Customer Reviews for

The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For?

Average Rating 4
( 480 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

It's not about you

When I first read The Purpose Driven Life, I was a born-again Christian. I don't like tags but that is the best description I can give. I had attended church most of my life but drifted away. In my mid-40s, I began searching. I felt empty. When a friend recommended Warr...
When I first read The Purpose Driven Life, I was a born-again Christian. I don't like tags but that is the best description I can give. I had attended church most of my life but drifted away. In my mid-40s, I began searching. I felt empty. When a friend recommended Warren's book, I read it, following the 40-day journey plan. I have recommended and bought copies for people. It is not the Bible but it helped me to understand many things not only about God but myself and my relationship with Him. Some may not find it enlightening but I believe that if you read it with an open mind, you will learn more about God and your relationship with Him. The book is easy to follow. I have gone through it four times. Each time I read it, I find something new to think about.

posted by Anonymous on September 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Consumer Driven Christianity

The Purpose Driven Life is 'Christianity-Lite.' Tastes great, goes down easy, but has zero nourishment for the human soul. There are so many other good books on the spiritual life, that it amazes me that this is the one that has made it to the top of the bestseller list...
The Purpose Driven Life is 'Christianity-Lite.' Tastes great, goes down easy, but has zero nourishment for the human soul. There are so many other good books on the spiritual life, that it amazes me that this is the one that has made it to the top of the bestseller lists. I was very disappointed. I am presently rereading John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, which was for centuries the number one best-seller after the Bible. It remains one of the greatest spirtual classics ever written. Warren's book cannot be compared to such classics and will not stand the test of time. If you want to read some recent books that examine the weaknesses of Warren's 'seeker-senstive' style of Christianity, try: 'The Market-Driven Church: The Worldly Influence of Modern Culture on the Church in America,' by Udo W. Middelmann, 'Dining with the Devil: The Megachurch Movement Flirts with Modernity,' by Os Guinness, and John MacArthur's 'Ashamed of the Gospel.' 'A Time of Departing' by Ray Youngen has a chapter on Rick Warren.

posted by Anonymous on June 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    Consumer Driven Christianity

    The Purpose Driven Life is 'Christianity-Lite.' Tastes great, goes down easy, but has zero nourishment for the human soul. There are so many other good books on the spiritual life, that it amazes me that this is the one that has made it to the top of the bestseller lists. I was very disappointed. I am presently rereading John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, which was for centuries the number one best-seller after the Bible. It remains one of the greatest spirtual classics ever written. Warren's book cannot be compared to such classics and will not stand the test of time. If you want to read some recent books that examine the weaknesses of Warren's 'seeker-senstive' style of Christianity, try: 'The Market-Driven Church: The Worldly Influence of Modern Culture on the Church in America,' by Udo W. Middelmann, 'Dining with the Devil: The Megachurch Movement Flirts with Modernity,' by Os Guinness, and John MacArthur's 'Ashamed of the Gospel.' 'A Time of Departing' by Ray Youngen has a chapter on Rick Warren.

    20 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    THIS BOOK DEMEANS GOD AND EXALTS MAN

    2 Timothy 4:3-5 says, 'For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine but wanting to have their ears tickled, they will accumulate for themselves teachers in accordance to their own desires, and will turn away their ears from the truth and will turn aside to myths.' This book is humanistic Christian self-help at its craftiest. It draws our focus away from the essentials of salvation such as the Absolute Holiness of God, the total depravity of man, and Faith Alone by Grace Alone in Christ Alone as the true means of God's intentions for the chosen. I would strongly encourage anyone considering this book to Google and read the following article: 'The Adulation of Man in The Purpose Driven Life' by Richard Bennett. My prayers for all who are seeking God and desiring to return to the purity, simplicity and power of the Saving Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Don't bother

