Customer Reviews for

Purgatory Ridge (Cork O'Connor Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner my

PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner mysteries.  Though no longer the sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, when the local lumber mill is bombed, resulting in the death of a local Native American tribesman, Cork is asked to help in the investigation.  M...
PURGATORY RIDGE is the third installment of the Cork O'Conner mysteries.  Though no longer the sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, when the local lumber mill is bombed, resulting in the death of a local Native American tribesman, Cork is asked to help in the investigation.  Many possibilities for suspects eventually evolve as environmentalists and the local tribes are protesting the lumbering of a sacred stand of old growth trees called the "Old Grandfathers". Then the lumber mill-owner's wife and son, along with Cork's wife and son , are kidnapped with a ransom demand for 2 million dollars. 




Suspense builds with the addition of another suspect, the only survivor of a sunken ship from a number of years ago,  who has been mourning the death of his brother during that sinking.  He believes the mill owner's wife's family is responsible for the sinking by sabotaging the ship for the insurance money.  With the building of suspects and clues developing into a serious case, the conclusion is a complete surprise. 




Krueger's mysteries are enhanced by the cultural differences between the Native Americans and the whites, with Cork being mixed blood, and his wife as the lawyer for the tribe.  There are also marital issues between Cork and his wife, as they have come together again, after both strayed with other partners.  They have three children, two of whom now help Cork run their restaurant.  These many and varied issues greatly add to the interest of Krueger's books.  The atmosphere of the Minnesota surrounds is also a character in itself, building suspense with the wild weather, and many land formations.  Excellent continuation of the Cork O'Conner series!

posted by RonnaL on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hooked on this series!

I got the first in this series as either a freebie or a cheapie, I can't remember. But a quarter of the way into #1, I looked up and bought #2, then halfway thru that, bought #3 and #4. I haven't read 4 yet. I will buy the whole series eventually, I'm sure.
Very w...
I got the first in this series as either a freebie or a cheapie, I can't remember. But a quarter of the way into #1, I looked up and bought #2, then halfway thru that, bought #3 and #4. I haven't read 4 yet. I will buy the whole series eventually, I'm sure.
Very well written and exciting with just enough personal stuff to keep you rooting for them.
The mysteries keep you guessing and sometimes you'll guess the bad guy, but I've been surprised in 2 of 3, as I guessed wrong! I love when that happens!
I highly recommend this series.

posted by PamBo56 on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    A real thriller with an unexpected ending you will not see coming.

    I do not want to delve into the plot too much. Suffice it to say the book centers on the clash of three cultures-the culture of the modern industrialist who wants to mine the precious ore in the earth, the environmentalists who are rabid in their approach and the Anishinaabs Indians who have cared for Mother Earth for centuries. Krueger's main character in his series of books about Aurora Minnesota and the Indian Reservation that borders the town, is Cork O'Connor. Cork is a real person. He was the sheriff before being voted out of office. He is a good man with a mixed heritage: 3/4 Irish and 1/4 Anishinasb. His heritage frequently draws him into many disputes between the whites and the indians which end in bloodshed on both sids. The book is a real thriller. The plot is well done with an ending that will be a surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Definitely becoming a favorite author!

    Great storytelling, you can picture the beauty of this world and lose yourself in it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    This series keeps getting better!

    The first book was originally a "Free Friday" selection that Barnes & Noble's Nook customers get to enjoy. It helped me to discover a wonderful mystery writer. I am neither a mystery reader nor a series reader, but here I am really enjoying this mystery series! Why do I like this writer? I enjoy books with high quality prose, and mysteries are usually very plot driven, and often the creation of interesting characters and sense of place are not well-developed. But this one does both. Plus this plot IS complex and intriguing as well. The reader really gets a strong sense of north Minnesota and the Lake Superior setting, the small-town life in Aurora and Tamarack County and the Ojibwe Anishinaabe Indians. Their culture and people are main characters that blend in seamlessly with the tapestry of characters. You never feel like you are reading ethnic literature, but really you are! I won't go into the plot here (you can read it yourself on Goodreads), but I will say, each successive book keeps getting better as the author fine tunes his writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    MUST READ SERIES!

    These books are awesome! Cork O'Conner is awesome! I'm flying through these books and every page keeps me on the edge of my seat! Being a native Minnesnowtan and my love of the north woods adds to the excitement!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    Excellent read and story line.

