles fused into your body, unable to be removed. Forever apart of you. Welcome to the world of Pure. Nuclear bombings left millions dead and most of the survivors fused with the things closest to them. The rest of the survivors? They're in the dome. A place that was built to protect the people too important to be lost in the bombings. Those people are nicknamed the Pure because they have beautiful, unblemished, unfused skin. Pure skin. I wont get into the story much because I'm a blabbermouth and I tend to give things away but I loved this novel. It was a good Dystopian mixed with a bit of Japanese hisory in relation to Nuclear activity and Hiroshima. I love Japanese history. Fans of Dark Inside, This Perfect Day and Divergent will absolutely adore this novel. Even fans of the Hunger Games as well. I would say that this novel is kind of dark and a bit haunting. When the author gets into describing the things people are fused with and how they are fused, the imagery is pretty grotesque. Some people are fused with their pets, their possessions, their children and even the earth itself. It's a really sobering read. Of course, the fusing isn't the only result of the bombings. The land is barren and surrounded by rubble. The atmosphere is filled with radiation and ash and black rain falls from the sky. Dont even think this is completely fiction. This is what Hiroshima was like after the nuclear bombing. People there were mutated. The place was destroyed. People couldn't leave because they were infested with radiation and would contaminate others. Plus, they were beyond medical help. Even now, traces of radiation still remain. I like that the author did her research and did it properly. It gives the series a strong backbone. However, the story is not about the ennvironment, it is about a survivor named Pressia and a Pure called Partridge. Your'e going to have to read the novel to find out about them. The romance is minimal in this novel. No love triangles and no drama, that definitely makes it stand out from other dystopians. I honestly feel that -if the rest of the series is as good as this book- this could be a classic in the making. 4.7 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Pure is a post-apocalyptic tale of survival and hope amid destru

    Pure is a post-apocalyptic tale of survival and hope amid destruction and horror.

    Believe it or not, I like it when I am wrong about a book. To have a book that I have written off as something that I would never enjoy, thank you very much, sneak up on me and become a book that I can't put down and forget, even after the last page.When I read the first wave of reviews, before, during and shortly after Pure's release, I was so sure that this story was simply "not for me". I barely like post-apocalyptic stories, let alone those that feature characters so shocking and horrifying as the victims in this bleak book.

    But a few months ago, I received an email from a publicist, interested in sending me the new paperback version of the book, and I took a chance. When Pure finally reached the top of my reading pile, I picked it up, gave a weary sigh, and began reading, slightly optimistic, but fairly certain that I would give it up by page one hundred.

    I was wrong.

    By page one hundred, I was hooked. I was gripped by this cruel future and its brave inhabitants. I was rooting for the brave Pure boy, Partridge, beautiful and unmarred, but lost and damaged in his own way. I was stunned by the courageous Pressia, a girl with a doll's head for a hand. She is a girl with little to hope for from this world, but her simple hope for a connection to her past made my heart ache. I fell in love with Bradwell, a boy who is physically imperfect in comparison to most heroes, but who was beautiful beyond compare. A boy with wings who has a place in his heart for love.

    The reality that author Julianna Baggott built in Pure is too much for me to break down in this review. The themes touched included government corruption, science gone mad, nuclear warfare and radiation, and religion...and so much more. The aspect that fascinated me most was the inclusion of the Japanese victims of the atomic bomb, and how the victims of Pure were tied to that.

    Honestly, I have really struggled with this review. I think I'm in a bit of shock. Pure made me angry, made me cry, gasp, pull my hair, shout at other readers, cover my mouth when I thought I would scream, cringe, and left me with hope. It is not a love story, yet it is a story about love. This is a book that made me feel all the feelings, and I could not put it down. Pure is a book that will not be forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First off I LOVE the cover. As you all know I am a big fan of a

    First off I LOVE the cover. As you all know I am a big fan of a good dystopian story! This one doesn't disappoint. I do wonder where this book lies in the way of age group. I would consider it teen. Yet the back of the book just says fiction. I have seen it in both sections of stores as well. So I guess it comes down to you the reader on where you think it should go. If you enjoyed books such as, Divergent, Ashfall, The Hunger Games etc. Than this book really is for you!
    "*I received a copy of this book for free to review, this in no way influenced my review, all opinions are 100% honest and my own."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    A griffin

    *smashes the mec and frees the slave**she turns into a girl of 15 and touches your forehead it heals you*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Mec to hopesrt

    Grabs u and carries u to do me fifth reault

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Read now thank me later!!!

