Customer Reviews for

Pure Murder

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

no photos but great book

this is a very disturbing crime but the book is great. no photos though

posted by coneil on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Captivating

With so many individuals involved, I was impressed how much background was given and how well the writer keep everything flowing. I did feel some areas were redundant and found myself skipping paragraphs.

I was VERY disappointed to find the advertised photos were om...
With so many individuals involved, I was impressed how much background was given and how well the writer keep everything flowing. I did feel some areas were redundant and found myself skipping paragraphs.

I was VERY disappointed to find the advertised photos were omitted. I would like an explanation as to why.

posted by 6944448 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    no photos but great book

    this is a very disturbing crime but the book is great. no photos though

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a good read, but no photos

    I had never heard of this case despite the fact I live in the Lone Star state so I read the story with great interest. I was disappointed that the Nook version did not include the photos that the paper version promotes. I've looked online to see if the photos were available, but wasn't able to find any. The pictures are important to set the scene in the reader's mind.

    I can definitely tell the a lot about the author's opinion regarding the death penalty. It would have been a better read if the writing was a little more neutral. The writing boarded on ranting in some chapters.

    I did think the author did a good job detailing the case. A word of warning that description of the crime is quite graphic. I would certainly read more work from this author.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Good I purchased to read on my Nook. Like the story but like oth

    Good
    I purchased to read on my Nook. Like the story but like others I would have liked to see pictures....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    I recommend

    It was a good read and kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Savage

    Raw and well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Well written

    Sad true story bitter sweet ending

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Excellent book unbelievably cruel boys

    I was totally distraught at the thought of the heinous acts committed by these boys. They are truly evil and never showed any remorse. Interesting quick glace into the death penalty issue. Very sad for all families involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    no photos on nook.

    Great book, horrific tale. I was unable to get the pictures as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Heartbreaking

    What in the hell is the matter with people that these things happen? Two teenage girls trying to walk home, not bothering anyone are subjected to violence beyond imagining. And it's all done them by teenage boys! One as young as 14!

    It was heartbreaking to read the account of these murders. The guilty parties could have cared less, showed not one ounce of remorse. The families of the girls so broken, so hurt and confused. There is no making sense out of this kind of stuff.

    What amazed me is what usually does. How these boys were picked up time and time again and always managed to get back on the streets and through the cracks until something like this happens. Our legal system needs some fixing.

    Corey Mitchell is a great true crime writer who's books read like a novel. He keeps us interested from beginning to end. This is a good read for any true crime fan but be warned, it is explicit and gory at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1