Customer Reviews for

The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For?

Average Rating 4
( 478 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(295)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

It's not about you

When I first read The Purpose Driven Life, I was a born-again Christian. I don't like tags but that is the best description I can give. I had attended church most of my life but drifted away. In my mid-40s, I began searching. I felt empty. When a friend recommended Warr...
When I first read The Purpose Driven Life, I was a born-again Christian. I don't like tags but that is the best description I can give. I had attended church most of my life but drifted away. In my mid-40s, I began searching. I felt empty. When a friend recommended Warren's book, I read it, following the 40-day journey plan. I have recommended and bought copies for people. It is not the Bible but it helped me to understand many things not only about God but myself and my relationship with Him. Some may not find it enlightening but I believe that if you read it with an open mind, you will learn more about God and your relationship with Him. The book is easy to follow. I have gone through it four times. Each time I read it, I find something new to think about.

posted by Anonymous on September 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Consumer Driven Christianity

The Purpose Driven Life is 'Christianity-Lite.' Tastes great, goes down easy, but has zero nourishment for the human soul. There are so many other good books on the spiritual life, that it amazes me that this is the one that has made it to the top of the bestseller list...
The Purpose Driven Life is 'Christianity-Lite.' Tastes great, goes down easy, but has zero nourishment for the human soul. There are so many other good books on the spiritual life, that it amazes me that this is the one that has made it to the top of the bestseller lists. I was very disappointed. I am presently rereading John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, which was for centuries the number one best-seller after the Bible. It remains one of the greatest spirtual classics ever written. Warren's book cannot be compared to such classics and will not stand the test of time. If you want to read some recent books that examine the weaknesses of Warren's 'seeker-senstive' style of Christianity, try: 'The Market-Driven Church: The Worldly Influence of Modern Culture on the Church in America,' by Udo W. Middelmann, 'Dining with the Devil: The Megachurch Movement Flirts with Modernity,' by Os Guinness, and John MacArthur's 'Ashamed of the Gospel.' 'A Time of Departing' by Ray Youngen has a chapter on Rick Warren.

posted by Anonymous on June 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 295 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Very enjoyable read and useful in improving your life.

    I read the original version over 15 years ago with a lunchtime book club at work. I enjoyed it very much then and grew spiritually from it. This updated version was a great renewal and the new segments/features were a pleasure as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Sunflame

    Sorry next result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Ricky is the best

    Youth groups must read it . Its amazing some people might will not get it because they have their eyes covered spirtuly.Or there just saying that.I have studyed ir and it has opened my eyes. With the help of God too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Praise The Lord for this book

    This one of the best written books I have read. It is such a blessing in so many lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Exelente...

    Este libro me asido recomendado como uno de los mejores ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    All inspiring!

    I start my day with these daily readings and get my positive fix to keep me going all day long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    very good book for christian living

    Rick Warren is a very good writer swnd has great insight to the study of the Bible

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Amen

    Amen

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    A MUST READ!

    A MUST READ!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Love it Hands Down.

    This is a great 40 day journey to finding a purpose driven life. I think everyone should read this. I has gotten me much closer to my faith. I actaully made a change after reading this book and has stuck with it so far. I am getting married this fall all becuase of wanting to have that purpose and I changed my ways. I know if it will do it for me it can help someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I was so excited to receive "The Purpose Driven Life"

    I was so excited to receive "The Purpose Driven Life" by Rick Warren. This particular edition is the expanded edition, which updates the original version with interactive tools to help you get the most out of the book - for example, each day's reading includes a QR code that you can scan if you have a smartphone, and it links you to further lectures and information that correlate with the message of the day.

    "The Purpose Driven Life" is a devotional style book, with one chapter to read every day. The book aims to help us understand our God given purpose in this life. Many people strive to be successful in their careers, finances, family life, and even in their spiritual life, but it is easy to overlook the fact that God has created each and every one of us for a specific God given purpose, as well. Rick Warren does a great job in putting this into perspective, and posing questions to help us find God's purpose for our lives.

    What I liked about this book was that each day of the reading made me feel like I really was learning, and growing in my understanding of what God wants for my life - how I can better serve his kingdom. Rick Warren uses Bible verses to explain what God created us for, and how we can achieve his purpose. The chapters were only a few pages per day, so it was easy to pick up before bed and read that day's message.

    I think this book was absolutely wonderful, and a perfect reminder that there is so much more we need to accomplish in our lives than getting that promotion, or making more money. I would highly recommend this book to any adult - it's really a very thought provoking book. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I was very happy to see that Rick Warren had released his book,

    I was very happy to see that Rick Warren had released his book, The Purpose Driven Life, once again. Warren has added some features that will appeal to the younger generation. Having a day-to-day personal spiritual development guide for forty days, is a must for all generations. If you have questioned, who you are and why you are here, this book is a must for you. I think we all have asked those questions and Warren does an excellent job of answering them. I would recommend The Purpose Driven Life for all people, all generations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    Life Transforming!! The anniversary edition of "The Purpos

    Life Transforming!!

    The anniversary edition of "The Purpose Driven Life" is even better than the first edition. There are two new chapters added: "The Envy Trap - I must be like you to be happy" and "The People-Pleaser Trap - I must be liked by you to be happy".

    What I also think is a wonderful addition, are the QR codes and web links incorporated providing a video intro and 30-minute audio message by Pastor Rick Warren for each chapter.

    If you are not familiar with Pastor Rick Warren books, The Purpose Driven Life is a great introduction. This is one of my favorite books ever. I highly recommend it to everyone.

    I have received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Zondervan and Thomas Nelson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Life-changing!

    This book and the free resources on the website have given me so much insight. I definitely recommend it to anyone trying to find peace in their life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great !

    I loved the book it was so amazing. It opened my eyes to alot. Heart is heavy needed more guides to get closer to God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Great for self and cuples

    This book will help you to despline you'r self and get you'r relationship right with GOD and you'r spouse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Great book

    great and powerful little book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!!

    This book will definitely bring you closer to God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Wonderful Book

    This book has been a blessing in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 295 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15