    Have we wandered so far from the truth that we are blinded by watered-down and incorrect teaching? We must not be longing 'for the pure milk of the Word' (I Peter 2:2) or else we would be more concerned with the teaching of God's Word (the Bible) than the works of a money-driven pastor. The principles taught in this book are overly simplistic. Warren does not use scholarly or even well-known and respected translations of the Bible. He often takes verses out of context to prove his point. Warren opens the book by stating, 'It's not about you,' however he uses the word 'you' and 'your' over 12 times in the first paragraph and the word 'God' once. This is a common element throughout the book. For a book that is supposedly Christ-centered, it sure comes aross as all about ME. If you are looking for your purpose on earth, start with the Bible. People have been reading it for thousands of years, and I'm sure they were able to figure out their purpose by reading God's Word, rather than reading Warren's newest best-seller. Just a warning: if you are looking for sugar-coated truths or are afraid of acknowledging you are a sinner, then stick with PDL. It will make you feel good, without convicting you. But if you ask me, we all could use a little more conviction in our lives.

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    This Book's Purpose is to MAKE MONEY

    As a long-time member (now former member) of Saddleback, this book is nothing but another attempt to make money off of God's real Word. Rick Warren intentionally twists and distorts God's Word by using an endless number of Bible 'versions' to fit them to what Warren wants to say and not what God really said. In many cases, these quotes are taken entirely out of context. I left Saddleback Church because of the constant bombardment of commercials for this book. Every week Rick Warren announces the latest sales statistics. Want to know how Warren helped promoted this book - he gave away tens of thousands of these FREE. Great way to push a book to the top of the 'sales' charts. Just take a look at the huge number of 'Purpose-Driven Life' spin-offs. This is not about God, it's about making money. If you really want something with supstance, read the Bible, and not this drivel.

    12 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Disappointed

    I found The Purpose Driven Life to be patronizing, redundant and simple-minded. The few good points it held, were obscured by the condescending and boring writing style of its author.

    10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    What on Earth

    I am a Christian who enjoys reading books like the Chicken Soup series. However, this book is not like those at all. Each chapter starts off with a quote from the Bible which is then twisted and analyzed. Warren writes as if he is writing through divine inspiration and his word is fact. While he does give some good advice, in most of the passages the meaning is either overt in what he is 'explaining,' or purely opinion with no real support other than other Bible passages quoted out of context. Also, he constantly mentions that he founded Saddleback church which becomes annoyingly vain as he talks about the importance of being humble. Ultimately, the question the book asks is never even answered. Read the Bible instead of readings quotes from it that are explained poorly.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2005

    Man's v. God's Wisdom

    It's appalling that so many 'Christian' people would be so readily deceived by this book. How many scripture references does Mr. Warren have to misuse before people wake up to his ways? If he will not faithfully use God's word, whose purposes is he actually serving? (See Genesis 3:1-12)

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    'Purpose-Driven'??

    Any author who uses the term 'purpose-driven' (thank you, corporate America, for the many forms of '-driven'!) in a book title doesn't deserve to be read by the seriously spiritually minded folks out there.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    Thin Souls with Narrow Minds

    The sad state of Christian culture in the United States finds expression in this relentless dumbing down of Christian experience. Is the author of this mess of verbiage ashamed of scandal of the cross? Has he studied theology and biblical languages? What wretched people buy such drivel? Please, do not waste your money, time, and soul. Read Paul Tillich¿s The Courage to Be or Reinhold Niebuhr¿s Moral Man and Immoral Society.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    question:

    Why is "Purpose-Driven" used to refer exclusively to a Christian mindset? And why the implication that no other purpose is relevant? Kind of insulting to everyone else.

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    I haven't quit yet, but I could at any time

