Customer Reviews for

Purgatory Ridge (Cork O'Connor Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner my

PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner mysteries.  Though no longer the sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, when the local lumber mill is bombed, resulting in the death of a local Native American tribesman, Cork is asked to help in the investigation.  M...
PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner mysteries.  Though no longer the sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, when the local lumber mill is bombed, resulting in the death of a local Native American tribesman, Cork is asked to help in the investigation.  Many possibilities for suspects eventually evolve as environmentalists and the local tribes are protesting the lumbering of a sacred stand of old growth trees called the "Old Grandfathers". Then the lumber mill-owner's wife and son, along with Cork's wife and son , are kidnapped with a ransom demand for 2 million dollars. 




Suspense builds with the addition of another suspect, the only survivor of a sunken ship from a number of years ago,  who has been mourning the death of his brother during that sinking.  He believes the mill owner's wife's family is responsible for the sinking by sabotaging the ship for the insurance money.  With the building of suspects and clues developing into a serious case, the conclusion is a complete surprise. 




Krueger's mysteries are enhanced by the cultural differences between the Native Americans and the whites, with Cork being mixed blood, and his wife as the lawyer for the tribe.  There are also marital issues between Cork and his wife, as they have come together again, after both strayed with other partners.  They have three children, two of whom now help Cork run their restaurant.  These many and varied issues greatly add to the interest of Krueger's books.  The atmosphere of the Minnesota surrounds is also a character in itself, building suspense with the wild weather, and many land formations.  Excellent continuation of the Cork O'Conner series!

posted by RonnaL on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hooked on this series!

I got the first in this series as either a freebie or a cheapie, I can't remember. But a quarter of the way into #1, I looked up and bought #2, then halfway thru that, bought #3 and #4. I haven't read 4 yet. I will buy the whole series eventually, I'm sure.
Very w...
I got the first in this series as either a freebie or a cheapie, I can't remember. But a quarter of the way into #1, I looked up and bought #2, then halfway thru that, bought #3 and #4. I haven't read 4 yet. I will buy the whole series eventually, I'm sure.
Very well written and exciting with just enough personal stuff to keep you rooting for them.
The mysteries keep you guessing and sometimes you'll guess the bad guy, but I've been surprised in 2 of 3, as I guessed wrong! I love when that happens!
I highly recommend this series.

posted by PamBo56 on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner my

    PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner mysteries.  Though no longer the sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, when the local lumber mill is bombed, resulting in the death of a local Native American tribesman, Cork is asked to help in the investigation.  Many possibilities for suspects eventually evolve as environmentalists and the local tribes are protesting the lumbering of a sacred stand of old growth trees called the "Old Grandfathers". Then the lumber mill-owner's wife and son, along with Cork's wife and son , are kidnapped with a ransom demand for 2 million dollars. 




    Suspense builds with the addition of another suspect, the only survivor of a sunken ship from a number of years ago,  who has been mourning the death of his brother during that sinking.  He believes the mill owner's wife's family is responsible for the sinking by sabotaging the ship for the insurance money.  With the building of suspects and clues developing into a serious case, the conclusion is a complete surprise. 




    Krueger's mysteries are enhanced by the cultural differences between the Native Americans and the whites, with Cork being mixed blood, and his wife as the lawyer for the tribe.  There are also marital issues between Cork and his wife, as they have come together again, after both strayed with other partners.  They have three children, two of whom now help Cork run their restaurant.  These many and varied issues greatly add to the interest of Krueger's books.  The atmosphere of the Minnesota surrounds is also a character in itself, building suspense with the wild weather, and many land formations.  Excellent continuation of the Cork O'Conner series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Mr. Krueger is so original. You feel like you are in the setting. He does not follow the usual mystery patterns of story telling. I love the Cork O'Connor character because he is flawed but honorable. The native American history of the families is so interestingly peppered throughout the
    series. I have looked foforward to each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Typical spellbinding Krueger work

    W Krueger follows plot and script that works. It keeps me turning pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    William Kent Krueger is a great story teller.

    Loving this series! I will definately read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    I liked it very much. Recommended to my friends.

    I enjoyed a new cast of characters for a police, mystery, family and area of the country novel. I have read 1, 2, and 3 and enjoyed them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    a very good fast read

    I have enjoyed all of Krueger's novels that I have read. He is able to keep me interested in the novel and writes about areas that are believeable. Down to earth charachters. jwtbiker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Could not put it down!

    Love this whole series... Great characters and story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Pretty good

    Not my typical genre, but i really like this series so far. If you like murder mystery and native american folklore, definitely give this series a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    Krueger is fast becoming one of my favorite writers. I've read the first three of his Cork O'Connor series, and I've thoroughly enjoyed them all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Good series!

    I love reading about the Ojibwe/Anishinaabe and the beautiful, but harsh, nothern lake country. I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    A great, quick read

    For any Minnesotan who enjoys the spending time in beautiful Northern MN, this is a great series. The author does a great job of accurately describing the region, and his character development and plot lines keep you turning the pages. I stumbled across this series by accident a while back, and am sure glad I did. It's a fun, must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Intriguing and Spellbinding!

    I rarely read mysteries yet after reading the first two books in the Cork O'Connor series, I had to get this installment, too. This series will hook you for sure and you will want to continue reading the rest of them. Krueger's characters face real life situations amidst the mystery holding your interest throughout the whole adventure. If you are looking for a read that takes your mind away from it all this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Great fun for MN lovers

    I love a good crime novel and the north shore of Lake Superior, so it follows that I'd really love this book. The book is very good, plot is interesting, characters are complex well developed and compelling.

    My only complaint, eBook version is too expensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Good Read

    Lots of twists and turns! Krueger does an excellent job of making the characters real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    good read so far

    will follow the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Found this series of books by William Kent Krueger FABULOUS!

    Series involving the continuing saga of 'Cork' and the interesting mysteries surrounding him and the people in his life kept me involved as each story unfolded with each book. Krueger does a fine job bringing his characters to life. Kept me turning pages to see what happens next. Very easy read. He can take you right into the story. Very enjoyable. I'm reading EVERY one of his books! You won't be disappointed. Something for anyone. RPITA-Brick, N.J.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting environmental who-done-it

    Near Aurora, Minnesota, a major environmental-industrial dispute exists. The Anishinaabe tribe wants the two hundred acres of great white pines that are sacred to them as ¿Old Grandfathers¿ protected from the lumber industry. Karl Lindstrom¿s lumber mill resides on the edge of the forest and he is not known for his conservation methods. As is the case in many local arguments, outsiders come marching in to join the Native American protesting the cutting down of the trees. <P>However, all hell breaks loose when someone blows up the mill, killing a Native American employee. The industrial moguls blame the Anishinaabe tribe and the law agrees even though someone named the Eco-Warrior claims credit for the deed. Though he lost his job as sheriff a couple of years ago, Cork O¿Connor, at the pleading of his wife Jo, the tribe attorney, begins to search for the identity of the terrorist. As he conducts the search, the Eco-Warrior adds kidnapping and ransom demands to his crime list. <P>PURGATORY RIDGE is an exciting ecological thriller that keeps the suspense and action at high levels throughout the tale. When the story concentrates on the central theme of conservation vs. development, the plot is as good as it gets. In those circumstances, all the key characters seem genuine in their beliefs. When the story line spins into sidebars like the ransom kidnapping it appears as if a plot device has been used to add unnecessary tension to an already strong novel. Award winning William Kent Kreuger has written a one-sitting tale that will send sub-genre fans off to read the previous O¿Connor books (see BOUNDARY WATERS and IRON LAKE). <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2