BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Purpose of Christmas: A Three-Session, Video-Based Study for Groups or Families

Average Rating 3.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A quick yet exciting and worthwhile read

After spending most of 2008 plowing through historical autobiographies, I needed a quick Christmas read. I found it with "The Purpose of Christmas". I don't usually go for this kind of book because I don't like fattening the wallets of people who really just tell me ...
After spending most of 2008 plowing through historical autobiographies, I needed a quick Christmas read. I found it with "The Purpose of Christmas". I don't usually go for this kind of book because I don't like fattening the wallets of people who really just tell me what I already know. And certainly this is my first by Rick Warren.
I found it a most enjoyable hour and a half. I recommend that you set aside 1 to 2 hours and then read the entire book in one sitting. Now I will loan it to a couple of family members and we will discuss it sometime over the holidays. I will then put it away and return to it next Christmas.
Yes it is that good. It is worth the price and a book you will want to keep, not put on the garage sale next spring. Reverend Warren writes for the common man, not the theologian, bless him.
Did I enjoy the book? Yes I did. Do I recommend it? Absolutely. Will it make me a better Christian? We live in hope. I don't live close to a bookstore so I do most of my business with B&N online. Order it now. You'll still have time to receive it and get it read before Christmas. Enjoy.

posted by SherlockQwilleran on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Reason for the Season

From the author who brought us The Purpose Driven Life, this holiday seasonWarren calls us to

¿remember the reason for the season.¿

This little book explains the birth of Jesus and offers inspiration regarding the salvation of man through the word of ...
From the author who brought us The Purpose Driven Life, this holiday seasonWarren calls us to

¿remember the reason for the season.¿

This little book explains the birth of Jesus and offers inspiration regarding the salvation of man through the word of God. It also gives hope for the reconciliation of past deeds or dysfunctional lifestyles.

Although deeply religious in context, it does not delve too deep into Christian ideology. If you are caught up in the rat race that is life, this book will help to slow you down and refocus your energy on the things in life that are important.

The Christmas Purpose is a wonderful book to share with family and friends over the upcoming holiday season.

posted by brightmyer on December 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A quick yet exciting and worthwhile read

    After spending most of 2008 plowing through historical autobiographies, I needed a quick Christmas read. I found it with "The Purpose of Christmas". I don't usually go for this kind of book because I don't like fattening the wallets of people who really just tell me what I already know. And certainly this is my first by Rick Warren.<BR/> I found it a most enjoyable hour and a half. I recommend that you set aside 1 to 2 hours and then read the entire book in one sitting. Now I will loan it to a couple of family members and we will discuss it sometime over the holidays. I will then put it away and return to it next Christmas.<BR/> Yes it is that good. It is worth the price and a book you will want to keep, not put on the garage sale next spring. Reverend Warren writes for the common man, not the theologian, bless him.<BR/> Did I enjoy the book? Yes I did. Do I recommend it? Absolutely. Will it make me a better Christian? We live in hope. I don't live close to a bookstore so I do most of my business with B&N online. Order it now. You'll still have time to receive it and get it read before Christmas. Enjoy.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Purpose and Perspective

    Rick Warren does an excellent job not only of bringing out the purpose of Christmas but putting Christmas in perspective for everyone today. We get so used to the same old story that we forget how amazing it really was.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Reason for the Season

    From the author who brought us The Purpose Driven Life, this holiday seasonWarren calls us to <BR/><BR/>¿remember the reason for the season.¿<BR/><BR/>This little book explains the birth of Jesus and offers inspiration regarding the salvation of man through the word of God. It also gives hope for the reconciliation of past deeds or dysfunctional lifestyles.<BR/><BR/>Although deeply religious in context, it does not delve too deep into Christian ideology. If you are caught up in the rat race that is life, this book will help to slow you down and refocus your energy on the things in life that are important. <BR/><BR/>The Christmas Purpose is a wonderful book to share with family and friends over the upcoming holiday season.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone should read this!

