Customer Reviews for

The Pursuit of Happyness

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    great book- down to earth- would highly recomend

    i am still reading it- down to earth and very honest

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2013

    Do Not Recommend

    I understand that the some audio book versions skip some of the text, but this audio version skipped almost 40% of the book. I was following along with the book, and I could not believe how much the audio skipped so many sections. I ended up not using the audio and just read the book. This book is too much worth the read to skip sections.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    =)

    My sister is reading this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Scavenger Hunt Clue #13

    Oooh. Unlucky. You will get _ years of bad luck if you break a mirror.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Amazing Biography

    This biography is amazing because it is so inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    To Bill

    What?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Billy

    He shrugs. I cqme here cause i wanted ta. U.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    The Pursuit of Happyness by Chris Gardner tells the tale of Chri

    The Pursuit of Happyness by Chris Gardner tells the tale of Chris' life and his struggle to the father that he has never had. His wife has left him, and he has to get a job to insure a place for him and his son to live. This is a wonderful, intriguing fictional novel that you will not want to put down. If you like a book about a father's struggle to have a good live for his son, then this is the book. This book has shown me that if I put my mind to it, i can do anything. Even if times are hard, they can always go up. This book is very inspirational and by far one of my favorite books. I give it four stars, and i recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Inspirational Book!!

    The Pursuit of Happyness is a fascinating book about a man who, against all odds, figures out how to be successful in his career as a stockbroker and as a single parent father. His name is Chris Gardner and he grew up with a loving mother but very abusive stepfather that caused him a lot of emotional and physical damage. He made a promise to himself early on that he would always be present in his childrens¿ lives and would never harm them, unlike his stepfather. Throughout the many hardships of his adult life- including homelessness, divorce, and single parenting- he managed to do this all the while pursuing his own version of happiness. The major messages of this book were to dream big and to never stop reaching for your goals, no matter the roadblocks that may come your way. Chris¿ mother was highly influential in his life and she became one of his major role models. This was shown especially when it came to striving for the very best for your children, which was a value that Chris later managed to reflect in his own parenting style, even when he later found himself homeless with a young child to take care of. Some of the elements of this book that I really enjoyed were the positivity that could be found on every page of the book, and the family pictures in the middle of the book. Even during some of the toughest parts of Chris¿ life, such as when his stepfather became abusive, Chris came up with ways that he would cope with the violence at home by promising himself he would never act that way towards his children. The only dislike I had about this book was the technical language regarding his profession that was sometimes difficult to understand. Anyone who is interested in following their own route to happiness should read this book because it is full of inspiration and positive energy that will encourage you! Some other recommended works (not literary) would be to watch the Pursuit of Happiness movie, if you happened to enjoy the book. Other than this one, Chris Gardner has not written any other books so the movie is my personal recommendation. I would give this book an overall rating of a seven out of ten, because it something worth spending time reading but it was not written as eloquently as I would have preferred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Never Will I Doubt Whether I Can

    Never in my life will I find an obsticle where I will think "No I can't" to. This man has faced so much. Even in just the first thirteen years of his life he had faced more than I will ever dream of! I had to read this memoir for career management as an inspirational success story. And boy was it. It took a while to get through because I was forced to read it, and lets face it, no one likes to be forced to do anything, even something they love.
    He was very open in his writing and so explicit it feels like listening to a friend opening up to a dark secret. He has inspired me to overcome any obsticle and I hope you read this book so you can be too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Inspiring

    This is truly an inspiring book! I can hardly believe that it is based on a true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    The Book of Perseverance!

    This book maybe called the Pursuit of Happyness but, I haven't read a book where one person had to overcome so much in his life. This was an excellent book about life if I ever read one. From growing up without knowing his biological father, to being abused by his stepfather, to being raped when he was about 10 years old and to trying to be good father in raising a child while homeless. It's no wonder I call this book, 'The Book of Perseverance.' It shows how one man no matter what obstacles are put in front of him he finds a way to hurdle them. I enjoyed the book more than I did the movie. Don't get me wrong, the movie was good, but the book was better. There were things in the book that I thought were important that weren't put in the movie. Like his stepfather, who physically abused him when he was child. The love for his mother and the abuse she had to endure with his stepfather. I was especially moved with the bond that he had with his son. It's the kind of bond I hope I have when I have a son. Especially when I myself never knew my biological father. It's an excellent book and I recommend everyone to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    Pursuit of Happness

    To me honestly I think this book was really good and I would really recommend this amazing book especially to a person who has gone through this struggle to still be alive. The ending of the book made me really happy and the fact that he made it through all that he went to. The movie is what inspired me the most to read this book because the ending was in the movie but it just gave you a brief summary of how much money he ended up getting after such a long journey. The fact that the son didn¿t actually know what was going on or what happened at the time until he figured it out on his own as he got older. The one scene in the movie when the little boy dropped his toy so that they could catch the bus on time almost made me cry because just knowing that was basically his one and only toy. So to sum this all up I really would like any and everybody to read this. Trust once you start you don¿t want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    A little too graphic

    The tale of how Mr. Gardner made his way from rags to riches is an inspriational one. However, I could have done without the descriptions of his sex life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    What an inspiration!

    This is such a powerful story of a man's struggle to become the success he is today. Mr. Gardner didn't have an easy life and had issues that could have easily lead him down the wrong path. He shows us all that hard work and determination pays off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    Too much sex, too little on goal

    The story was very interesting on how he got from poverty to success. However, I did not feel I needed to know so much about his sexual encounters and lusts. It made me lose respect for this man however incredible his success has been. Don't we know enough about sex already! I got rid of the book before my teenagers could read it, too graphic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Great Book, Too Much Profanity & Sex

    I would have given this book 5 stars were it not for the profanity and somewhat explicit sexual content. I am glad that Mr. Gardner let us see him with both feet on the ground, as one who could make some really dumb decisions in life, and yet continue to persevere to achieve his dream - learning every step of the way. I only wish he would release a version suitable for the 6 to 17 year age group. I manage a real estate sales team, and am keeping a couple of copies in my lending library for the agents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Very Inspirational

    If their was ever a book, that could inspire someone to become success in whatever it is that they wanted to do, this is the book. It is our perserverance that makes us who we are, and it is The Pursuit of Happiness (not Happyness,LOL)that we each strive for in this world. You dont have to be rich to be success, it's doing what you love, to the best of your ability and beyond. I can say, that this book has opened my eyes and I can now see that any one can become and do what they dream to be.....it's out there, all we have to do is grab it and never let go.... Dave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Not like the movie!

    I was a bit disappointed with the amount of the content that contained explitives. Although the story contains an inspiring message, it was frustrating to wade through the many curse words, sexual content, and incredibly bad decisions that Chris Gardner made in order to find the story about the man who picked himself up by his boot straps. I'm not sure it was worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3