Customer Reviews for

Pursuit

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love Me Forever...Sequel

This is Melissa's story. The daughter of Lachlan MacGregor and Kimberly Richards. If this is the sequel to Say You Love Me, then that means the Malory's are involved. Which one? Could it be Jeremy? Or how about Marshall or Travis? We haven't heard to much about these t...
This is Melissa's story. The daughter of Lachlan MacGregor and Kimberly Richards. If this is the sequel to Say You Love Me, then that means the Malory's are involved. Which one? Could it be Jeremy? Or how about Marshall or Travis? We haven't heard to much about these two brothers, Edward's sons. But the 16 uncles are the sons of Laird MacFearsons who is the father of Kimberly Richards. Uniting these to story lines would be very interesting.

posted by Anonymous on December 20, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pass this one by.

I am convinced that the only reason this story was published is because Johanna Lindsey is the author. I cannot remember the last time I read a book (actually I 'read' it as a book on tape, unabridged version) with such an incredibly contrived plot. It is impossible f...
I am convinced that the only reason this story was published is because Johanna Lindsey is the author. I cannot remember the last time I read a book (actually I 'read' it as a book on tape, unabridged version) with such an incredibly contrived plot. It is impossible for me to believe that rational, mature adults would hold against a 29-year old man something he did at the age of 10!! And that is what this whole story revolves around. Give me a break. Another very significant feature of the book that made it annoying was that Mellie seemed to be the 29-year old adult and Lincoln seemed to be the 18-year old in this match. If you are wondering why I finished it, I was trapped with it in the car on a long, long drive, AND I kept believing it would get better and had to see if it did. It did not.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    I Love this series, they all need to be ebooks

    I need these on ebooks! Please, please, please release these in digital format.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Don't be so harsh

    I understand why this isn't everyone's favorite Johanna Lindsay novel, but I think that some of the other reviews are a bit harsh. It is your typical historical romance novel- a strong, sassy heroine, her gorgeous yet mysterious love interest, and of course, a number of extraordinary obstacles that threaten to keep them apart. In the beginning, it is hard to understand why Melissa and Lincoln are so into one another- they both had their minds set on marrying one another after just one brief, five minute meeting. However, as the plot draws on, you can't help but root for these two characters, who are so very much in love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2002

    fast-paced yet amsuing story

    In Scotland, sixteen interfering, muscular and fearsome MacFearson uncles insure that none of her suitors meets the different criteria set by each one of Melissa MacGregor¿s caring relatives. To help Melissa, find a spouse, her parents (stars of LOVE ME FOREVER) pry her away from the well meaning crowd and plan to send her to London. <P>Before leaving her family on her adventure, Melissa spends time with her younger cousins at a pond. Not long afterward, Viscount Lincoln Barnett, just home from two decades of family enforced exile, rides by the pond. Lincoln and Melissa react positively towards one another. However, in a bloodthirsty feeding frenzy, her uncles go bongos when they learn that Lincoln is Melissa¿s choice. They remember an incident two decades ago when he behaved like a berserker so now they plan to keep this lunatic away from their beloved niece. They might contain Lincoln, but when it comes to love Melissa is fiercer than any other MacFearson. <P> THE PURSUIT is a humorous historical romance that contains a fast-paced story line. Though quite amusing, the tale also comprises a deep dysfunctional yet poignant relationship between Lincoln and his mother. Fans will have to get over the fact that the doting uncles truly hold an incident that they helped cause when Lincoln was ten against him as anecdotal evidence that the lead protagonist is dangerous. Though the tension is between the couple and her uncle (as opposed to that of the lead protagonists), the tale remains a fine sequel to Johanna Lindsey¿s LOVE ME FOREVER. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    Love Me Forever...Sequel

    This is Melissa's story. The daughter of Lachlan MacGregor and Kimberly Richards. If this is the sequel to Say You Love Me, then that means the Malory's are involved. Which one? Could it be Jeremy? Or how about Marshall or Travis? We haven't heard to much about these two brothers, Edward's sons. But the 16 uncles are the sons of Laird MacFearsons who is the father of Kimberly Richards. Uniting these to story lines would be very interesting.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Great!!!

    what can I say but that I really like the way she writes. I havent been disappointed in any of her books. I like all the uncles even if they really were overprotective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Pure Dreck!