    I am one of those people that was brought up as a Catholic (went to church every sunday, went to CCD and Sunday school, was confirmed, etc.) but was never really taught much about it. So I'm really trying to believe in Cristianity but I'm having trouble. So I was given this book as a gift by someone that I talk to about this subject a lot and I started it with a very open mind. I even keep a journal for each chapter. BUT, I am feeling so pressured by each 'chapter' that I read. I feel like any interests and hobbies I have are a waste of my time because he says that life is temporary, and eternity is everything. I feel that if I doubt any part of the bible, I will go to hell. He comes out in the 3rd chapter (I think) and pretty much says that people are driven by 5 things in life and each one is a negative one (money, power, impressing people, etc). I don't believe that people are all driven by negative things. I have not felt any positivity or reassurance at all in my faith. From this book, I feel so pressured to teach my kids about God and Jesus just so that if this entire thing is true, they will go to Heaven. Anyways, I would be very interested to see the kind of house that Rick Warren lives in and what kind of car he drives and what presents he gives (you know, since he isn't driven by money or possessions and because they mean nothing). He practically tells us that life is meaningless. It's eternity that means something, so why bother trying for anything in life? I'll keep reading but this book is ceating so much stress and pressure that I might not finish.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I don't get all the hoopla

    I could not even finish this book. He could have said all he needed to say in 3 chapters or less but instead he dragged it out until he could call it a book instead of a pamphlet. I got bored.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Religious but lacking Christ as the Tree of Life.

    This book is much about do gooding however it lacks the source of GOOD which is Christ living in man.
    Galatians 2:20 says " I am crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live in faith, the faith of the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me."

    This verse shows that we are dead but Christ now is our Life within, our will is no longer our own even if it be too do so called good deeds, we should first go to the Lord and sit at His feet.

    I would say from reading this book that it has little of this and is more about eating from the tree of knowlege of GOOD and evil(which is religion)than anything.

    I would do a google search for the folowing:
    WARNING! The Purpose Driven Church Heresy! Rick Warren

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    No purpose here

    All this book does is reassert typical Christian cliches of serving God, being like Jesus, and spreading the faith. It says that God has a purpose for you, but doesn't tell you what it is or how to figure that out. The closest it comes is saying that you have to convert people, but what is the point? Is everyone's purpose to convert others? This book doesn't contain anything helpful or meaningful, even for a Christian. To call this 'self-help' is an insult to the genre. In fact, I believe the author specifically condemns self-help books in favor of the Bible. Go figure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    ?

    What is the Purpose of a mentally ill person committed to an intuition? What is the purpose of a homeless man? What is the purpose of a child born retarded? What is the purpose of suicide victims and drug addicts?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Purpose Driven Guilt?

    If you are looking for a decidedly narrow and Christian world view of life, this book will fit your needs. The author raises the bar of sanctimonious living to a new level in presenting this book. A must for anyone wishing simple vilification of an extremely close-minded system; anathema to anyone else.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Dumbed Down Pop Christianity for the Mass Market

    Warren's book was a major disappointment for me. It's the theological equivalent of whipped cream. There's volume there but no weight. Warren takes about 20 chapters to even mention the need for Christian community, about ten more to mention the need for a life of service. He does finally mention the Great Commission as our most important activity in the last few chapters, but he then proceeds to oversell short-term overseas missions as THE ONLY way to fulfill the Great Commission other than being a full-time missionary (as some in the missions field mistakenly like to say). This book could probably have been written in less than ten pages. More disturbing is his constant, and highly selective, use of Biblical paraphrases from multiple sources when more scholarly translations are available. I'm hoping this just part of the pop Christianity Warren presents, not an attempt by him to force-fit Scripture to support his points. Warren also cites his own work continuously, leaving one to wonder where the order form is in the back of the book. This book might be useful for the new convert or someone renewing their faith - if done in conjunction with discussing the book with a mature Christian. For core church members, it's a waste of time. Stick with Bonhoeffer, Lewis, or Barth. The popularity of this book is somewhat scary. There must be a lot of unchallenging preaching and ineffective Christian education departments in this country!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    not without value

    After reading all the reviews, I had very high expectations for this book, but I was greatly disappointed. It had some good concepts, but it stated nothing new and was filled with many simple cliches with poor wording. The author used watered down translations of the Bible that could easily be twisted for his own 'purpose' - writing another best seller. This book may have some value for new believers, but anyone with any experience should look for something more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    Cheap Philosophy

    Why do people even believe in what the autor says? If you want the truth, read nietzsche (for example, the Twilight of the Idols or the Antichrist)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3