BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Purgatory Ridge (Cork O'Connor Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner my

PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner mysteries.  Though no longer the sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, when the local lumber mill is bombed, resulting in the death of a local Native American tribesman, Cork is asked to help in the investigation.  M...
PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner mysteries.  Though no longer the sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, when the local lumber mill is bombed, resulting in the death of a local Native American tribesman, Cork is asked to help in the investigation.  Many possibilities for suspects eventually evolve as environmentalists and the local tribes are protesting the lumbering of a sacred stand of old growth trees called the "Old Grandfathers". Then the lumber mill-owner's wife and son, along with Cork's wife and son , are kidnapped with a ransom demand for 2 million dollars. 




Suspense builds with the addition of another suspect, the only survivor of a sunken ship from a number of years ago,  who has been mourning the death of his brother during that sinking.  He believes the mill owner's wife's family is responsible for the sinking by sabotaging the ship for the insurance money.  With the building of suspects and clues developing into a serious case, the conclusion is a complete surprise. 




Krueger's mysteries are enhanced by the cultural differences between the Native Americans and the whites, with Cork being mixed blood, and his wife as the lawyer for the tribe.  There are also marital issues between Cork and his wife, as they have come together again, after both strayed with other partners.  They have three children, two of whom now help Cork run their restaurant.  These many and varied issues greatly add to the interest of Krueger's books.  The atmosphere of the Minnesota surrounds is also a character in itself, building suspense with the wild weather, and many land formations.  Excellent continuation of the Cork O'Conner series!

posted by RonnaL on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hooked on this series!

I got the first in this series as either a freebie or a cheapie, I can't remember. But a quarter of the way into #1, I looked up and bought #2, then halfway thru that, bought #3 and #4. I haven't read 4 yet. I will buy the whole series eventually, I'm sure.
Very w...
I got the first in this series as either a freebie or a cheapie, I can't remember. But a quarter of the way into #1, I looked up and bought #2, then halfway thru that, bought #3 and #4. I haven't read 4 yet. I will buy the whole series eventually, I'm sure.
Very well written and exciting with just enough personal stuff to keep you rooting for them.
The mysteries keep you guessing and sometimes you'll guess the bad guy, but I've been surprised in 2 of 3, as I guessed wrong! I love when that happens!
I highly recommend this series.

posted by PamBo56 on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner my

    PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner mysteries.  Though no longer the sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, when the local lumber mill is bombed, resulting in the death of a local Native American tribesman, Cork is asked to help in the investigation.  Many possibilities for suspects eventually evolve as environmentalists and the local tribes are protesting the lumbering of a sacred stand of old growth trees called the "Old Grandfathers". Then the lumber mill-owner's wife and son, along with Cork's wife and son , are kidnapped with a ransom demand for 2 million dollars. 




    Suspense builds with the addition of another suspect, the only survivor of a sunken ship from a number of years ago,  who has been mourning the death of his brother during that sinking.  He believes the mill owner's wife's family is responsible for the sinking by sabotaging the ship for the insurance money.  With the building of suspects and clues developing into a serious case, the conclusion is a complete surprise. 




    Krueger's mysteries are enhanced by the cultural differences between the Native Americans and the whites, with Cork being mixed blood, and his wife as the lawyer for the tribe.  There are also marital issues between Cork and his wife, as they have come together again, after both strayed with other partners.  They have three children, two of whom now help Cork run their restaurant.  These many and varied issues greatly add to the interest of Krueger's books.  The atmosphere of the Minnesota surrounds is also a character in itself, building suspense with the wild weather, and many land formations.  Excellent continuation of the Cork O'Conner series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Hooked on this series!

    I got the first in this series as either a freebie or a cheapie, I can't remember. But a quarter of the way into #1, I looked up and bought #2, then halfway thru that, bought #3 and #4. I haven't read 4 yet. I will buy the whole series eventually, I'm sure.
    Very well written and exciting with just enough personal stuff to keep you rooting for them.
    The mysteries keep you guessing and sometimes you'll guess the bad guy, but I've been surprised in 2 of 3, as I guessed wrong! I love when that happens!
    I highly recommend this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    A real thriller with an unexpected ending you will not see coming.