    I was given this book to read a few days ago. Since it's so close to Christmas this book was really inspiring. I have always celebrated Christmas but mostly for the family gatherings and presents. However, the reason for the holiday is because of our Savior, Jesus Christ's birth. I think everyone should read this book. Jesus died for every single person on this Earth so they would have a chance to get to know a loving and patient God. I think everyone gets so involved in other activities and forgets everything God does for them. This book really reminds you of just how much God loves you. I would honestly recommend this book for every single person.<BR/><BR/>God loves you so much no matter what you do or who you are! Please invite him into your heart this Christmas season!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    The is a must read for the holiday season. It's a great reminder of what Christmas is really about which I know most of us forget. This holiday I will be doing things a little differently and remembering the importance of Christmas. This book is inspiring, and enjoyable. This is why I would recommend this book to other.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Reason for the Season

    This is the first book by Rick Warren that I've read since "Purpose Driven Life," and it is a great holiday read. Great reminder of the true meaning of Christmas. It's short enough to read during the busy holidays, as well.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Merry Chis+mas

    The Purpose of Christmas is a gift book, and I do recommend it as a gift. It is an extended tract of sorts, sharing the gospel message through the Christmas story and the good news of it there of. Warren first looks at the purpose of Christmas and then, through the rest of the book, suggests that Christmas is a time for celebration,a time for reconciliation and redepmtion. Much of what he shares is good and contains solid biblical truth. He affirms strongly that salvation is "not a matter of trying, but trusting by faith. It's not a matter of proving you deserve it, but accepting it by faith, knowing you don't deserve it." "All you need to do is accept His pardon and what he's already done for you which you can not for yourself! There's nothing more to add. It's grace, which is to say jsut receiving what you did not earn nor merit or even deserve, plus nothing more. Your Christmas gift comes by grace through faith." "It's not what you do, but whom you trust in and accepting what He did for you, that gets you into heaven." These are all good teachings and the Gospel truth. The good news is here and Warren is theoligically correct. Personally, I enjoy the power of testimonials better as they are just as evangelical without all the theology.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect to read at Christmas or anytime!

    Rick Warren continues to inspire with this perfect gift-giving book. I couldn't put it down. Each turn of the page made me that much more thankful for my Christmas traditions with my family and the real reason for the season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    Not worth the money...

    I purchased this book and it was not worth the money. I returned it.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Eh...

    The content of this book was lacking, the literary style was boring and the entire thing lacked in substance.<BR/><BR/>There was no information to be gained from this, and this wasn't anything special in terms of inspiration (which it lacked) or enjoyability (which it also lacked).<BR/><BR/>If you must read this (though I don't know why that would be), check it out from the library, it's not worth the money.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    A children's book. Nothing new said.

    A children's book. Nothing new said.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This is a must read every year at Christmas time! More need to remember the real meaning of Christmas. This book was amazing, will be reading each year and sharing what a great book it is with others to help them remember the real meaning of Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Christmas Must Read

    Rick Warren did a great job explaining the true essence of the Christmas season. The book is short and concise. Warren breaks down the three purposes of Christmas and does an excellent job of explaining why the world needs a Savior. Warren also encourages people to really celebrate Christ's birth with a birthday arty celebration for Him. I am a believer but I was still uplifted and renewed about the true meaning of a relatioship with Christ. I read the book in one sitting. I will read it again and I will also give it as a gift in future years. As a society we have lost the real meaning of Christmas. Warren is not preachy but rather matter of fact in his delivery. The book will remain a tireless favorite of mine fr years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    Good Review for Life

    The first half of the book seemed like any other inspirational book, but towards the last half I was inspired by the actual applications recommended to motivate you in your life to appreciate what Christmas is really about and how to celebrate it and really enjoy the season. I plan on using some of these ideas with my family next year and create some new traditions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    true meaning of christmas

    "purpose of christmas" is a very special gift book that clearly explains the true meaning of the insirational time of the year with the birth of christ. this has some exellent color photos and some great comments by the arthur rick warren along with some very special scripture that gives every details the true meaning of christmas. this is a wonderful gift to give to friends and family what I like about this wonderful bestseller is it makes christmas easy to understand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    The Purpose of Christmas - Great Book

    I bought this for a gift and read 3/4 of it before giving it away. I went out and bought another one for my husband and myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Season Starter!

    I have not yet read the Purpose Driven Life but I absolutely loved the spin off for Christmas. It was not a day by day guide like the Purpose Driven Life but it was great in that it brought you back to the meaning behind Christmas. A wonderful way to get in the true Christmas spirit for the holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    excellent

    as usual, Rick Warren knows how to get the point across. his approach continues to impress and succeed in the area of presenting in a realistic read for everyone!<BR/>loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Excellent

    Good Job

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    Christmas with Pastor Rick

    This is a great gift as well as a book for the library for when Christmas comes around each year. Rick has a way with words that is easy to grasp and engages the reader to want more. I would recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4