Customer Reviews for

Pursuit of Honor (Mitch Rapp Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 626 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A brilliant new challenge awaits Rapp

In this, Flynn's latest thriller, a lot of people in Washington, including CIA counterterrorism agents, are killed after a bombing. Mitch is disenchanted because things seem like they're right back where we were after 9/11, and a member of his team begins to crack. Mitc...
In this, Flynn's latest thriller, a lot of people in Washington, including CIA counterterrorism agents, are killed after a bombing. Mitch is disenchanted because things seem like they're right back where we were after 9/11, and a member of his team begins to crack. Mitch is asked to capture those responsible however he needs to, without the president's knowledge. This one is as good, if not better, than the last. I don't want to say more and spoil it. Another book I suggest you read (and I'm not a big personal development guy but this one is GREAT) that was given to me at a company leadership retreat is EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE 2.0.

posted by Dave_Brooks on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slow Pursuit

This was not a favorite for me. My all time favorite is Consent To Kill. This plot dragged and sagged and not enough action nor character development for me. I love Vince Fynn and devour his books but this one? Not so much.

posted by Robynn on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 630 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A brilliant new challenge awaits Rapp

    In this, Flynn's latest thriller, a lot of people in Washington, including CIA counterterrorism agents, are killed after a bombing. Mitch is disenchanted because things seem like they're right back where we were after 9/11, and a member of his team begins to crack. Mitch is asked to capture those responsible however he needs to, without the president's knowledge. This one is as good, if not better, than the last. I don't want to say more and spoil it. Another book I suggest you read (and I'm not a big personal development guy but this one is GREAT) that was given to me at a company leadership retreat is EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE 2.0.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Flynn Is At It Again

    It sure is tough to put the book down. No sooner does one chapter end and I just have to keep on reading. Can't wait for the next one.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    Not as good as the rest

    Being an avid Vince Flynn reader, I was rather disappointed in this book.
    It took 230 pages to have any 'action', I was getting bored by this time, but was bound and determined to continue on. If it had been an author I was not familiar with, I would of stopped reading the book. I hope this is nothing more than a 'hiccup' and this very talented writers repertoire.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The New Kings Of Technothrillers

    What was Tom Clancy for the 80's and 90's Vince Flynn is for the new millenium. He doesn't hold back in how Mitch Rapp deals with today's threat: Islamic fascism. With the current Obama administration and the new political correctness of how we deal with them I know Vince Flynn will not go soft.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mitch Rapp is the best!!!!!!!!!!

    The Mitch rapp series is a great and thrilling series. It gives you everything you would want. I have read Transfer of Power, The Third Option and am almost done with Seperation of Power. I plan on reading the rest of the series. I am hooked. I know that Pursuit of Honor will not disappoint. I can't wait for October 13. Mitch Rapp Rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    Another Excellent and Thought Provoking Novel By Vince Flynn

    Like many of the reviewers in this section, I read Vince Flynn's novels as soon as they are released and miss not reading another one until the following year. Pursuit of Honor, which picks up approximately a week after Extreme Measures ends, is a fast paced thriller with all of the things you would expect from a Mitch Rapp adventure. Flynn hits the nail on the head every time when it comes to the hypocrisy and extreme arrogance of our elected officials. My favorite part of the book comes during Chapter 50, when Mitch is called to answer before the Senate Judiciary Committee. Flynn brilliantly combines truth with fiction when Mitch Rapp addresses a particularly arrogant and self-important Senator from California as "ma'am". Her reply is almost a verbatim translation of Senator Barbara Boxer (also from California) scolding Brigadier General Michael Walsh for addressing her ma'am instead of senator -- and complaining that she "worked so hard to get that title..." I know that Boxer's rudeness and arrogance towards a General in the United States Army angered many people. If you are one of them (and I certainly am) the you will very much enjoy how Mitch Rapp knocks this "fictitious" senator from her high horse and exposes her for the shallow hypocrite she really is. That chapter alone is worth the price of the book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    While you wait!

    While you wait for another awesome story by Mr. Flynn, try reading 'Even' by Andrew Grant, 'The Apostle' by Brad Thor and 'Invasion America!' by Alan Wing. Neither of them will dissapoint you.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow Pursuit

    This was not a favorite for me. My all time favorite is Consent To Kill.
    This plot dragged and sagged and not enough action nor character development for me. I love Vince Fynn and devour his books but this one? Not so much.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Latest Dangers for Mitch Rapp

    This book is the followup to Extreme Measures and continues the stories that were started with the prior book. We immediately begin after the aftermath and political changes that have shaken up the powers-that-be in Washington and the antagonists that survived but have not yet fled the country.

    The story also continues to push the reader into answering questions about what rights Americans provide to criminals, foreigners living in America, and the presumed innosence of terrorists that have not yet been tried in an American court.

    As the story unfolds we see how the antagonists remorselessly break laws, use the freedoms ofthe U.S. for their own purposes and flaunt our values to achieve their ends.

    The story is gripping and and culminates in an exciting finish that thrills us all and leaves our nerves jangling. And yet, we each must still answer the questions about abiding by our laws or serving swift justice without Mr Flynn's choices overtaking our own.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great Book

    I think this is a Great book, that I Recommend to everyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great book! Vince does it again!