    I do not want to delve into the plot too much. Suffice it to say the book centers on the clash of three cultures-the culture of the modern industrialist who wants to mine the precious ore in the earth, the environmentalists who are rabid in their approach and the Anishinaabs Indians who have cared for Mother Earth for centuries. Krueger's main character in his series of books about Aurora Minnesota and the Indian Reservation that borders the town, is Cork O'Connor. Cork is a real person. He was the sheriff before being voted out of office. He is a good man with a mixed heritage: 3/4 Irish and 1/4 Anishinasb. His heritage frequently draws him into many disputes between the whites and the indians which end in bloodshed on both sids. The book is a real thriller. The plot is well done with an ending that will be a surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Definitely becoming a favorite author!

    Great storytelling, you can picture the beauty of this world and lose yourself in it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    This series keeps getting better!

    The first book was originally a "Free Friday" selection that Barnes & Noble's Nook customers get to enjoy. It helped me to discover a wonderful mystery writer. I am neither a mystery reader nor a series reader, but here I am really enjoying this mystery series! Why do I like this writer? I enjoy books with high quality prose, and mysteries are usually very plot driven, and often the creation of interesting characters and sense of place are not well-developed. But this one does both. Plus this plot IS complex and intriguing as well. The reader really gets a strong sense of north Minnesota and the Lake Superior setting, the small-town life in Aurora and Tamarack County and the Ojibwe Anishinaabe Indians. Their culture and people are main characters that blend in seamlessly with the tapestry of characters. You never feel like you are reading ethnic literature, but really you are! I won't go into the plot here (you can read it yourself on Goodreads), but I will say, each successive book keeps getting better as the author fine tunes his writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    MUST READ SERIES!

    These books are awesome! Cork O'Conner is awesome! I'm flying through these books and every page keeps me on the edge of my seat! Being a native Minnesnowtan and my love of the north woods adds to the excitement!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    Excellent read and story line.

    Follow of the family life of cork o'connor, love the Americans flavor in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Heather&co

    Once a branch off the Med Den but now its own seperate cave. You can see where the stones blocked off the other entrance to the med den's cave sistem, this den is smaller than the warriors den. Filled with not as many, and smaller beds. Its entrance is beside the Med Den's, and is now the Apprentices' Den.
    ~Amberstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Mr. Krueger is so original. You feel like you are in the setting. He does not follow the usual mystery patterns of story telling. I love the Cork O'Connor character because he is flawed but honorable. The native American history of the families is so interestingly peppered throughout the
    series. I have looked foforward to each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    I recommend this series. 4/5 stars

    This was another great book in the series - hope there are more coming!Anyone who is interested in mysteries and/or Native American lore will like these. No sex, some descriptive violence, but not too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    A very good story set in the North Woods of Minnesota and Michigan

    This story brings together elements of past hardship, exploitation of the emotions brought on by guilt of being the only survivor of a shipwreck, rage against the perceived negligent shipping company owners, kidnapping, and terror. Cork O'Connor must figure out who the evil doer's are and save two families, part of his own and the shipping company's owner's daughter and her son. You don't know until close to the very end who the evil master-mind is and what his fate is. It is a very enjoyable tale with vulnerable characters surviving and some dieing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Highly Recommend!

    I started out reading just books one and two in the "Cork O'Conner" series and before I knew it I was ordering the entire series available.
    I finish one and can't wait till I start the next. William Kent Krueger is a wonderful writer that keeps you involved with his main character
    "Cork O'Conner".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Great #3 in Series

    Loved this book. Full of adventure and suspense. Still reading the
    series and enjoying it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    This is the third in the Cork O'Connor series, and I plan on rea

    This is the third in the Cork O'Connor series, and I plan on reading all of them! This book was just as exciting as the first two; the author makes you feel like you are a part of the community. I was completely caught by the surprise ending! I highly recommend this to those who love a great "who did it" book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Typical spellbinding Krueger work

    W Krueger follows plot and script that works. It keeps me turning pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    William Kent Krueger is a great story teller.

    Loving this series! I will definately read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    I liked it very much. Recommended to my friends.

    I enjoyed a new cast of characters for a police, mystery, family and area of the country novel. I have read 1, 2, and 3 and enjoyed them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    a very good fast read

    I have enjoyed all of Krueger's novels that I have read. He is able to keep me interested in the novel and writes about areas that are believeable. Down to earth charachters. jwtbiker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Could not put it down!

    Love this whole series... Great characters and story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Pretty good

    Not my typical genre, but i really like this series so far. If you like murder mystery and native american folklore, definitely give this series a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6