    It has been many years since I have picked up a Johanna Lindsey book. In college I was a faithful reader and adored her writing. Recently on vacation I thought 'Wow, perfect beach companion.' What a disappointment. Pure drivel. Either Johanna Lindsey no longer writes these books and licenses her name out to hacks, or she has completely lost her ability to write after all these years. She didn't even try to keep a readers interest. I havent read a book in years that I absolutely could care less about the characters or the storyline as much as this one. I guess when you read true best sellers like The DaVinci Code you cant possibly go back to this kind of drivel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2005

    umm yea

    well the books wasnt her best but it wasnt horrible although i would liek to say that all the critics who are in this page were mistaken in beleivng this is a sequel to 'say you love me' since that is acutally a malory novel, it is actually a sequel to 'love me forever'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    I loved this book!

    I liked the way the characters were developed in this story. I found them complex and likable. Having faith in love is a wonderful thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    The worst JL has ever written

    This is definitely her worst. I have read all of her books and this is just terrible. The plot is just ridiculous and it is so drawn out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    Pass this one by.

    I am convinced that the only reason this story was published is because Johanna Lindsey is the author. I cannot remember the last time I read a book (actually I 'read' it as a book on tape, unabridged version) with such an incredibly contrived plot. It is impossible for me to believe that rational, mature adults would hold against a 29-year old man something he did at the age of 10!! And that is what this whole story revolves around. Give me a break. Another very significant feature of the book that made it annoying was that Mellie seemed to be the 29-year old adult and Lincoln seemed to be the 18-year old in this match. If you are wondering why I finished it, I was trapped with it in the car on a long, long drive, AND I kept believing it would get better and had to see if it did. It did not.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    This has always been one of my favorites of hers. I know some ga

    This has always been one of my favorites of hers. I know some gave bad reviews but ignore. I'm very hard to please yet I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Terrific historical romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Pure torture! I have trully liked some of Johanna Lindsey book

    Pure torture! I have trully liked some of Johanna Lindsey books...but this was so bad! the whole book deals with missteps made by a ten year old boy, a bunch of rediculous scottish hoodlums, and unbelieveable love at first sight. The characters fall in love at first sight. The very next day finds Lincoln going to Meli's home to ask her father for permission to marry her? Really? after a few minutes conversation by a pond? This whole story was too far fetched to be remotely beliveable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    A good read.

    Not her best but I still enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    didn't live up to it's potential

    While I love Lindsay's novels I was very disappointed in this one. The ties between Lincoln and the uncles caused for a shallow and unbelieveable plot. And the constant twists and turns the book had were not only unnecessary, they too led to a silly unbelieveable plot. Though I was rather amused, the constant change of events was very exhausting to follow and I wasn't able to relate to the characters feelings other than feel contempt for their petty traits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2003

    It was a great book!

    This was the best book I've read in a while! I couldn't put it down. Johanna Lindsey is a fabulous author. If you are thinking about buying this book...stop thinking and buy it! It's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Not Her Best...

    Although this is far from a Malory Novel, I liked this book. I thought the 16 uncles were funny, and brought in the JL humor. I wished there was more with Devlin, and Justin, but overall I thought it was a good read, if only that I got to read more about characters that I was already invested in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    did johanna lindsey even write this book?!

    Did not like this book even a little, I have read just about everything from lindsey and this is the first time I have ever been disapointed by one of her books. I did not like the 'hero' if you could even call him that. Im used to heros and heroins that do things their own way, and their by the book courtship was just boring. Lindsey is still one of the best, I guess you cant win them all huh?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    Refund please!!

    The only reason I finished this novel is because the money was spent and I couldn't get a refund. Now the book is being used to prop an end table. The plot was ridiculous. The characters were unbelievable. Then Lindsey revealed secrets at the end that no one was ever curious about. I believe I actually got angry while reading the book, when it became apparent that I had wasted my time. I have read everything Lindsey has published. I hope that this book is not evidence of what is to come from now on. Recommendation from an admirer of her work: Lindsey please take a break from your writing if you need one. Then come back strong. Your readers will no doubt thank you for it. I know I would much rather read a good book after a long time, than a terrible book anytime.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    It stinks!

    The book was such a disappointment! It was so bad that I didn't finish it. The main guy in this book kept on irking to the point of getting violent. She could have done better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3