    I love the Continuing character development, the book holds your interest, sheer readers enjoyment! Like all of his books, I hate for them to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    True to his Style

    Flyn has another winner. This book was not disappointing. Well paced, interesting, great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Didn't Hook Me into the Story

    Sometimes a person tries new authors and it just doesn't work out. I have never read a book by Vince Flynn so I thought I would try to read one. Maybe it was because I was too busy with other things but the book just didn't grab me and make me want to read it. I finally gave up and didn't finish it. I love to read Daniel Silva books so I thought this book might be good. It may be a great book for very many readers but just not for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If Ann Coulter and Rush Limbaugh had a love child, CIA counter-terrorism operative Mitch Rapp would seem extreme in comparison.

    If Ann Coulter and Rush Limbaugh had a love child who was rasied by rabid wolves and later adopted by Dick Cheney, CIA counter-terrorism operative Mitch Rapp would seem extreme in comparison. Where Daniel Silva has taken the mantel from Robert Ludlum for a thinking man's espionage writer, Vince Flynn is a re-imagined Tom Clancy. But boy what fun when the good and the bad guys are so clear. This is a great follow-up to the very exciting "Extreme Measures." If you haven't been a Mitch Rapp fan before, these are two good books to start. You won't look back, except perhaps, for your moral high ground.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Can't Wait" Reading

    I've read all of Vince Flynn's books since I picked up "The Third Option" at the Boston airport just a few days before 9/11/2001. I loved the book and went back to start his books at the beginning. Since then, I've gotten every book when they first came out. They're all so topical. He's one of the few authors I can't wait for and end up buying the hardcover. I've gotten all my friends to read his books. "Pursuit of Honor" picks up where his last book left off. It's a great story and stands on its own but to those of us who follow all of his books, it had a bit of an "epilogue" feel. It tied up loose ends left from the last book and has its own action, but I missed a little of the originality feel. Also, I would have liked to see more of Irene Kennedy in the story. Overall, though, it was a great book and I can't wait for the next one. I just wish this seemed more like fiction than a possible "real life" scenerio.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mitch Rapp maturing!

    This book was just an extension of the Mitch Rapp series. Good read, quick read, but getting to be like many big name authors who do a series, they all start to sound alike, and in their defense, they only have so much to work with to remain true to the character/plot that has made them successful. I hear that the next Mitch Rapp novel will be "the early years" his college days and recruitment in the covert ops world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best Author of this genre today

    Vince Flynn's newest book - Pursuit of Honor - is every bit as good, if not better than, all ten of his previous books; which are in themselves the best of his genre. Vince Flynn has an uncanny ability to describe the realities of the current worldwide terrorist threat with information gained from actual players in this very serious and real-world drama but set in a fictional setting. Every red-blooded American male will relate to this book. Every concerned citizen should read it too. Vince Flynn has the guts to say and write what the vast majority of politicians are too scared to say publicly. This is not just another gripping story, it is an accurate portrayal of the threat America faces and a clue as to how we should handle it. A must-read for anyone interested in the future of freedom. It is also an edge-of-your-seat thriller. Read one, and you'll forever be a Vince Flynn fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Phoned-In Forumulaic Fiction

    As a bookseller, army veteran, and avid reader, I have been reading Vince Flynn since the release of his first book, "Term Limits". I own all of his titles in hardcover. Booksellers and fans consider him the successor to the throne vacated by Tom Clancy. I'm afraid to say that Vince Flynn has now, like many authors before him, found an easy, comfortable formula to follow. His earlier works were plotted more carefully, and seemed to have an insider's knowledge of the CIA, black ops military, the FBI, DC politics, and how they all work with and especially, against each other. "Pursuit of Honor", as fast-paced an fun as it is, seems to have taken very little time to plan, research, and write. Earlier Mitch Rapp adventures were epic in spectacle and scope, playing like a spectacular big-budget film. This one seems like a fun one-hour episode of a "24". When I finished this book, I realized that I probably wasn't going to read it again, and I probably wouldn't read his other works either, so I'm going to ebay my Vince Flynn hardcovers, and "Nook" his future releases. ("Nook" means that I'll be buying a Barnes & Noble Nook and download the them instead of filling up my bookshelves with something I wouldn't read twice.)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ranks way up there

    I have found myself wating for the next Mitch Rapp book and was not disapointed again. I am waiting for the next one already. If only we did get things done the Rapp way, we would be a better country. This book is a page turner. I can't speak to the mindset of the terrorists, but it plays well and I can imagine that the dynamic of Hasim and Karim is real enough to make one hopeful. (spoiler alert) I was glad when Mr. Flynn did not make another Mitch Rapp.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    Read Extreme Measures before you read Pursuit of Honor. You will enjoy Pursuit of Honor more if you do.

    I am a big fan of Vince Flynn's novels and was glad that I had read his prrevious novel( Estreme Measures). I would have to say that Pursuit of Honor is a sequal to Extreme Measures and made me understand and follow the plot more than if I had not read Extreme Measures. I throughly enjoyed and look forward to getting and enjoying his next novel.
    I would highly recommend both novels if not all to anyone enjoying the Clandestine,CIA, FBI, etc. plots and stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 630 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32