Customer Reviews for

Purity

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Shelby Crewe made three promises to her dying mother. To always

    Shelby Crewe made three promises to her dying mother. To always listen to her dad, to love as much as possible and to live her life without limits. She has spent the six years since making good on those promises, especially the last promise. But there's a problem. If she always listens to her dad, she can't live without limits. So Shelby has a "loophole" system. If her dad isn't specific about a rule, she can work around it. When Shelby's dad signs them up for the annual Princess Ball that will force her to make a vow of purity until marriage, Shelby only has one way around it. She must lose her purity before taking the vow. That decision sets Shelby up on a quest to find the right guy to give her virginity to, but she also discovers what she's lost in her single-minded goal of fulfilling her mother's wishes.

    PURITY was not what I expected. I thought the story would be more of a closer look at Purity (or Princess) Balls. A cautionary tale of what happens when you let a group decide what's best for you and your body. For those who may not know, a purity ball consists of several vows, among those, vowing your "purity" to your father. I for one, think that's creepy. But honestly, while the question of the vow does play a big part in the story, I found the heart of PURITY to be Shelby's relationships.

    While Shelby's mother asked her to keep the promises to her father to help them remain close, it actually caused a distance between them. I went into the story sure that I would dislike Shelby's dad. He does sign her up for a purity ball, after all. But as the story unfolded, I began to realize that he is simply lacking direction. He's not a bad guy at all, simply misguided. Shelby is a girl with strong conviction. Even if she's not sure that her decision is the best, she will follow through, no matter what. She is incredulous every step of the way, even questioning the pastor as to why boys don't have "Prince Balls". And I admire that Shelby wasn't afraid to stand up for herself and her body. Shelby's friends, Ruby and Jonas were simply brilliant. Ruby was a riot, a great relief for the drama. She continually pulled through for Shelby when needed. Jonas was Shelby's compass. He was always there, no matter if he thought Shelby was wrong. I enjoyed seeing their friendship unfold in new ways.

    PURITY is a funny, thought-provoking story. I was charmed from the opening lines, and read it in only a few hours. I was surprised by the development of the story. OH! I can't go without saying: If you love the movie Sixteen Candles, you will love last few chapters of PURITY. Maybe it was just me, but I felt a "Jake Ryan standing at his car after the church" moment. If nothing else, that should seal the deal for some of you!


    Favorite Quote:

    (A funny moment when a friend was describing the sexual status of the HS band.)
    " 'I'd also say most of the horn line has played the game, and the majority of the horn line has gone hot and heavy with a girl or two - usually from the woodwind section. People always figure it's the color guard, but seriously, it's the woodwinds you've got to look out for.' " (pg.47)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    The whole idea of a book based on enforced purity and chastity w

    The whole idea of a book based on enforced purity and chastity was something that really interested me when I first heard about Jackson Pearce's new contemporary YA, Purity. This is an idea I can relaly relate to, having grown up in the Christian church and hearing about the importance of sexual purity; so I was REALLY curious to see what Jackson would do with this.

    And I was in no way disappointed. Purity is so much deeper and more complex than it seems at first glance; it raises a multitude of fantastic questions and is a fantastic representation of how moving and influential contemporary YA can be.

    Reasons to Read:

    1.Real life application:

    Like I mentioned above, Purity brings up some really great questions. But more so than just this, these are applicable questions, ones that just about every teen has asked at some point. Shelby tackles everyting from grief, losing a loved one, promises, love and friendships, sex, and religion. And THAT is no easy task, especially to tackle ALL IN ONE BOOK. I expected this to be a light, humorous read. There's some humour, and it's a shorter book. But no, I wouldn't classify it as "light" reading. By the end of Purity I had totally teared up.

    2.There is no black and white:

    Nothing is that simple in Purity, as Shelby discovers. Grieving isn't simple. Sex isn't as complicated as one things, nor is it as unattached. Religion and faith are two different things, and they aren't as straightforward as anyone thinks. And THAT'S what I really love about Purity; it doesn't come off preachy in any way. I tend to be wary of books that are both too preachy or that openly mock faith and I had my concerns with this one. Needless to say, I think this is one that finds that balance and does so very, very well.

    3.Humour!:

    I love a book that can make a joke, and this kind of wit that makes you laugh just abounds in Purity! And the characters definitely have this nailed (as does Jackson, seeing as she's the author and all that jazz). This adds a whole other aspect to the book, making it an extremely dynamic and multidimensional read.

    Needless to say, I was totally overwhelmed and impressed with Jackson's debut into the contemporary YA world. This is a fantastic read that I think is going to be a hit with most readers, and one that is certainly going to raise some questions and conversations for its readers.

    ARC received from HBG Canada for review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Im a girl! Gixxersixxer006@aol.com

    Wishing for a boyfriend. One thats skaterish. Cute. Hot. Treats me right. Plz add me as nook buddy. Buddy? Friend? Idk and idc just add me plz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Cmvnfjs

    Cjdvndjs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Mya

    Waits for Purity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    I love this book. It was a very good read and gave me something to think about as I continue through highschool. I highly recommend it for people who question the decisions they have to make as they continue on with their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn't sure about Purity when I first started reading it. I bo

    I wasn't sure about Purity when I first started reading it. I bounce back between really enjoying it and down right hating it, in the end my opinion falls somewhere in the middle.

    I sympathized with the main character of Shelby right away and I liked her quite a lot. Though she does some things I found annoying or immature, I respected her for wanting to honor her mother and father's wishes while still trying to be her own person.

    For people who are worried this book is just about a girl who bashes religion, I would like to say I didn't find it that way at all. Its much more about how Shelby wishes she had something like religion to have faith in; something that is always there for her no matter what, something she never questions. Unfortunately after her mother's death she doesn't find that religion does that for her anymore. The novel is about her journey to accept the things she can't change. To find faith and understanding in herself.

