Customer Reviews for

Purity

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Im a girl! Gixxersixxer006@aol.com

    Wishing for a boyfriend. One thats skaterish. Cute. Hot. Treats me right. Plz add me as nook buddy. Buddy? Friend? Idk and idc just add me plz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Mya

    Waits for Purity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    I love this book. It was a very good read and gave me something to think about as I continue through highschool. I highly recommend it for people who question the decisions they have to make as they continue on with their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Ian

    Alright. Cya tommorrow. *squeezes her d-cups on mre time wishing they were bigger*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Crane Mask

    "Ah, yes. Always so many galsm"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Skater mask

    Yup

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Raven Mask

    Yo, skater dude.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Alturistic Mask was...

    "Storm Blake!"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Shelby Crewe's mother

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Shelby Crewe's mother dies tragically of breast cancer which has traumatized both Shelby and her father as death frequently does. But before she dies, Shelby's mother makes Shelby promise that 1) She must listen to her father, 2) She must love as much as possible, and 3) She must live without restraint. Shelby tries so very hard to live by her mother's wishes, but now as the Princess Ball approaches and Shelby's father is busy working on its preparations, Shelby is concerned. She really doesn't want to go to the Princess Ball and wear a fancy ball gown. She'd rather hang out with her friends Ruby and Jonas and she's really, really put off by the purity pledge that she will be taking at the ball. So what will Shelby do? And could this Princess Ball that her own mother attended years before bring her closer to her father?

    Author Jackson Pearce has created in "Purity" a well-written, well-edited and totally believable coming of age story for teenagers. Shelby's attempts to keep promises that she made to her dying mother five years before and how she deals with her interpretation of these promises is perfectly "teenager" stuff. The characters are three-dimensional and make the storyline alive. The scenes with Shelby shopping for a prom gown with her eccentric aunt are filled with humor. Readers will love how Shelby has Ruby redo the prom gown she finally selects. Jonas and Shelby's eventual coming together is an example of writing at its very best. "Purity" is a first-rate read for teenagers and those who recall their teenage years well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Purity was an amazing look into what a person does to honor some

    Purity was an amazing look into what a person does to honor someone they love. IT was hilarious and heartbreaking rolled into one; just how I like my contemporary novels. This is a first for Jackson Pearce, and based on this, I hope she has more contemporary books lying in wait!

    Shelby deals with such a heart-wrenching situation the only way she knows how: following the Promises. These Promises are the only things she feels will keep her connected to her mother, and she lives her life by them. This idea is something that a reader can relate to, even if they've never lost someone because of the all-consuming way Pearce has written the story. There is no Shelby without the Promises, and you really feel that through the story.

    As with any contemporary, characters are crucial, and Pearce does an amazing job crafting her's. Shelby is a great protagonist to go on this journey with, but I have to say my favorite character is Jonas. He is Shelby's best friend and partner in the Promises. He keeps the list for her, he supports her, and he loves her. If there are no Shelby with the Promises, there is also no Shelby with Jonas. My other favorite character is Shelby's dad. In ways he reminds me of my dad, and that makes the strained relationship between Shelby and him even that more painful to read.

    The themes explored within the novel are summed up in the tagline: love, loss, and sex. No light reading here. The issues of virginity, purity, and belief are mixed together as Shelby tries to discover what she believes and feels. Spirituality plays an important role within the book, and I think the way this is handled is really great. There are all aspects of belief represented: non-belief, required belief, true belief. I just really love when authors represent religion and spirituality in a realistic and true way. I don't think the book would be the same without this either!

    The final part I have to talk about is the writing! I knew Pearce was an amazing writer from her three previous books, but the humor she puts into all her writing made this one unforgettable. When dealing with such heavy issues people seem to think it's all tears and torture, but in my experience there is a ton of laughter and sarcasm. That is what she brings to the table. I laughed so hard at certain parts, it was a much needed counter point to the intense problems going on; a balancing act not many can pull off.

    Jackson Pearce yet again blows it out of the park, making Purity is a must read! The book hits stores TODAY so go grab a copy. Trust me, you'll want re-read as soon as you're done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1