BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Spottedstorm

    (Im gonna advertise! And Stonestar, Spottedstorm likes him!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    MAX

    If u locked out go to res 2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Great read!

    The book was not inky a great read; but supported its claims with real life examples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    Elementary but encouragingly cheerleading

    Frequent business author Seth Godin found himself back on the major bestseller lists with this straightforward marketing manual. His easy-to-grasp premise is that products must be 'purple cows' that stand out from the herd. The metaphor comes from an American nursery rhyme that says: ¿I've never seen a purple cow. / I never hope to see one. / But I can tell you anyhow / I'd rather see than be one.¿ Godin's advice is quite the opposite of his titular ditty. He says you do want to be a purple cow. You want your product to become a conversation-provoking anomaly, as distinctive and different as possible. Imploring companies to manufacture singular, 'remarkable' products is like insisting that your local NFL franchise go out and win the Super Bowl ¿ a worthy goal, but not so simple. This is an elementary but encouragingly cheerleading look at advertising, PR and marketing. we recommend its interesting case histories about Starbucks and Krispy Kreme, just right for this breezy coffee-and-a-cream-puff pep talk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Moo Moo Moo

    Seth Godin is the living embodiment of everything he talks and writes about. I was lucky enough to attend a Purple Cow workshop a couple of years ago, a great experience that complemented this excellent book very well indeed. The book is well written, well edited, succinct, engaging and provocational in the very best sense. While Seth doesn't have the 'mad as hell' tone of his fellow author Tom Peters, his tone does pull the reader in - he seems somewhat incredulous that the world hasn't quite caught on yet, but he resists the temptation to patronise and offers up some short but compelling stories on how to succeed in business by doing what you never thought you'd dare. Buy this book, highlight your favorite parts, read it over and buy another copy for someone who's success you care about. Then go and buy Seth's other books. He doesn't labor his points, so you'll even have time to read them. Check out the follow up 'The Big Moo' too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    www.toccaredesign.com -this helped us

    Seth is a genius. The book is simple and carries a message for anyone trying to market either themselves or a product. I sent this book to a friend in real estate and an entrepreurial friend. This helped me look at my own company, Toccare Design, from the perspective of creating a product for a certain niche. Thanks Seth...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    A Remarkable Book

    Purple Cow has lived up to Seth Godin's main advice, for it is truly remarkable. It demonstarted to me the importance of standing out in a crowd of products which offer similar benefits to consumers. Godin dares businesses to be different to put them that one or even two steps above the rest. It is not mass marketing which piques the customers interest, it is the uniquesness of its benefit, display, advertising or even the customer service. This book taught me so much about marketing from a business standpoint, as well as how to market oneself in the job search. This is a fantastic read for anyone involved in business or marketing and I'm sure you will find within its pages a reason to create your own purple cow. Be prepared to become remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    My Cow Bells Are Clinking!!!

    Have you ever read a book that so 'mooved' you that it has carried into your everyday life. Purple Cow has done this for me. With the educational insight this book has given me, I've been recognizing potential Purple Cows wherever I look. So you might ask, 'What is a purple cow?' A purple cow is someone who asserts that being Very Good doesn¿t cut it anymore. In order to survive in this economy, you¿ve got to be remarkable. Or risk being invisible. Purple Cow is a manifesto for anyone who's looking to make a difference, regardless of their mission. Reading the book Purple Cow is not just an education but a life change. It has helped my co-workers and I: 1. Tell the truth 2. Explore new pricing strategies 3. Break the rules 4. Reposition our product 5. Listen to our customers 6. Tap into our network. Read Purple Cow and I am sure that you will experience the same life changing events regarding your perception of the world as I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    The one for the 21st century

    The Purple Cow is yet another breakthrough book by Seth Godin that challenges our minds and helps us unleash our own business creativity ... in order for our company to become a Purple Cow ... a company that stands out from the crowd, a market leader, the one others follow. This is a must have for every businessman - present and future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    Seth Does it Again with Purple Cow

    Seth Godin, noted speaker and sneezer, hits the nail on the head again with Purple Cow. A 'manifesto for marketers', it describes how traditional mass marketing is a recipe for failure, and true success can be found by 'being remarkable'. He cite several examples of Purple Cow companies, such as Jet Blue and Ben and Jerry's, which bucked the trend by placing the emphasis on having a truly noteworthy product, and not on its advertising spin. This book also has implications in everyday business and personal life -- learning to stand out in a me-too world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    'REMARKABLE!'

