Customer Reviews for

Purely Relative (The P.U.R.E. #1.5)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great

What a fun light story great read

posted by purple-rose on June 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not a short story

The reviews are confusing - this is 240 pages on Nook, which is not a short story.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Lovr

    Cute short story and well written. I enjoyed it and hope you do

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Great

    Really loved this addition to the first story. The family is fun and I'd love to know them. What a bunch of characters and Jenny was not too bright to dump Scott sooner! Loved the quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Picture this: It's Thanksgiving, you're about to be introduced t

    Picture this: It's Thanksgiving, you're about to be introduced to your boyfriend's parents and siblings for the first time, they're well off, you're barely making ends meet, having trouble finding a job AND you're the new girlfriend since your boyfriend broke off his engagement not very long ago. Oh, and the would-have-been in-laws are close friends of the family, so they'll be there too. Fun times.

    Thanksgiving seems to be synonymous with good food and bad behavior. There was no shortage of that. Gayle didn't exactly receive a welcome with open arms, but she wasn't dirt on the shoe either. Luckily for her, there were other Cripps siblings in attendance who had their own personal dilemmas. Jenny Cripps is engaged to an overbearing creep and Jason Cripps is home from college with his girlfriend in tow and his BFF, Tully. Tully is a girl and she hates his girlfriend. When Gayle announces that her own brother will be joining her for the holidays, Jenny suddenly perks up. Hmmm.

    This novella was crazy, funny and romantic. This novella takes place between the last chapter and the epilogue of the first book (which I haven't read), but I still managed to follow the characters. As for the chemistry between Jon and Gayle, I wonder if my impression was clouded because I hadn't read their story. They had great chemistry in bed, but outside of it, I couldn't shake the feeling of waiting for the other shoe to drop, so to speak. A few times, Jon acted strangely, and it made me wonder just how stable their relationship was. When the time came for the main characters to address their relationship seriously, that is when they finally came alive for me. That part felt real and portrayed one likely obstacle a modern couple might face - career or love? Compromise or let go? Gayle wanted to hold on to her (financial) independence so badly, that she refused to accept a little help from Jon that would get her across the country to be with him. I loved how the author made each of them get what they thought they wanted because it made both of them realize a few important truths. The ending was so touching and romantic that it made all the previous tension just melt away.

    I think it would be best to read the first book, The P.U.R.E., to get their full story. Overall a short, fun read with great dialogue and good pacing.

    Rating 3.5 rounded up to 4

    Disclaimer: I received a review copy from the author for the purpose of an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Good, quick read

    First, I didn't realize this was a sequel until I was well into the book. Even without reading the first book, it was a good stand-alone book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    good read

    will look for more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    a fun read. highly recommended.

    a fun read. highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Very sweet

    Sweet love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1