Customer Reviews for

Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thumbs up for Purple Cow

    Reprinted from my blog at purplesteak.com. Slightly edited.

    Purple Cow is like a bowl of salsa. It is made up of many short chapters with a generous sprinkling of case studies of real organisations and people that are remarkably remarkable (or remarkably unremarkable). You can spoon it on its own, or dip your ideas into it to enhance their flavours- anytime and as many times as you'd like.

    Seth Godin, the author, calls Purple Cow the new P in the marketing list of five Ps (product, pricing, promotion, positioning, publicity, packaging, and more). Sure, there are more than five, but as Seth noted, everyone has their favourite five. Purple Cow is definitely in my list, which explains "Purple Steak (the name of my blog)."

    A Purple Cow refers to something extraordinary and remarkable. Two examples of Purple Cows in action are Lionel Poilane ("Case Study: The Best Baker in the World"), who sold $10 million worth of bread in one year; and Dario Cecchini ("Case Study: The Italian Butcher"), who has people crowding his butcher shop because they enjoy the meat-buying experience there.

    Although the subtitle of the book is "Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable," you don't really have to be (or aspire to be) in the business field to be inspired. What the book manages to achieve is to challenge the reader to the edges and explore the limits. The opposite of "remarkable" isn't "bad," - it's "very good." "Very good" is an overhyped myth. "Very good" causes you to be complacent. Worse, it causes you to settle. "Very good" doesn't get people talking, and lacks the punch. Anyone can be "very good," but only the remarkable few can be remarkable. And they are the remarkable few because they don't stop at "very good." And it is those remarkable ones who are the winners, while the "very goods" stay average.

    So whether you're a student, a teacher, a clerk, an artist, a fishmonger, whatever, you'll gain tremendously from Purple Cow. Nobody loses from being remarkably remarkable. If you hate to settle, if you want to stand out, if you want to create or do something extraordinary, then I strongly recommend this book to you.

    Stop being boring. Be remarkable.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    A Purple Cow is remarkable

    If you want your business to stand out, you will definitely get what you want from this book. If you want your business to function optimally and you are interested in obtaining the best possible results, then read Optimal Thinking as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Life Changing book - could read again and again

    I have read Purple Cow 3 times and every time I read it I get so many new ideas that revolutionize my approach to business.

    The book is an easy read and I would recommend to buy it.

    The best 3 ideas I got were:

    1. Small is the new Big: uncover a small niche market that you're passionate about and then become the absolute best person serving that market

    2. Don't be afraid to stand out. Be unique, gutsy, true to yourself and brand yourself in a unique way. Vanilla is dead - be purple!

    3. Make your product/service refer-able to a key group of sneezers who will do your marketing for you.

    All I can say is wow!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    Purple Cow

    Written by marketing pro Seth Godin, Purple Cow is a great book for anyone interested in improving business or marketing skills. Godin discusses several companies that have become sucessful in business to day by standing out and making their product different from the rest. These companies are used as examples throughout the book, and each section discusses one major point or step to making your business a success. My favorite part of the book is the "takeaway" pionts given by Godin at the end of almost every section. This book is a great tool to help those involved in business and marketing begin to stand out and be successful.

    OSU Comp Student 2009

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    Where being Very Good is well...Boring

    Seth has done it again. In the Purple Cow, he challenges you to expand your creativity thinking, to get you to look at the same-old-same-old from a new perspective. This book is filled with case studies and examples of what does and does not work in the world of the Purple Cow, and how to stand out and get noticed, without following the traditional methods of marketing and PR. I dare you to get even half-way through this book without having your head fairly bursting with ideas on how to improve upon and existing product or service - or creating a whole new one. The information contained in this book is a must have for anyone interested in changing the direction of their business. Don't just be very good - Be Remarkable. Be a Purple Cow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Remarkable!

    'There are so many very good things that very good is hardly worth noticing. Are you making very good things? How fast can you stop?' This is the central idea of Purple Cow. You are either remarkable or invisible. Given that consumers see 86,000 commercials a year and have neither the time nor the desire to understand them, the old method of marketing is dead. A product's success is no longer a function of its advertising budget. Building on his concept of Ideavirus, Godin illustrates that exceptional products benefit from the free marketing of word-of-mouth. Think Napster, the Aeron chair, and JetBlue airlines. These products weren't advertised. They were so exceptional that the products marketed themselves. Part of being exceptional is understanding that 'safe is risky' and 'criticism is not the opposite of success'. Buy this quick-read book and start thinking about how you and your products can be remarkable. If you don't do it, your competitor will!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Mooove your business!

    I received this book as part of a pre release, in hopes to learn more about promoting my Avon business, and getting the jump start on companies in the future. I expected a cut and dried book, but what I got was an awesome viewpoint, well written with bits of humor thrown in! I read the entire book in less than a day! I love the concepts, the theory, and hope to promote the book in hopes that everyone can adopt a new outlook on advertising, and more! This book is aimed mostly toward 'new product' companies, not someone like me who is selling someone else's product, but I got tips on how to advertise, what works for advertising, and what does not do well in promotions. I also learned that word of mouth sells it all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    awesome book, changes the way you see the world!

    this book was fantastic! not only is it the best bussiness related books i have ever read, its so intresting i had trouble ever putting it down. this book will change the way you view the world, read it....and start seeing purple cows everywhere!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Az

    Shovies it in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Max

    Going to be gone for a while. He stands in the way so it get to his d.i.ck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Read epic story!!!!!

    Fock u :0 8===D LoL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Gg

    Gg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Jen

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    JJ

    Hey jesse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    MISTYCLAW I AM LOCKED OUT PLEASE MOVE CAMP

    Thanks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    JJ

    Hey!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    JJ

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Mya

    Waits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Ocean

    Hold on igtg ill be back in a cupl hrs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Mysterycloud

    *scanns the clearing*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5