    If you are new to the business, or senior to the business, this book can help you to be REMARKABLE. Uplifting words and great advice are all rolled into this short, easy to read book- so no excuses on having no time to read it!!!!! WONDERFUL!! 4 STARS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Splendid!

    In 'Purple Cow', Seth Godin urges business people to put a Purple Cow into everything they build, everything they do and to create something truly remarkable. His ideas are fascinating and gave me great inspiration to make a real impact on everything I want noticed. From the book: 'As the ability to be remarkable continues to demonstrate its awesome value in the marketplace, the rewards that follow the Purple Cow increase.' Enough said, really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    Does your buisness need a face lift?

    'You're either a Purple Cow or you're not. You're either remarkable or invisible. Make your choice.' Ever wonder how buisnesses such as Starbucks do so well, while you, a hardworking individual, goes no where? This book just may have the answers to your questions. No, this book isn't going to give you a play by play guideline! But it just may give you the insight you need to take the next step to being the next Krispy Kreme, Apple computers, IKEA wonder!!!!! This book explores where companies went wrong and tells you what they could've done to make it right. You'll find out what a 'sneezer' is, and how important they should be to you! By the time you finish this book, you'll be ready to take on the world.....and then conquer it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    I've been a Purple Cow in a Brown Cow World all my life

    I always knew I was different, I just never knew I was purple! Seth Godin has done it again. Purple Cow is a small, very easy-to-read book. You could probably cruise through it in an hour but you won't want to. There is so much to digest and use. I thought I'd be able to knock it out (I'm a business book junkie, what can I say) in no time, but found myself making notes in the margin, highlighting and underlining the highlighting. I've implemented some of the techniques in my business already and am seeing an increase of daily sales in just 10 days! DO NOT HESITATE, GET THIS, READ THIS, USE THIS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Wow! A Purple Cow!

    Have you ever seen a Purple Cow? I'm sure you'd remember if you had - it would stand out! This is Seth Godin's point about such businesses as Jet Blue and Kripsy Kreme, and even the movie My Big Fat Greek Wedding. They used smart 'Purple Cow' ideas and marketing rather than the old tired 'P's. This is a great book to read to make your business and yourself remarkable. He gives ideas and suggestions that will have you saying 'that's so smart, why didn't I think of that', simple but extremely effective. As Mr. Godin says 'be remarkable or be invisible'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    in a world of same-old products (or authors,) purple cows (and seth godin) stand out

    the purple cow can transform your business, career, or personal life. rather than doing enough to get by and trying to package your product (or yourself) in a remarkable way, godin suggests that you build remarkable right into the product. he doesn't tell you how to do it (most likely because if he knew he would no longer need to write books,) but shows you how to identify purple cows in the making. the book is absolutely vital for anyone looking to succeed in today's cluttered environment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Are you plain or are you purple?

    Purple Cow is a breakthough book with breakthrough ideas that everyone should read. Short enough to read on a shuttle flight, the ideas are big enough to last your entire career. Being remarkable is the only way for businesses survive in this era of information overload, and the father of permission marketing is the man to show us the way. Remember: The opposite of remarkable is very good. Very good is boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Trust the Word of Mouth

    A must have for new and experienced marketers! The extraordinary thing about this book is the way Seth Godin wanted people to find out out his book-- word-of-mouth. His book became the purple cow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Be The Cow

    Seth definitly has a valid point how can you stand out in this day and age if you are like everyone else. You have to be a purple cow, you have to stand out from the rest, and this is what Seth tries to show in his book. This is a great book for many, wether you own a business, or want to start one, or just want to be different. This is a short weekend reader that should be read by all. We all should think outside the box.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    A Fascinating and Positive Approach

    This book is exciting. It is a concise look at the challenges that face businesses of all sizes and types. As Seth Godwin states, ' Be remarkable or be invisible.' This is a book with a concept that can be put in action and be shared with friends, business partners, and clients alike. Seth explains the old-fashion advertising-based techniques no longer work like they use to. Instead of creating safe and ordinary products with great marketing, it is now necessary to create remarkable products that the right people seek out. Each of the remarkable companies and products that Seth reviews in his case studies are companies we recognize immediately. These provide clear and concise business examples of how to follow his purple path of success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5