    I love the characters theyre real and raw and this dystopian novel stands out among the rest. READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Fang

    So..congrats!! Lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Nxon

    Bye to this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Beth

    Bye book! We had fun at you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    this book is amazing it really pulls you in and you feel like yo

    this book is amazing it really pulls you in and you feel like you too are part of the misshapen and fused world they live in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    WOW!

    This book is amazing!!!! Im really looking foward to reading more by this author!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    This book is so spectacular! The plot has so many suspensful twi

    This book is so spectacular! The plot has so many suspensful twists and turns that you can not put the book down! The book takes pace in post apocaliptic America, which is becoming a very common setting for many writers recently. The difference between this book and other novels is that this book takes you through several viewpoints of different charachters which really helps the reader get a firm grasp on the sitation. This book is also different because it does not have a sappy love triangle like EVERY other book. I would deffinitly reccomend this book for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    This book was an amazing read, I couldn't put it down! I loved h

    This book was an amazing read, I couldn't put it down! I loved her descriptions of the environment and the characters that were affected by the blast. She made the characters reachable with their actions, words, and thoughts shared through her writing. To read for the… mystery, suspense, emotions, and intrigue. You grow to love learning about the mysteries surrounding the characters, getting to know them and learning to love to hate them (ex. Partridge’s father). If you have read the Hunger Games series I’d recommend this book series to you. You loved Katniss, well now you will love Pressia and her personality. I cannot wait for the next book to come out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved it! Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Excellent!

    Pure is a very imaginative story that draws the reader into a brutal post-apoctalyptic world. This is a page turner that you never want to put down. I can't wait for book 2 to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Worth every dime and minute invested.

    This is a book that makes you look in the past and at the future at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Dystopian!

    Pure enchanted me from the very beginning. Pressia and her grandfather are interesting and complex characters from the initial pages. Then, just when I knew <i>Pure</i> was going to be a terrific read, it got even better with the addition of Partridge and the citizens inside the Dome.

    Baggott is quite the phenomenal world-builder! I found myself immersed in this desperate, frequently ugly (but occasionally beautiful) post-apocalyptic world. The story is that "someone" built a huge Dome that would withstand an atomic blast and support (for quite some time, evidently) the people lucky enough to be inside it. Then "someone" (surprisingly enough) sets off multiple atomic bombs thus officially separating the have's from the have-not's.

    So, friends and neighbors, what we have here is actually two sides of the dystopian tale: The world Pressia lives in outside of the Dome, filled with hunger, poverty, ignorance, mutations, pain, loss, and the constant threat of death or capture. Then there's Partridge's life inside of the Dome, filled with education, universal health care, food pellets, beautiful "Pures", school dances, museums, dictators and the constant threat of genetic mutation, The Man, and little bombs being planted in your noggin.

    The fact of the matter is that, now that the bombs have gone off, the world is crap both inside and outside of the Dome. However, as you already know: the grass is always less radioactive on the other side of the fence and Pressia is just as jealous of the world inside of the Dome as Partridge is of the freedom outside of it.

    Baggott's descriptions of the brave new world and the amazing characters populating it had me alternating between feelings of exhilaration, raw fear, nausea and hope. I found <i>Pure</i> difficult to read at times because of the graphic descriptions of life outside the Dome and the physical aftermath of the mutations. Not that these details distracted from my enjoyment in any way. I'm actually glad that Baggott didn't gloss over or shy away from the disgusting effects of the Detonations. (Baggott was inspired to write Pure after learning more about the aftermath of the detonation of the H-Bomb on Hiroshima in World War 2.)

    Pressia is quite the KAH. That is not to say that she isn't afraid or that it doesn't take some time for her to fully develop, but she knows her way around the cold, cruel world she is living in. She initially saves one of our heroes the first time they meet and I love it when that happens! Not only is her current situation difficult enough, Pressia earns added pressure of being forced to "serve/die" for the OSR (a group that was created to find survivors and has since become a militaristic branch similar to Germany's circa 1942).

    Bradwell is mysterious, clever, self-sufficient and all-around amazing. He is an a love interest worthy of our butt-kicking superstar, Pressia. I love that both of these characters are strong-willed and smart. Baggott felt no need to make one of the pair weaker so the other could be stronger (or the rescuer). It is possible, YA writers, for two people in a potential love affair to be tough and amazing in their own right and ultimately rescue each other. (Just say NO to whiny victims!)

    Partridge is smart, funny, self-sacrificing and tough. I loved watching him acclimate to the world outside the dome. Lyda is another great, intelligent character that surprised

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4