    Follow of the family life of cork o'connor, love the Americans flavor in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    I recommend this series. 4/5 stars

    This was another great book in the series - hope there are more coming!Anyone who is interested in mysteries and/or Native American lore will like these. No sex, some descriptive violence, but not too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    A very good story set in the North Woods of Minnesota and Michigan

    This story brings together elements of past hardship, exploitation of the emotions brought on by guilt of being the only survivor of a shipwreck, rage against the perceived negligent shipping company owners, kidnapping, and terror. Cork O'Connor must figure out who the evil doer's are and save two families, part of his own and the shipping company's owner's daughter and her son. You don't know until close to the very end who the evil master-mind is and what his fate is. It is a very enjoyable tale with vulnerable characters surviving and some dieing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Great #3 in Series

    Loved this book. Full of adventure and suspense. Still reading the
    series and enjoying it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    This is the third in the Cork O'Connor series, and I plan on rea

    This is the third in the Cork O'Connor series, and I plan on reading all of them! This book was just as exciting as the first two; the author makes you feel like you are a part of the community. I was completely caught by the surprise ending! I highly recommend this to those who love a great "who did it" book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Exciting as usual!

    Another page turner. My husband and I compete to see who will finish first. Wonderful writings of Indian fokelore in a modern world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    The adventure continues!

    My husband and I just found this series, recently, and love it! Krueger is an intelligent, exciting writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Purgatory Ridge

    WK Krueger has a great way of telling a story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Excellent Book

    They just keep getting better. Love the writing of the author and the story lines keep you entranced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Love this series.

    I really like that the author has twists that you don't see coming. This one is no exception. Great read and highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Highly recommend this book. Great read

    I was not familiar with William Kent Krueger until I purchased this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it and have since purchased several of his others in this series. Very easy reading and keeps you interested throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Great Read! Highly Recommended

    I loved this book. I would call it a compassionate thriller. No excessive violence, just real human emotions. It was exciting to the very last page. I plan to read all the other books in the Cork O'Connor series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Another winner by William Kent Krueger!

    I really enjoyed this book; frightening suspense, emotional drama, enviromental issues and a thrilling who-done-it all in one! Interesting setting and characters. As always, Krueger writes like a dream. I loved (and hated) the ending. You may also enjoy the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child, the Kinsey Milhone series by Sue Grafton and anything by Ruth Rendell/Barbara Vine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    This book has love lost, love found, and feelings everyone can relate to. You can feel the cold water and want to reach out and help the people.

    Purgatory Ridge is where the real mystery lies and dies. In a town in Minnesota where the Indians and the Whites both claim land and trees a feud erupts over the cutting of white pines for a mill. While this seems to be the main focus, there are other subtle squirmishs going on. One that started some 20 years ago when a ship went down in Lake Superior and one that slates a man against his wife for her money. You never know who's side anyone is one until that last chapter. What a surprise to see how it all blends together and how feelings are healed. A good read for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    A great book by William Kent Krueger

    This book kept me turning the pages. I don¿t read regularly, but Purgatory Ridge drew my attention because I like mysteries, and it¿s set in Northern Minnesota. William writes in a very realistic manner, so when focused on the story, the reader really has a sense of what¿s going on and almost feels like they're a part of it. The elements of the Ojibwe culture he added were excellent, especially with the characters Henry Meloux and John LePere. The characters were well developed and I really enjoyed how William plotted out John, Karl, and Cork¿s roles. For the landscape he used enough detail so the reader could almost smell the scent of pine trees and hear the waves of Lake Superior. It left the reader with a sense of the North Woods, and images of Lake Superior and the North Shore. This book has many surprises, and kept me wondering, ¿What¿s going to happen next?¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    Finally, a crime novel I can feel good about

    Purgatory Ridge is the first WK Krueger book that I have read and I definitely plan on reading more. Rather than focusing so much on the crime and the criminal, this book focused on the good guys and actually left me feeling like there was hope in the world rather than pure evil. But this is no Nancy Drew book. The plot is intriguing and surprising and the characters' life issues are serious without being melodramatic. Kruegar's 'action' sequences are so well-written and his characters are so life-like, it's easy to lose yourself in the story. Krueger refrains from the gory descriptions and psychotic villains that other mystery novels are so reliant upon, and his story is all the better for it. If he wrote them, I could read (and would read) a hundred books like Purgatory Ridge without feeling that I'd crossed over to the dark side just to find entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3