    Anyways, while I obviously enjoyed the honesty and heart in Jackson Pearce's novel I had a harder time with its predictability. I felt that after about 20 or 30 pages you already knew how the novel was going to end and that doesn't change. Some of the supporting characters feel flat for me as well. I do think the novel could be helpful to younger teens who are trying to deal with loss or thinking of losing their virginity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Ian

    Alright. Cya tommorrow. *squeezes her d-cups on mre time wishing they were bigger*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Crane Mask

    "Ah, yes. Always so many galsm"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Skater mask

    Yup

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Raven Mask

    Yo, skater dude.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Alturistic Mask was...

    "Storm Blake!"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When I first picked up Purity, I didn’t even read the syno

    When I first picked up Purity, I didn’t even read the synopsis, so you can say it is another book I picked up for its cover. However when I did read the synopsis, I was a bit put off. A girl is trying to lose her virginity because of a promise she made to her deceased mother many years back? The whole plot felt absurd, HOWEVER it was delivered with tons of humor. Which is why, while the topic of Purity made me a bit uncomfortable, overall it was enjoyable because the author went for the light, funny dialogue, which is always a plus for me.
    Shelby, the main protagonist made a promise to her mom that she would 1. Listen to everything her father says, 2. Love as much as possible, and 3. Live without restraint. Many years later, you see that Shelby has taken those three promises as her bible. She lives her life following these three rules, especially the first one, and the last. The problem arises when she has to go to a dance where she has to make vows to stay pure, and this is where Shelby has to find a loophole to obey her father (go to the dance) while at the same time NOT make those vows because that is not ‘living without restraint’.
    Throughout the book, with the help of her two bestfriends, Jonas and Ruby, she makes a list of all the eligible guys, and tries her luck with each of them. However in the end she goes through a big revelation of who her true love is. Now, I saw that coming miles away, actually ever since the character she ‘loves’, at the end of the book, was introduced. Also, it happened in the last couple of pages of the book so the ending felt too rushed for my liking and a bit too clichéd. I wished that the too much unnecessary details and side characters of the story had less pages dedicated to them and more pages dedicated to her figuring out WHAT she was looking for all this time. However, All in all, purity was an enjoyable read, while a bit too generic, is a cute contemporary to anyone looking for something light to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Shelby Crewe's mother

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Shelby Crewe's mother dies tragically of breast cancer which has traumatized both Shelby and her father as death frequently does. But before she dies, Shelby's mother makes Shelby promise that 1) She must listen to her father, 2) She must love as much as possible, and 3) She must live without restraint. Shelby tries so very hard to live by her mother's wishes, but now as the Princess Ball approaches and Shelby's father is busy working on its preparations, Shelby is concerned. She really doesn't want to go to the Princess Ball and wear a fancy ball gown. She'd rather hang out with her friends Ruby and Jonas and she's really, really put off by the purity pledge that she will be taking at the ball. So what will Shelby do? And could this Princess Ball that her own mother attended years before bring her closer to her father?

    Author Jackson Pearce has created in "Purity" a well-written, well-edited and totally believable coming of age story for teenagers. Shelby's attempts to keep promises that she made to her dying mother five years before and how she deals with her interpretation of these promises is perfectly "teenager" stuff. The characters are three-dimensional and make the storyline alive. The scenes with Shelby shopping for a prom gown with her eccentric aunt are filled with humor. Readers will love how Shelby has Ruby redo the prom gown she finally selects. Jonas and Shelby's eventual coming together is an example of writing at its very best. "Purity" is a first-rate read for teenagers and those who recall their teenage years well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Purity was an amazing look into what a person does to honor some

    Purity was an amazing look into what a person does to honor someone they love. IT was hilarious and heartbreaking rolled into one; just how I like my contemporary novels. This is a first for Jackson Pearce, and based on this, I hope she has more contemporary books lying in wait!

    Shelby deals with such a heart-wrenching situation the only way she knows how: following the Promises. These Promises are the only things she feels will keep her connected to her mother, and she lives her life by them. This idea is something that a reader can relate to, even if they've never lost someone because of the all-consuming way Pearce has written the story. There is no Shelby without the Promises, and you really feel that through the story.

    As with any contemporary, characters are crucial, and Pearce does an amazing job crafting her's. Shelby is a great protagonist to go on this journey with, but I have to say my favorite character is Jonas. He is Shelby's best friend and partner in the Promises. He keeps the list for her, he supports her, and he loves her. If there are no Shelby with the Promises, there is also no Shelby with Jonas. My other favorite character is Shelby's dad. In ways he reminds me of my dad, and that makes the strained relationship between Shelby and him even that more painful to read.

    The themes explored within the novel are summed up in the tagline: love, loss, and sex. No light reading here. The issues of virginity, purity, and belief are mixed together as Shelby tries to discover what she believes and feels. Spirituality plays an important role within the book, and I think the way this is handled is really great. There are all aspects of belief represented: non-belief, required belief, true belief. I just really love when authors represent religion and spirituality in a realistic and true way. I don't think the book would be the same without this either!

    The final part I have to talk about is the writing! I knew Pearce was an amazing writer from her three previous books, but the humor she puts into all her writing made this one unforgettable. When dealing with such heavy issues people seem to think it's all tears and torture, but in my experience there is a ton of laughter and sarcasm. That is what she brings to the table. I laughed so hard at certain parts, it was a much needed counter point to the intense problems going on; a balancing act not many can pull off.

    Jackson Pearce yet again blows it out of the park, making Purity is a must read! The book hits stores TODAY so go grab a copy. Trust me, you'll want re-read as soon as you're done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1