Customer Reviews for

The Purrfect Murder (Mrs. Murphy Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Regional Escapism, Universal Truths

What makes this novel a treat to read is the author's delight in the regionalism of rural Virginia and the characteristics of the "characters" inhabiting Crozet. The novel unbashedly tackles concerns that are important to a changing United States, issues like homosexua...
What makes this novel a treat to read is the author's delight in the regionalism of rural Virginia and the characteristics of the "characters" inhabiting Crozet. The novel unbashedly tackles concerns that are important to a changing United States, issues like homosexuality, the incursion of big box homogenity into rural communities, and the importance of diversity and acceptance. Crozet, and its inhabitants, act as a microcosm of controversal issues debated in communities today. What I love about Brown is her skill in reminding the reader that issues have real people behind them, with real feelings, lives, etc. The message to love the person even if you don't agree with life choices overrides all petty concerns. The mystery, while entertaining, is pretty weak; however, I encourage readers to look more deeply into the nuances of what it means to be a citizen in an increasingly pluralistic society.

posted by 233958 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I had to stop on page 33

I too am glad I got this from the library instead of buying it. After having read every other book in this series I couldn't even make it past page 33. What began as an exciting mystery series with a lovable cast of characters has turned into the author's political agen...
I too am glad I got this from the library instead of buying it. After having read every other book in this series I couldn't even make it past page 33. What began as an exciting mystery series with a lovable cast of characters has turned into the author's political agenda with a weak storyline on the side. I thought I was sitting down with another murder mystery not pro-abortion propaganda. When abortion came up at a vestry meeting that was enough for me. Even if you are pro-choice you will find the pages of abortion dialogue nauseating and over the top.

posted by Anonymous on March 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    I had to stop on page 33

    I too am glad I got this from the library instead of buying it. After having read every other book in this series I couldn't even make it past page 33. What began as an exciting mystery series with a lovable cast of characters has turned into the author's political agenda with a weak storyline on the side. I thought I was sitting down with another murder mystery not pro-abortion propaganda. When abortion came up at a vestry meeting that was enough for me. Even if you are pro-choice you will find the pages of abortion dialogue nauseating and over the top.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Politics

    I have read Rita Mae Brown's books for many years. Always loved them and looked forward to the next one. Until this one. I stopped at Page 54......she started bashing the present administration ('Karl Rove and Company') That is not necessary to tell a good story like you usually do, Rita!! Sorry...but if she wants to write political bashing stories....I will skip buying those books. Sorry about this. Always enjoyed her humor and good mysteries in the past.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Worst book I ever read!

    Read all the reviews of the people who gave this one star! This book is very political and definitely liberal leaning, from abortion (the ongoing theme) to global warming to Carl Rove. It was hard to get past that to get into the story itself. The only good thing I have to say is that the illustrations are very well done, and very cute. This is the first book I have read by Rita Mae Brown, and definitely the last. Too bad, because mysteries are usually my favorite! If you want to read good books including the cat theme, try Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who..." series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Rita Mae Brown's Purrfect Murder

    I have read many of Rita Mae Brown's murder mystries over the years. Her mystery Purrfect Murder was a message for abortion. The plot line was terrible and her desire to blast Christians made it a very bad read. I have enjoyed her books upto now, but now that she is pushing her political views through a work of fiction, I will drop her from Authors I want to read. Don't waste your money on this propaganda piece. It's poorly written and spends all its time defending abortion. Pass on this left wing book. I liked her better when she kept her political views to herself. I have had several other mystery readers share their disdain of this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    Not good

    I have read all the books in this series and this one to put it mildly "Totally Sucked"! We want mysteries, not personal agendas. It basically was a book about abortion. I know the writer is against it and I still don't care!!! What happened to her? She started this series off with a bang and now I'm not sure if I'll ever read another one of her books. Sad day for what used to be a good writer. I'd skip it if I were you. Not worth reading for any reason!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Way too much "politics" for me

    I have read about 50 pages and am already sick of the political slant of the book. I like to read to escape, not rehash the evening news. Love this series, but really dislike this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    Regional Escapism, Universal Truths

    What makes this novel a treat to read is the author's delight in the regionalism of rural Virginia and the characteristics of the "characters" inhabiting Crozet. The novel unbashedly tackles concerns that are important to a changing United States, issues like homosexuality, the incursion of big box homogenity into rural communities, and the importance of diversity and acceptance. Crozet, and its inhabitants, act as a microcosm of controversal issues debated in communities today. What I love about Brown is her skill in reminding the reader that issues have real people behind them, with real feelings, lives, etc. The message to love the person even if you don't agree with life choices overrides all petty concerns. The mystery, while entertaining, is pretty weak; however, I encourage readers to look more deeply into the nuances of what it means to be a citizen in an increasingly pluralistic society.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Sneaky Pie writes again! Another fun read

    Ms. Brown once again has entertained with the characters of Crozet WV. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, but unfortunately this series has become a rote format. Nothing new, nothing exciting, but if you're a fan of the animals go for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Willowleaf

    "Hello? Maplejay? Blood? Firebird?" ~Willowleaf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Maplejay

    (Willowleaf? My nook is messing up a lot. Can you tell Windstar that I'm having problems posting and that I might become inactive?)


    •Maplejay•••

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Windwing

    He watched the waterfall, and not seeng bears, pads forward. He watches the edge of the water until two salmon pop out at the same times. He slaps them onto the bank and waits for them to die. He then carries the two big salmon to camp. Before leaving, he turned around and saw two black bears and ran away with the prey.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    A waterfall

    The stream gets faster and faster, bigger and bigger, huge pink salmon swim upstream, trying to fight the current. There is always at least one bear hanging around, trying to catch their meal. They would kill anything, and may eat it too....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Ocelot

    The hungry ocelot scented the air. It took her while, but she finaly pinpointed the groundhogs. She found them and pounced on one. The other's escaped, but she caught one, sqeaking under her paws. She quickly bit its neck and dragged its limp body away to eat.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Whitestar

    "Why is Darkshaft important? Is he... Is he your father?" ~Questioning Whitestar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Greenleaf

    "N.. no." He meowed. "He's my... friend. And well, I thought he was, err, dead. And Braveheart said he had seen a russet furred tom, and, well, I knew it had to be Darkshaft."
    • Greenleaf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Fun Read

    What can I say? Tucker, Mrs Murphy and Pewter did it again. Just another good, fun and who done it read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    This is a great series.

    I have read all of Rita Mae Brown's Mrs. Murphy series books and I love them all. I adore the animals and their antics. I really like the writing style of this author and the unique plots she comes up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    Mrs Murphy does it again!

    I love this series! Mrs. Murphy always manages to get Harry out of some kind of spine tingling mishap. I was enthralled from start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This Cat has Tales!

    Sneaky Pie Brown sure can write! As one who is owned by two felines, I love to read about the comings and goings in Crozet, VA.. Harry and her animals, Mrs. Murphy,Tee Tucker and Pewter work together to solve any murder that Harry seems to trip over, quite frequently. All of the characters in this series have such interesting personalities that I can't wait for a new book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    Another exciting event in Crozet

    This town must have the highest crime rate in the world and is still a lovely place to live. You keep meeting all your favorite characters from the previous books in this very compelling story, where even the animals have insightful converstions. Could not stop reading. Waiting for the next murder mystery....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3